Employer of record in Moldova: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A Moldovan employee on MDL 716,956 a year costs a private employer 24% on top of salary in state social insurance, MDL 172,069.44, according to an August 2026 report by the Moldovan business news agency Logos Press (a secondary source; we could not read the CNAS rate pages); the EOR itself charges from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (list prices checked in October 2026). What US companies miss is the sector split: the 24% is the private-sector rate, while public budget-funded employers pay 29%, so a quote built on the wrong table overstates your cost by 5 points.
An employer of record in Moldova is a Moldovan company that hires your worker on its payroll, pays state social insurance to CNAS and handles the employer's duties under Moldovan law, while you direct what they do.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 24% (MDL 172,069) if no cap…on top of gross pay
- Currency
- MDL
On this page
Moldova's payroll basics for a foreign employer
Moldova's main employer charge is state social insurance, paid to the National Social Insurance House (CNAS). Private employers, along with higher education and healthcare, pay 24% on payroll and other payments to employees. Public budget-funded employers pay 29%, and a cut to 24% has been proposed for 2027. We found no cap in that report.
- Minimum wage: MDL 6,300 a month from January 1, 2026, up from MDL 5,500, a 14.5% rise (WageIndicator, a secondary source).
- Health insurance is a separate system run by CNAM; we have not confirmed whether any part falls on the employer.
We have not yet confirmed Moldova's employee contribution rates, annual leave, probation, notice, redundancy pay, pay frequency or working hours from an official source. Ask your EOR to state each in the contract and check them with CNAS, CNAM, the State Tax Service and the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection.
Employment costs and rules in Moldova
| Item | Moldova |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 24% state social insurance (private-sector employers) |
| What the employer pays | State social insurance 24% employer on payroll and other payments to employees (private sector, higher education and healthcare); public budgetary employers 29% (a cut to 24% is proposed for 2027); health insurance not confirmed today |
| Caps and ceilings | No cap stated in the source; not confirmed |
| Minimum wage | MDL 6,300 per month from Jan 1, 2026 (was MDL 5,500) |
| Sample salary used | MDL 716,956 a year (MDL 59,746/mo) = USD 40,000 at the National Bank of Moldova official rate 17.9239 (Oct 2026) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 24% (MDL 172,069) if no cap applies |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Logos Press news report Aug 17 2026 for the 24% rate; WageIndicator for the minimum wage); official (National Bank of Moldova) for FX; CNAS rate pages not reached. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Moldova
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
The numbers for a MDL 59,746 a month hire
USD 40,000 at the National Bank of Moldova rate of 17.9239 is MDL 716,956 a year, MDL 59,746.33 a month, roughly 9.5 times the minimum wage.
| Line | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | MDL 59,746.33 | MDL 716,956.00 |
| State social insurance, 24% (private employers) | MDL 14,339.12 | MDL 172,069.44 |
| Health insurance contribution | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| Employer cost before the EOR fee | MDL 74,085.45 | MDL 889,025.44 |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | MDL 10,736.42 | MDL 128,836.99 |
| All-in cost (confirmed lines) | MDL 84,821.87 | MDL 1,017,862.43 |
Source: Logos Press (Aug 17, 2026) on the 24% private-sector social insurance rate; National Bank of Moldova official rate of 17.9239 MDL per USD (Oct 2026). Fee: $599 a month, the Deel and Remote list price read on Oct 16, 2026. Checked Oct 2026.
Arithmetic: 24% x 716,956 = 172,069.44. The fee is $7,188 x 17.9239 = MDL 128,836.99, which is MDL 42,802.27 at $199, MDL 85,819.63 at $399 and MDL 150,345.67 at $699. Not included: any employer health insurance share, the EOR deposit and currency margin. See other salaries in the international cost calculator.
Why the employer rate matters more than the fee
At 24%, social insurance on this salary is MDL 172,069.44 a year, larger than the EOR fee of MDL 128,836.99. That flips the usual pattern in low-cost countries, where the fee is the biggest add-on. When you compare EOR quotes for Moldova, line up the contribution figures first: a provider that applies 29% would add MDL 35,847.80 a year on this salary.
Contractors in Moldova
Paying a Moldovan contractor by invoice avoids the 24% charge. If the role is full-time, controlled by your managers and indistinguishable from a job, it risks being treated as employment, and the social insurance becomes due. Use a contractor management platform for real project work, or a contractor of record.
Moldovan entity or EOR
A local company means CNAS registration, monthly filings and a bookkeeper who reads Moldovan rules as they change. With one or two hires, $7,188 a year each in EOR fees is the simpler path. Our EOR versus own entity breakdown helps you find the crossover.
Which EOR covers Moldova well
Entity ownership claims vary widely, so ask whether the provider owns its Moldovan entity or uses a local partner. Rivermate, for example, claims 38 owned entities while saying it covers 180+ countries. Multiplier ranks first on our scores at 79/100 and claims its own entities everywhere; Oyster is second at 64/100 (scoring details).
Compare providers in the EOR ranking and our Oyster, Deel and Remote reviews, then see Moldova beside Romania in the cost index.
Frequently asked questions
What does a Moldova employer of record cost?
What is the employer social insurance rate in Moldova?
What is Moldova's minimum wage in 2026?
What notice and leave rules apply in Moldova?
Sources (11)
- Logos Press: Social security contribution rates in the private and public sectors will be standardized (Aug 17, 2026, checked Oct 16, 2026)
- WageIndicator: Minimum wage updated in Moldova from 01 January 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- National Bank of Moldova: Official exchange rates (rate checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- cnas.gov.md (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.