Employer of record services: what an EOR does and what it costs

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

An employer of record (EOR) legally employs a worker for you in a country where you have no entity, and charges $199 to $699 per employee per month at the providers that publish a price, according to their pricing pages checked October 16, 2026. Deel and Remote list $599, Pebl and Playroll start at $399, and Oyster charges $699.

Salary and employer contributions come on top: 3.4% of pay in India, 14.88% in the UK and 50.9% in Brazil (with mandatory bonuses) on a salary of about USD 40,000, from official sources. On our scores, Multiplier leads at 79 out of 100.

An employer of record (EOR) is a company that legally employs a worker on another business's behalf, handling the local contract, payroll, tax withholding and statutory benefits, while the client directs the work and pays the costs plus a monthly fee.

Our picks at a glance ranked by published score out of 100

  1. 1
    MultiplierCost-focused buyers who want owned entities and an annual billing discount
    $459 to $499 a month79See pricing
  2. 2
    OysterTeams that want flat EOR pricing with published deposit and refund rules
    $699 a month64See pricing
  3. 3
    RemoteBuyers who want owned entities in every EOR country and published terms
    $599 to $699 a month62See pricing
  4. 4
    PlayrollSmall teams that want a low EOR price with a published deposit rule
    From $399 a month60See pricing
  5. 5
    Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)Price-sensitive buyers who want a low list price from an established provider
    $399 a month57See pricing
On this page

What an employer of record does

An employer of record company signs the local employment contract with your worker through its own entity in that country. It runs payroll, withholds income tax, pays the employer social contributions and statutory benefits, and handles the paperwork when the job ends. You pick the person, set the salary and direct the work. Each month the EOR invoices you for salary, contributions and its fee.

  1. You choose the country, the person, the salary and the start date.
  2. The EOR quotes the full monthly cost and usually asks for a deposit.
  3. The EOR issues a contract that follows local law: notice, leave, probation and any mandatory bonuses.
  4. Each payroll it pays the worker in local currency and remits taxes and contributions.
  5. When the job ends it runs the local termination process, and you pay the notice and severance the law requires.

The model works in the other direction too. A foreign company with no US entity that wants a US employee needs a US employer of record, because a PEO can only co-employ alongside an existing US company. With a US entity, a PEO or payroll software is far cheaper; see PEO vs EOR. The longer explanation, including what the EOR is liable for, is in what an employer of record is.

What an EOR costs

Lowest list price
$199Payoneer WFM (Skuad), per employee per month
Most common
$599Deel, Remote, Atlas, Justworks add-on
Highest flat price
$699Oyster
Fee for one hire a year
$4,788 to $8,388at $399 to $699 a month
What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Two providers show two prices: Remote lists $599 on its pricing page and $699 in a March 2026 help article, and G-P says quote only on its pricing page and $599 on an information page updated in July 2026. Multiplier is the only one that publishes a monthly and an annual price ($499 and $459). Rivermate spans $319 to $639 by country, and Atlas adds a country "LES rate" to its $599. The full list is in every published EOR fee.

The fee is not the whole contract. Watch four things:

  • Deposits. Playroll asks for one month of salary per employee and Oyster for at least one month of the total cost of services. On a USD 40,000 salary, one month is about $3,333 per hire, returned weeks after the job ends.
  • Currency. None of the providers we checked publishes an EOR FX markup percentage. Multiplier says it adds no markup (one reviewer disputes that), and Atlas says it adds one without giving the figure. A 1% markup on a USD 40,000 salary is $400 a year.
  • Renewals. Remote's order forms raise prices on renewal by at least 8%, so $599 becomes at least $698.67 after two renewals.
  • Exit terms. Deel's promo order forms need a two-year term and bill full list price if you leave early. Pebl locks each worker in for 12 months on its Employee Term model.

Employer costs by country, and a three-country example

Salary and the employer's mandatory contributions usually cost more than the EOR fee. Our country data comes from official social security and labor sources and shows employer contributions on a salary of about USD 40,000. Three hires on that salary:

One year for one employee each in India, Brazil and the UK through a $599 EOR
EmployeeGross salaryEmployer contributionsEOR fee (12 x $599)All-in for the year
IndiaINR 3,800,000 ($40,017)3.4%: INR 130,346 ($1,373)$7,188$48,578
BrazilBRL 203,280 ($39,992)50.9%: BRL 103,446.93 ($20,352), including the 13th salary and vacation bonus$7,188$67,532
United KingdomGBP 30,00014.88%: GBP 4,462.80$7,188GBP 34,462.80 plus $7,188

Sources: HRPricing country data from official sources (EPFO, ESIC and PIB for India; Planalto for Brazil; GOV.UK for the UK), checked Oct 16 and 17, 2026, as worked on our best EOR page. USD at the ECB cross rates of Oct 16, 2026 (94.96 INR and 5.083 BRL per USD). EOR fee from the Deel and Remote pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.

In India the EOR fee is more than five times the employer contributions. In Brazil the contributions are almost three times the fee. Switching all three from a $599 provider to a $399 one saves $7,200 a year. Compare 52 countries side by side in the employer cost by country index, or run your own salary below or in the international employee cost calculator.

Estimated employer contributions per year
0

EOR picks, ranked by score

Ranked by our EOR scores out of 100: price per employee (25 points), hidden costs disclosed (20), entity ownership and country coverage (20), contract terms (15), support and compliance help (10) and documented complaints (10). Remote is scored at $699, the higher of the two prices on its own pages. The method is on how we score providers.

79/100Best for cost-focused buyers who want owned entities and an annual billing discount

Multiplier

Core is $459 per employee per month billed annually or $499 monthly. Multiplier claims its own entity in every one of its 160+ countries and says it adds no FX markup, which one reviewer disputes. It needs 30 days to process a termination and charges 15% of the final invoice if you discuss termination with the employee yourself. Multiplier pricing and termination rules.

How the score adds up

  • Price19/25
  • Hidden costs14/20
  • Entity ownership20/20
  • Contract terms11/15
  • Support9/10
  • Complaints record6/10
64/100Best for teams that want flat EOR pricing with published deposit and refund rules

Oyster

$699 per employee per month in every country, the highest flat price here. The deposit is at least one month of the total cost of services, returned about 60 days after the end date, and the agreement ends on 30 days' notice. Late or held wages are a recurring complaint. Oyster deposit and complaints.

How the score adds up

  • Price13/25
  • Hidden costs18/20
  • Entity ownership8/20
  • Contract terms13/15
  • Support7/10
  • Complaints record5/10
62/100Best for buyers who want owned entities in every EOR country and published terms

Remote

From $599 on its pricing page, though a Remote help article from March 2026 says $699. Remote claims fully owned entities in 90+ countries. Default terms run 12 months, auto-renew, and raise prices by at least 8% (or US CPI if higher) at renewal. Remote pricing and contract terms.

How the score adds up

  • Price13/25
  • Hidden costs12/20
  • Entity ownership16/20
  • Contract terms10/15
  • Support5/10
  • Complaints record6/10
60/100Best for small teams that want a low EOR price with a published deposit rule

Playroll

From $399 per employee per month with no minimum commitment and no onboarding or offboarding fees. The deposit is one month of salary per employee, statutory and country charges are billed separately, and Playroll makes no owned-entity claim.

How the score adds up

  • Price22/25
  • Hidden costs13/20
  • Entity ownership9/20
  • Contract terms6/15
  • Support7/10
  • Complaints record3/10
57/100Best for price-sensitive buyers who want a low list price from an established provider

Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)

$399 per employee per month, with about 90% of its employees on Pebl-owned entities. On its Employee Term model each worker is locked in for 12 months, and the deposit amount is not published. Pebl review.

How the score adds up

  • Price22/25
  • Hidden costs4/20
  • Entity ownership17/20
  • Contract terms6/15
  • Support5/10
  • Complaints record3/10

The other eight: Atlas 55, Papaya Global 55, Deel 54, Rivermate 53, Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad) 47, Globalization Partners 45, Omnipresent 39 and Rippling EOR 18. Deel gets 7 of 20 points for hidden costs because it publishes no deposit or FX terms. All 13, with deposits, FX and exit terms side by side, are in the best employer of record services; reviews: Deel, Papaya Global, G-P and Rippling EOR, plus Deel vs Remote.

Hire in a country

The 20 countries US companies search for most, with the employer contribution rate from our country data. Each guide covers notice, severance, bonuses and an all-in monthly cost through an EOR.

Rates marked as a portion only, or not yet confirmed, mean an official figure was missing on our check date; the country page says which. Every country we cover is listed at the end of this page.

EOR, contractor, global payroll or your own entity

Ways to hire outside your own country, with published prices
RoutePriceWho employs the workerUse it when
Contractor platform$29 to $49 per contractor a month at the big platforms (Remote and Oyster $29, G-P $39, Multiplier $40, Deel $49)Nobody: the worker runs their own businessThe person really is an independent contractor
Contractor of record$99 to $400 per contractor a monthNobody, but the provider takes on the contract and classification riskYou want contractor terms with a buffer against misclassification
Employer of record$199 to $699 per employee a monthThe EOR's local entityYou want an employee in a country where you have no entity
Global payroll for your own entity$10 to $29 per employee a month (Playroll, Papaya Global, Multiplier, Remote)Your own local entityYou already have, or will open, a subsidiary

Source: provider pricing pages checked Oct 16, 2026, as compiled on our contractor, contractor of record, EOR pricing and global payroll pages.

An EOR suits your first hires in a country, a market test, or someone who has to start within weeks. With $30,000 a year of entity overhead, your own entity becomes cheaper at about 5 employees against a $599 EOR; the full break-even is in EOR vs your own entity. Once you have the entity, compare global payroll providers and EOR vs global payroll.

For freelancers, contractor management software costs $29 to $49 a month, and a contractor of record adds misclassification cover. EOR vs AOR and EOR vs a staffing agency cover the other look-alikes. An EOR changes who employs the person, but it does not settle whether your company has a taxable presence abroad: read permanent establishment risk before a senior hire signs contracts for you.

Before you sign an EOR contract

  1. Get a quote for your country and salary, with each employer contribution, mandatory bonus and benefit on its own line.
  2. Get the deposit amount, how it is calculated and the refund date in writing.
  3. Ask for the FX rate source and the markup percentage.
  4. Ask whether the entity in your country is owned or a partner's.
  5. Read the term, auto-renewal, price increase and early exit clauses on the order form.
  6. Find out the termination process: lead time, who talks to the employee and who pays local legal costs.

Employer of record guides and reviews

Every EOR, contractor and global payroll page except the country guides.

Every country guide

Employer costs, rules and EOR fees for each country we cover.

Frequently asked questions

What is an employer of record?
An employer of record (EOR) is a company that becomes the legal employer of a worker for you, usually in a country where you have no entity. It signs the local contract, runs payroll, withholds tax and pays employer contributions, while you choose the person and direct the work. Published EOR fees ran $199 to $699 per employee per month on October 16, 2026.
How much does an employer of record cost?
Published EOR fees checked October 16, 2026 run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management) to $699 (Oyster) per employee per month, with Deel and Remote at $599 and Pebl and Playroll from $399. Salary, employer contributions, deposits and currency costs come on top: employer contributions are 14.88% of a GBP 30,000 UK salary under GOV.UK 2026 to 2027 rates.
Which employer of record is best?
On HRPricing's October 2026 EOR scores, Multiplier ranks first at 79 out of 100, then Oyster (64), Remote (62), Playroll (60) and Pebl (57). Scores weigh price, disclosed hidden costs, entity ownership and coverage, contract terms, support and documented complaints, using each provider's published pages and terms.
Can I use an employer of record in the United States?
Yes. A foreign company without a US entity can hire a US employee through a US employer of record, because a PEO can only co-employ alongside an existing US company. A company that already has a US entity usually pays far less with payroll software or a PEO ($79 to $125 per employee per month at published prices) than with a $599 EOR fee.
Is an EOR the same as a PEO?
No. A PEO co-employs US staff alongside your own US company and costs $79 to $125 per employee per month at published prices. An EOR is the only legal employer, usually abroad, and costs $199 to $699 per employee per month (provider pricing pages checked October 16, 2026).
Can an employer of record pay independent contractors?
Most EOR providers also sell contractor payments, at $29 to $49 per contractor per month (Remote and Oyster $29, Deel $49, checked October 16, 2026), and a contractor of record service at $99 to $400 that takes on classification risk. If the person works like an employee, the EOR route is the one that makes them an employee.
Sources (24)
  1. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Remote: Remote order form terms and conditions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Oyster: Oyster customer terms (version 2025-02-27) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Multiplier: Multiplier EOR terms (effective Jun 1, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Pebl: Pebl EOR supplemental order terms (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. Atlas: Atlas pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  13. Globalization Partners: G-P pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  14. Globalization Partners: G-P LLM info page (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  15. Payoneer Workforce Management: Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad) pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  16. Rivermate: Rivermate pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  17. Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  18. GOV.UK: Rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  19. Press Information Bureau, Government of India: EPF wage ceiling raised to Rs 25,000 (Sept 2026) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  20. ESIC: ESIC contribution rates (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  21. Planalto (Government of Brazil): Lei 8.036 (FGTS) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  22. Canada Revenue Agency: CPP contribution rates, maximums and exemptions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  23. Deutsche Rentenversicherung: Social insurance figures 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  24. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (Oct 16, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.