Employer of record in Saudi Arabia: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A SAR 150,000 employee hired through an employer of record in Saudi Arabia costs at least 15.17% on top of salary if they are a Saudi national (11% GOSI, mainly the 9% annuities share, plus the end-of-service accrual, before SANED unemployment insurance, whose rate we have not confirmed) and 6.17% if they are an expatriate (2% occupational hazards plus the same accrual), based on the Social Insurance Law and the Labor Law; the provider's service fee is extra, listed from $199 per worker monthly (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026. American companies most often get the nationality split wrong: GOSI annuities cover Saudi workers only, while the end-of-service award builds up for every employee, Saudi or not, and is paid when the job ends.
An employer of record in Saudi Arabia is a Saudi-registered company that employs your hire, enrolls them with GOSI, runs payroll and handles end-of-service pay, while you run the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- Saudi national (old law):…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 21 days; 30 days after 5…
- Currency
- SAR
On this page
- Saudi hiring rules that differ from the US
- Employment costs and rules in Saudi Arabia
- What an EOR charges to employ someone in Saudi Arabia
- Saudi nationals and expatriates: two different GOSI bills
- The end-of-service award builds every year
- Where vendor pages get Saudi Arabia wrong
- Choosing an EOR in Saudi Arabia
- Contractor, EOR or a Saudi company
Saudi hiring rules that differ from the US
- Social insurance depends on nationality. Annuities (old age, disability, death) cost 18% of contributory wage, split 9% employer and 9% employee, for Saudi workers only (Social Insurance Law art. 18). Occupational hazards cost 2%, paid by the employer alone, for every worker regardless of nationality, and can be doubled for employers who ignore safety instructions.
- Contributions have a ceiling. The maximum contributory wage is SAR 45,000 a month (art. 19). Contributions are computed on the basic wage; we have not confirmed whether the regulations add the housing allowance or the SAR 1,500 minimum.
- There is no general minimum wage. SAR 4,000 a month is the level at which a Saudi employee counts fully toward Nitaqat quotas (secondary source: Remote; the HRSD page was not reachable).
- Leave is 21 days, rising to 30 days after 5 years of continuous service (Labor Law art. 109). The count of about 10 public holiday days in the summary box is not yet confirmed.
- Probation and notice rules have been amended. The Labor Law text on the official BOE laws site (laws.boe.gov.sa) shows 90 days of probation (art. 53) and at least 30 days' notice for monthly-paid staff (art. 75), and marks both articles as amended. We have not yet confirmed the amendments, reportedly made in February 2025, from an official source, so get the current terms in writing from the EOR.
Employment costs and rules in Saudi Arabia
| Item | Saudi Arabia |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | Saudi nationals: 11% confirmed (annuities 9%, occupational hazards 2%) plus SANED unemployment insurance (reported 0.75%, unconfirmed); expatriates: 2% (occupational hazards only) |
| What the employer pays | Annuities branch (old age, disability, death): 18% of contributory wage, 9% employer and 9% employee, Saudi workers only (Social Insurance Law art. 18). Occupational hazards branch: 2% of contributory wage, employer only, all workers regardless of nationality; may be doubled for employers who ignore safety instructions (art. 18). SANED unemployment insurance: rate unconfirmed today. New Social Insurance Law in force July 3 2024 applies to new entrants with no prior contribution periods; its rate schedule was not confirmed today |
| Caps and ceilings | Maximum contributory wage SAR 45,000 per month (Social Insurance Law art. 19). Contributions are computed on the basic monthly wage; the regulations may add allowances (inclusion of housing allowance and the SAR 1,500 minimum were not confirmed today) |
| Employee contributions | Saudi nationals: 9% annuities (plus SANED, unconfirmed); expatriates: 0% (annuities cover Saudi workers only) |
| Minimum wage | No general statutory minimum wage. SAR 4,000 per month is the level at which a Saudi employee counts fully for Nitaqat quotas (secondary: remote.com; HRSD page not reachable) |
| Mandatory bonuses | None statutory. End-of-service award accrues (see severance) |
| Annual leave | 21 days; 30 days after 5 years of continuous service (Labor Law art. 109) |
| Public holidays | About 10 (Eid al-Fitr 4, Eid al-Adha 4, Founding Day Feb 22, National Day Sep 23) (unconfirmed today) |
| Probation | Official BOE text read today shows 90 days (art. 53); Feb 2025 amendments reportedly allow up to 180 days (unconfirmed today) |
| Notice period | Official BOE text read today: at least 30 days for monthly-paid staff, 15 days otherwise (art. 75); Feb 2025 amendments reportedly set 60 days when the employer terminates and 30 days when the employee resigns (unconfirmed today) |
| Severance | End-of-service award: half a month's last wage per year for the first 5 years, one month per year after; prorated; reduced on resignation (Labor Law art. 84, 85) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly via the Wage Protection System (unconfirmed today) |
| Standard work week | 48 (36 in Ramadan for Muslim employees) (unconfirmed today) |
| Sample salary used | SAR 150,000 per year (SAR 12,500 per month; USD peg 3.75 SAR per USD, so about USD 40,000) |
| Employer cost on that salary | Saudi national (old law): 11.0% GOSI confirmed, 15.17% with end-of-service accrual (SANED not included); expatriate: 2.0% GOSI, 6.17% with end-of-service accrual |
Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (GOSI law text, SPA, BOE Labor Law); minimum wage note secondary (remote.com). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Saudi Arabia
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Saudi nationals and expatriates: two different GOSI bills
The same salary produces two very different bills. A Saudi national adds SAR 1,375 a month in employer GOSI (9% annuities plus 2% occupational hazards); an expatriate adds SAR 250 (2% only), and pays no employee annuities share.
| Line | Saudi national (SAR) | Expatriate (SAR) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | 150,000 | 150,000 |
| GOSI annuities, employer 9% | 13,500 | 0 |
| GOSI occupational hazards, employer 2% | 3,000 | 3,000 |
| GOSI total | 16,500 (11%) | 3,000 (2%) |
| SANED unemployment insurance | rate not yet confirmed | not applicable |
| End-of-service accrual, 0.5 month per year | 6,250 (4.17%) | 6,250 (4.17%) |
| Employer cost | 22,750 (15.17%) | 9,250 (6.17%) |
| Salary plus employer cost | 172,750 | 159,250 |
| EOR fee, $7,188 at 3.75 SAR per USD | 26,955 | 26,955 |
| Total for one year | 199,705 | 186,205 |
Math: 9% x 150,000 = 13,500; 2% x 150,000 = 3,000; end-of-service 12,500 x 0.5 = 6,250. Assumes the whole salary is contributory wage (below the SAR 45,000 monthly cap). Expatriate totals exclude the expat levy, iqama and work permit fees, which we did not check. Sources: GOSI Social Insurance Law (arts. 18, 19), BOE Labor Law (arts. 84, 85); Deel and Remote pricing pages. Checked Oct 2026.
Two open items for Saudi nationals. SANED unemployment insurance applies to them, but we have not confirmed its rate from GOSI. And the new Social Insurance Law in force since July 3, 2024 applies only to new entrants with no prior contribution periods, according to the Saudi Press Agency; their annuity rate schedule is not yet confirmed. Current contributors stay on the old rates, with retirement age rising gradually to a range of 58 to 65 for those under 50 with fewer than 20 years of contributions. For expatriates, the monthly expat levy and iqama and work permit fees come on top and are not in our totals.
The end-of-service award builds every year
Under Labor Law arts. 84 and 85, the employer owes half a month's last wage for each of the first 5 years and a full month for each year after that, prorated for part years and reduced when the employee resigns. At SAR 12,500 a month that is SAR 6,250 a year for the first 5 years and SAR 12,500 a year after. Ask whether your EOR invoices this monthly as an accrual or bills it when the job ends; it changes your cash flow and the deposit it may ask for.
Where vendor pages get Saudi Arabia wrong
Remote's Saudi Arabia country page showed employer GOSI as 0% for both Saudi nationals and expatriates when we checked on October 16, 2026. Papaya Global's Saudi page, last updated March 21, 2022, lists a 10% employee occupational hazard charge for non-Saudis, but occupational hazards are paid by the employer only. Use the GOSI law figures above when you compare quotes.
Choosing an EOR in Saudi Arabia
Our scores (scoring method) rank Multiplier first at 79 ($459 a month annual, $499 monthly) and Oyster second at 64 ($699), then Remote at 62 and Deel at 54, both $599. Ask every provider to quote the hire as a Saudi national or an expatriate, with GOSI, SANED, the end-of-service accrual and any expat levy shown as separate lines. Compare terms in our best EOR guide and the Remote, Oyster and Deel reviews.
Contractor, EOR or a Saudi company
A contractor in Saudi Arabia skips GOSI and the end-of-service award, but an exclusive full-time arrangement can be treated as employment, and that award is the exposure. A contractor of record takes on the classification risk; a contractor management platform only pays. At SAR 26,955 a year per person in EOR fees, compare the cost of your own entity, including its Nitaqat quota obligations, with the EOR versus entity guide.
Frequently asked questions
What are the GOSI rates in Saudi Arabia for Saudi nationals and expatriates?
How much does it cost to hire in Saudi Arabia through an EOR?
How is end-of-service pay calculated in Saudi Arabia?
What is the maximum GOSI contributory wage?
How much annual leave do employees get in Saudi Arabia?
Sources (12)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote country explorer: Saudi Arabia (shows 0% employer GOSI) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Papaya Global: Countrypedia: Saudi Arabia (updated Mar 21, 2022) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- beta.gosi.gov.sa/en/social-insurance (checked October 17, 2026)
- spa.gov.sa/en/N2132534 (checked October 17, 2026)
- laws.boe.gov.sa/BoeLaws/Laws/LawDetails/08381293-6388-48e2-8ad2-a9a... (checked October 17, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.