Employer of record in the Czech Republic: what a hire costs in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Every Czech koruna of gross salary carries another 33.8% in employer contributions, CZK 283,920 a year on a CZK 840,000 salary, and 21.5 points of that is pension insurance paid to the Czech Social Security Administration (CSSZ); provider fees come on top, from $199 per head per month at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) up to $699 at Oyster (our October 16, 2026 check). The rule US companies trip on is probation: since the June 1, 2025 Labor Code amendment the maximum is 4 months (8 for managers), and it can only be extended by a written agreement signed while the probation is still running.
An employer of record in the Czech Republic is a Czech company that signs the employment contract with your hire, runs CZK payroll and pays the CSSZ and health insurance contributions, while your managers set the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 33.8% (CZK 283,920)on top of gross pay
- Currency
- CZK
On this page
Four Czech rules that change the offer
Czech payroll is monthly and the employer side is heavy. Social security adds up to 24.8% (pension 21.5%, sickness 2.1%, state employment policy 1.2%), and public health insurance adds 9%. The worker pays 11.6% on top: 6.5% pension, 0.6% sickness (reintroduced in 2024) and 4.5% health.
- Probation: up to 4 months, or 8 months for managers, under the amended Labor Code (finance.cz, a secondary source). It was 3 and 6 months before June 1, 2025. Templates written before then are out of date.
- The social security ceiling: 48 times the average wage, CZK 2,350,416 for 2026 (Deloitte). Only very high earners reach it. Health insurance has no ceiling.
- Minimum wage: CZK 22,400 a month or CZK 134.40 an hour on a 40-hour week, from January 1, 2026 (Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs, MPSV).
- No statutory 13th salary. Any bonus is what you write into the contract.
Czech notice periods, severance for organizational dismissals, annual leave and the public holiday count are still unverified in our data. Read the EOR contract for its figures and compare them with MPSV guidance.
Employment costs and rules in Czech Republic
| Item | Czech Republic |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 33.8% (social security 24.8% + health insurance 9%) |
| What the employer pays | Pension insurance 21.5%; Sickness insurance 2.1%; State employment policy 1.2% (social security 24.8%, CSSZ); Public health insurance 9% (secondary); Statutory employer liability insurance for work injury: small premium, not checked |
| Caps and ceilings | Social security cap 48 x average wage = CZK 2,350,416 for 2026 (secondary); no cap on health insurance (secondary) |
| Employee contributions | 11.6% (pension 6.5% + sickness 0.6% + health 4.5%) |
| Minimum wage | CZK 22,400 per month or CZK 134.40 per hour (40-hour week), from Jan 1, 2026 |
| Mandatory bonuses | None by statute |
| Probation | 4 months (8 months for managers) since the Jun 1 2025 Labor Code amendment (was 3 and 6); extension only by written agreement made during the probation (source_type=secondary: finance.cz) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly |
| Sample salary used | CZK 840,000 per year (CZK 70,000/mo), about USD 40,000 at an assumed 21 CZK/USD (rate not fetched) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 33.8% (CZK 283,920) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (CSSZ rates page updated Jan 29, 2026; MPSV minimum wage); secondary (Deloitte) for health insurance and the 2026 cap. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Czech Republic
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
The yearly bill for a CZK 840,000 salary
The sample salary is CZK 70,000 a month, which countries.csv puts at about USD 40,000 using an assumed rate of 21 CZK per USD (the rate was not fetched from the Czech National Bank).
| Line | Rate | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | CZK 70,000 | CZK 840,000 | |
| Pension insurance (CSSZ) | 21.5% | CZK 15,050 | CZK 180,600 |
| Sickness insurance (CSSZ) | 2.1% | CZK 1,470 | CZK 17,640 |
| State employment policy (CSSZ) | 1.2% | CZK 840 | CZK 10,080 |
| Public health insurance | 9% | CZK 6,300 | CZK 75,600 |
| Employer cost before the EOR fee | 33.8% | CZK 93,660 | CZK 1,123,920 |
| EOR fee (Deel or Remote list price) | $599 | $7,188 |
Source: CSSZ contribution rates (updated Jan 29, 2026) and Deloitte Czech Republic Highlights 2026 for the 9% health rate. $599 is what Deel and Remote listed on Oct 16, 2026. The fee stays in USD because we have not read an official CZK rate.
How the numbers work: 21.5% x CZK 70,000 = CZK 15,050; 2.1% = CZK 1,470; 1.2% = CZK 840; 9% = CZK 6,300. That is CZK 23,660 a month, or CZK 283,920 a year, and CZK 840,000 + CZK 283,920 = CZK 1,123,920. At CZK 840,000 the worker sits far below the CZK 2,350,416 ceiling, so the full 24.8% applies all year.
The EOR fee is billed in dollars: $599 x 12 = $7,188 a year. At Payoneer WFM ($199) it is $2,388, at Pebl or Playroll ($399) $4,788, and at Oyster ($699) $8,388. A small employer liability premium for work injury also exists, but our research did not price it. Run other salaries through the international cost calculator or compare countries in the EOR cost index.
Opening a Czech s.r.o. instead
Your own Czech company means registering with the CSSZ and a health insurer, filing monthly, and paying a local accountant. Skipping all of that is what the fee buys: $7,188 per person per year at $599, $35,940 for a team of five. Once that figure rivals what a subsidiary and its payroll provider cost, read our EOR versus entity break-even guide.
Czech freelancers on a trade license
Many Czech professionals work as self-employed contractors, which removes the 33.8% employer layer from your bill. The danger is the dependent-work test: a freelancer with set hours, one client and your managers giving daily instructions looks like an employee. If the arrangement is reclassified, the missing contributions are calculated from the lines above. For short projects, contractor management tools handle invoices and payments; a contractor of record also takes on the classification review.
Picking a provider for a Czech hire
Multiplier scores 79 out of 100 on our EOR method and Oyster 64, the two highest in our set. None publishes a Czech-specific price, and Multiplier says about 11% of its countries cost more than the list fee without naming them, so ask for the Czech quote in writing.
Pin down the deposit as well. Oyster wants a month or more of the total service charge, returned roughly two months after the employment ends; Playroll takes a month of salary; Multiplier works its deposit out per hire and refunds it within 60 days. Deel publishes no deposit rule. Our EOR rankings compare the field, with longer write-ups on Oyster, Remote and Deel.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an employer of record cost in the Czech Republic?
What are employer social security rates in the Czech Republic in 2026?
How long can probation last in the Czech Republic?
What is the Czech minimum wage in 2026?
Do Czech social security contributions stop at a ceiling?
Sources (10)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- cssz.gov.cz/web/lang/sazby-pojistneho (checked October 16, 2026)
- mpsv.gov.cz/minimalni-mzda (checked October 16, 2026)
- deloitte.com/content/dam/assets-shared/docs/services/tax/2026/dttl-... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.