Employer of record in Singapore: CPF, costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A Singapore citizen or permanent resident aged 55 or under costs 17% on top of salary in employer CPF contributions, SGD 8,698.73 on an SGD 51,169 salary (about USD 40,000), per CPF Board rates checked October 2026, and published EOR list prices of $199 (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month come on top. What US companies get wrong is who CPF covers: it applies to citizens and PRs only, so a foreign hire on the same salary carries no CPF at all and the cost depends on residency status, not pay.
An employer of record in Singapore is a Singapore-registered company that employs your hire under the Employment Act, runs payroll and pays CPF contributions where they apply, while you manage the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 17.00% CPF (citizen or PR…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- Employment Act: 7 days in…
- Currency
- SGD
On this page
How Singapore's employer obligations differ
Singapore's payroll cost comes down to one scheme, the Central Provident Fund, and the rate depends on age and residency.
- Employer CPF by age: 17% up to 55, 16% from 55 to 60, 12.5% from 60 to 65, 9% from 65 to 70 and 7.5% above 70, for monthly wages above SGD 750. First- and second-year PRs pay graduated rates. The employee adds 20% at age 55 and under. Rates for ages 55 to 65 changed on January 1, 2026, and CPF has announced further senior-worker increases from January 1, 2027.
- A higher wage ceiling. The Ordinary Wage ceiling rose to SGD 8,000 a month from January 1, 2026 (SGD 7,400 in 2025). CPF also lists an annual salary ceiling of SGD 102,000 for ordinary plus additional wages, stated for 2016 onward but not restated for 2026 on the page we read.
- No statutory bonus and no general minimum wage. Any 13th month or year-end bonus is a contract term. We did not check the sector Progressive Wage Model rules.
- Leave grows with service. The Employment Act gives 7 days of annual leave in year 1, rising by a day a year to 14 days from year 8, once the employee has 3 months of service.
- Notice when the contract is silent. 1 day under 26 weeks of service, 1 week from 26 weeks to under 2 years, 2 weeks from 2 to under 5 years, and 4 weeks from 5 years. Notice must be equal for both sides.
We have not yet confirmed the Skills Development Levy, public holiday count, retrenchment benefit norm, probation, working hours or pay frequency from an official page. The Ministry of Manpower (mom.gov.sg) publishes all of them.
Employment costs and rules in Singapore
| Item | Singapore |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 17% CPF (citizens and PRs aged 55 and below) plus Skills Development Levy; foreigners: no CPF |
| What the employer pays | CPF employer 17% (age 55 and below), 16% (55 to 60), 12.5% (60 to 65), 9% (65 to 70), 7.5% (over 70), for monthly wages above SGD 750 and SC/SPR from 3rd year of PR; graduated rates for 1st and 2nd year PRs |
| Caps and ceilings | Ordinary Wage ceiling SGD 8,000 per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 7,400 in 2025); annual salary ceiling SGD 102,000 for OW + Additional Wages (listed by CPF for 2016 onward, not restated for 2026 on the page read) |
| Employee contributions | 20% CPF (age 55 and below); citizens and PRs only |
| Minimum wage | No general statutory minimum wage (sector Progressive Wage Model not checked) |
| Mandatory bonuses | None statutory |
| Annual leave | Employment Act: 7 days in year 1, rising 1 day per year to 14 days from year 8 (after 3 months service) |
| Notice period | If the contract is silent: 1 day (under 26 weeks), 1 week (26 weeks to under 2 years), 2 weeks (2 to under 5 years), 4 weeks (5+ years); contract notice must be equal for both sides |
| Sample salary used | SGD 51,169 (SGD 4,264 per month) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 17.00% CPF (citizen or PR aged 55 or under) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Singapore
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Costing an SGD 51,169 hire, local or foreign
Monthly pay is 51,169 / 12 = SGD 4,264.08, under the SGD 8,000 ceiling, so the full 17% applies to every dollar of ordinary wages.
| Line | Citizen or PR, aged 55 or under | Foreign employee (no CPF) |
|---|---|---|
| Annual salary (SGD 4,264.08 a month) | SGD 51,169.00 | SGD 51,169.00 |
| Employer CPF | 17% x 51,169 = SGD 8,698.73 | SGD 0.00 |
| Salary plus employer CPF | SGD 59,867.73 | SGD 51,169.00 |
| Employer cost on top of salary | 17.00% | 0.00% |
| EOR fee ($599 x 12) | USD 7,188 | USD 7,188 |
Source: CPF Board contribution rates and Ordinary Wage ceiling (cpf.gov.sg), read Oct 16, 2026; fee at the $599 list price Deel and Remote published on Oct 16, 2026. Skills Development Levy and work pass costs are not included. The fee stays in US dollars; at the ECB cross rate of October 16, 2026 used for the salary (SGD 1.2792 per USD), USD 7,188 is SGD 9,195.07.
The ceiling caps the CPF bill for senior hires: at SGD 8,000 a month or more, employer CPF on ordinary wages stops at 17% x 8,000 = SGD 1,360 a month. For a foreign hire, the employer contribution figure is zero, but work pass costs (not priced here) come in instead. Model your own figures in the cost calculator for international hires or rank Singapore against other markets in the country cost index.
EOR or a Singapore company of your own
With employer CPF at 17% and no cost at all for foreign staff, the EOR fee is the biggest controllable line here: USD 7,188 a year at $599, against SGD 8,698.73 of CPF for a local hire. So the fee is a bigger share of the total here than in a high-contribution country such as Brazil. We have not priced Singapore company formation; our entity versus EOR guide shows the break-even math.
Contractors in Singapore
A contractor relationship skips CPF, which only saves money for citizen and PR workers. The risk is a contractor who is in practice an employee: the Employment Act protections and CPF become due. Real freelancers can be paid through contractor management platforms; a contractor of record costs $325 a month at Remote or $400 at Multiplier on annual billing (checked October 2026) and takes on the classification review.
Which provider for a Singapore hire
Multiplier is our top-scored EOR at 79/100 (how we score): $459 a month if billed annually, $499 if monthly, with a deposit it calculates from employment costs, fees and notice periods. Singapore's statutory notice, at most 4 weeks when the contract is silent, is one of those inputs. Oyster scores 64/100 and charges $699, with a deposit of at least one month of total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount) and 30 days' notice to end the agreement.
Before you sign, confirm the provider applies the 2026 SGD 8,000 ceiling and the right age band. Reviews of each provider's terms: Oyster, Deel and Remote; the EOR rankings show everyone else. Hiring in the region too? See Malaysia EOR costs and Hong Kong.
Frequently asked questions
How much employer CPF do you pay in Singapore in 2026?
Do employers pay CPF for foreign employees in Singapore?
What is the CPF Ordinary Wage ceiling in 2026?
What notice period applies in Singapore if the contract does not set one?
How much annual leave does Singapore require?
Does Singapore have a minimum wage?
Sources (11)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- cpf.gov.sg/employer/employer-obligations/how-much-cpf-contributions... (checked October 16, 2026)
- cpf.gov.sg/service/article/what-is-the-ordinary-wage-ow-ceiling (checked October 16, 2026)
- mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/leave/annual-leave/eligibility-and-... (checked October 16, 2026)
- mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/termination-of-employment/terminati... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.