Employer of record in Slovakia: costs and rules for 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A Slovak employee adds 36.2% to the payroll bill in 2026: 25.2% social insurance to the Socialna poistovna (the largest line is the 14% old-age pension) and 11% health insurance, while published EOR fees start at $199 a month with Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) and top out at $699 with Oyster (checked October 2026). Where US budgets go wrong is pricing the social insurance alone: the 11% health premium goes to a separate health insurer such as VsZP, so a quote built on 25.2% is about EUR 3,910 a year short on a EUR 35,550 salary.

An employer of record in Slovakia is a Slovak company that signs the employment contract with your hire, registers them with the Socialna poistovna and a health insurer, runs monthly payroll and pays both employer premiums, while your team directs the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
36.2%on top of gross pay
Currency
EUR
On this page

Slovak payroll: two premiums, one cap and a new minimum wage

Mandatory insurance in Slovakia goes to two separate bodies with separate rates and caps.

  • Social insurance, 25.2% employer. The Socialna poistovna table in force from January 1, 2026 charges the employer 1.4% sickness, 14% old-age pension, 3% disability, 1% for unemployment (0.5% plus a new 0.5% line that funds support in work), 0.25% guarantee, 4.75% reserve fund and 0.8% accident insurance.
  • Health insurance, 11% employer. VsZP's 2026 notice works through the employer minimum contribution at 11%. The employee rate rose from 4% to 5% for 2026 and 2027.
  • The cap. Social insurance stops at a maximum assessment base of EUR 16,764 a month, except accident insurance, which has no ceiling. VsZP's 2026 pages do not mention a ceiling for health insurance, so plan on 11% of full pay.
  • Minimum wage. Eurostat lists EUR 915 monthly for 2026, EUR 99 more than 2025's EUR 816. At that wage the two employer premiums add EUR 331.23 a month.

Our country data lists no statutory 13th or 14th salary, monthly pay and a 40-hour week, but we have not yet matched these to the Labor Code.

Not yet verified by us against an official text: what Act 311/2001, the Slovak Labor Code, says on trial periods, dismissal notice, redundancy pay, vacation and holidays. Get the EOR's version of each written into the contract.

Employment costs and rules in Slovakia

Employing someone in Slovakia: the rules and costs
ItemSlovakia
Employer social contributions36.2% (social insurance 25.2% plus health insurance 11%)
What the employer paysSocial insurance (Socialna poistovna, from Jan 1 2026): sickness 1.4%; old-age pension 14%; disability 3%; unemployment 0.5% plus 0.5% contribution to finance support in work (1% in total); guarantee 0.25%; reserve (solidarity) fund 4.75%; accident 0.8% (no cap). Health insurance: employer 11% (VsZP 2026 notice, minimum-contribution example 284.13 x 11%); the employer rate for employees with a disability was not confirmed
Caps and ceilingsSocial insurance maximum assessment base EUR 16,764 per month for all funds except accident insurance (no cap on accident). No minimum base for employees. VsZP 2026 pages do not mention a maximum base for health insurance (no cap is commonly reported; unconfirmed)
Employee contributions14.4%: social 9.4% (sickness 1.4%, old-age 4%, disability 3%, unemployment 1%) plus health insurance 5% (2.5% for employees with a disability), the health rate raised from 4% for Jan 1 2026 to Dec 31 2027
Minimum wageEUR 915 per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 816) (Eurostat earn_mw_cur)
Annual leave4 weeks; 5 weeks from age 33 (unconfirmed today)
Probation3 months; 6 months for managers (unconfirmed today)
Notice period1 to 3 months depending on length of service (unconfirmed today)
SeveranceStatutory severance on redundancy of 1 to 5 months' average pay depending on service (unconfirmed today)
Sample salary usedEUR 35,550 per year (EUR 2,962.50 per month; USD 40,000 at 1.1253 USD per EUR, ECB reference rate Oct 16 2026)
Employer cost on that salary36.2%

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (Socialna poistovna, VsZP state health insurer, Eurostat, ECB). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Slovakia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

A EUR 35,550 salary in Slovakia, every line

Our benchmark hire earns the euro equivalent of USD 40,000. At 1.1253 dollars to the euro (ECB, October 16, 2026) that is EUR 35,550, paid as EUR 2,962.50 a month. Nowhere near the EUR 16,764 cap, so every line hits the whole salary.

Slovakia: employer cost of one EOR employee on EUR 35,550
LineRatePer year
Gross salaryEUR 35,550.00
Old-age pension14%EUR 4,977.00
Reserve (solidarity) fund4.75%EUR 1,688.63
Disability3%EUR 1,066.50
Sickness1.4%EUR 497.70
Unemployment and support in work1%EUR 355.50
Accident0.8%EUR 284.40
Guarantee0.25%EUR 88.88
Health insurance11%EUR 3,910.50
Employer cost before the EOR fee36.2%EUR 48,419.10
EOR fee, $599 x 12EUR 6,387.63
All-in yearly costEUR 54,806.73

Rates: Socialna poistovna tables from Jan 1, 2026 and VsZP. Fee: $599, the Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026, at 1.1253 USD per EUR. Lines are rounded to the cent. Checked Oct 2026.

Adding up: the seven social lines come to EUR 8,958.60 (25.2% x 35,550) and health to EUR 3,910.50 (11% x 35,550), so premiums total EUR 12,869.10, or EUR 1,072.43 per payslip. Divide $7,188 of yearly fees by 1.1253 and you get EUR 6,387.63. Spread over twelve months, everything comes to EUR 4,567.23.

The premiums are set by law; the fee is what changes between providers. Pebl and Playroll list $399 ($4,788 yearly), Oyster $699 ($8,388) and Payoneer Workforce Management from $199 ($2,388). Left out: the deposit (at least a month of total service cost under Oyster's terms, a month of salary at Playroll) and any FX spread. Model a different salary with the international hiring cost calculator.

Picking a provider for a Slovak hire

Multiplier tops our EOR scores at 79 out of 100, with Oyster on 64; Remote, Playroll, Pebl and Deel follow on 62, 60, 57 and 54 (how we score providers). Nobody prices Slovakia separately in public, and Multiplier only says roughly 11% of countries sit above its $499 list, so ask for a written Slovak quote.

Ask, too, which health insurer will cover the hire, whether invoices split the two premiums, and which company is the Slovak legal employer: Multiplier says it uses its own entity in every country, while Oyster mixes its own firms with partners. Reviews: Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews, plus the best EOR ranking.

Slovak contractors and the employment test

A Slovak freelancer billing you by invoice skips the 36.2%. Trouble starts when that freelancer keeps fixed hours, serves only you and takes daily direction; if reclassified, the back premiums are the same eight lines tabulated earlier. Defined project work fits contractor management tools, or a contractor of record willing to own the classification risk.

When a Slovak s.r.o. beats an EOR

Fees for three Slovak staff at $599 come to $21,564 per year. Your own company needs a Slovak registration, two insurer accounts and a payroll provider. Weigh the two with our EOR versus own entity comparison and the EOR pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Slovak employee cost on top of salary?
Employer premiums total 36.2% of gross pay in 2026: 25.2% to the Socialna poistovna and 11% to the health insurer (the rate in VsZP's 2026 notice). A EUR 35,550 salary carries EUR 12,869.10. EOR fees published in October 2026 range from $199 to $699 monthly.
Is there a maximum assessment base for Slovak social insurance?
Yes. The Socialna poistovna sets a maximum assessment base of EUR 16,764 a month for 2026 for all social insurance funds except accident insurance, which is uncapped. VsZP's 2026 pages do not mention a ceiling for health insurance.
What is the minimum wage in Slovakia in 2026?
Eurostat puts it at EUR 915 monthly from the start of 2026 (EUR 816 in 2025). With 36.2% in employer premiums, a minimum-wage worker costs EUR 1,246.23 a month before any EOR fee.
Did Slovak health insurance rates change in 2026?
The employee rate did. VsZP states it rose from 4% to 5% (2% to 2.5% for employees with a disability) for January 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027. The employer rate used in VsZP's 2026 example is 11%.
Is a 13th salary mandatory for Slovak employees?
Our country research found no statutory 13th or 14th salary in Slovakia, so any bonus would be contractual. We have not yet checked this against the Labor Code text, so confirm it with your EOR.
Sources (13)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (EOR deposit) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. socpoist.sk/en/social-insurance/contribution-payment-tables-january... (checked October 17, 2026)
  10. vszp.sk/platitelia/platenie-poistneho/oznamenia-zmeny/zmeny-od-01-0... (checked October 17, 2026)
  11. vszp.sk/novinky/zmena-sadzby-poistneho-vysky-preddavkov-od-01-01-20... (checked October 17, 2026)
  12. ec.europa.eu/eurostat/api/dissemination/statistics/1.0/data/earn_mw... (checked October 17, 2026)
  13. ecb.europa.eu/stats/eurofxref/eurofxref-daily.xml (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site