Employer of record in Vietnam: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Hiring in Vietnam through an employer of record adds about 14.0% to a VND 1,050,000,000 salary in mandatory employer contributions, most of it the 17.5% social insurance charge, while provider fees sit on top, listed from $199 per worker monthly with Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to $699 with Oyster (October 2026 price pages). The usual American error in Vietnam is ignoring the cap: Vietnam's 23.5% headline rate applies only up to VND 50.6 million of monthly salary from July 1, 2026 for every line except unemployment insurance, so a quote that applies the full rate to a VND 87.5 million salary shows VND 20,562,500 a month instead of VND 12,260,000.

An employer of record in Vietnam is a Vietnamese company that signs the labor contract with your hire, runs payroll, pays social, health and unemployment insurance and the union fee, and leaves the day-to-day work to you.

Employer cost on a sample salary
14.0%on top of gross pay
Currency
VND
On this page

What sets Vietnam apart for an employer

Four things in Vietnam catch out companies used to US payroll.

  • Contributions are capped by a government base salary. Social and health insurance and the 2% union fee are charged on salary up to 20 times the base salary (luong co so). That base rose from VND 2,340,000 to VND 2,530,000 on July 1, 2026 (Decree 161/2026), lifting the monthly cap from VND 46,800,000 to VND 50,600,000. Every raise in the base salary raises your cost on well-paid staff.
  • The minimum wage depends on the region. From January 1, 2026 (Decree 293/2025/ND-CP) it is VND 5,310,000 a month in Region I, 4,730,000 in Region II, 4,140,000 in Region III and 3,700,000 in Region IV. The 2025 province mergers changed which areas sit in each region, and we have not yet checked the new map.
  • Probation is set by job level, not by contract. The ILO EPLex 2026 profile lists up to 180 days for enterprise managers, 60 days for college-level roles, 30 days for intermediate-level roles and 6 working days for other jobs (Labor Code art. 25).
  • Notice follows the contract type. On permitted grounds an employer gives 45 days on an indefinite contract, 30 days on a 12 to 36 month contract and 3 working days under 12 months (art. 36). Severance is half a month's salary per year of service not covered by unemployment insurance (art. 46), and restructuring triggers a job-loss allowance of one month per year, at least two months (art. 47).

The Tet bonus, often called a 13th month, is customary but not required by law. Budget for it anyway if you want to hire in a competitive market. The Labor Code items above come from ILO EPLex, a secondary source; we have not yet read them on a Vietnamese government page. The same goes for the 12 days of annual leave (art. 113) and 11 public holidays (art. 112) shown in the summary box: both are not yet confirmed.

Employment costs and rules in Vietnam

Employing someone in Vietnam: the rules and costs
ItemVietnam
Employer social contributions23.5% of insurable salary (21.5% insurance plus 2% trade union fee); about 14.0% of salary at the sample because of the cap
What the employer paysSocial insurance 17.5% (retirement and survivorship 14%, sickness and maternity 3%, work accident and occupational disease 0.5%); health insurance 3%; unemployment insurance 1%; trade union fee 2% (component rates unconfirmed today)
Caps and ceilingsSocial and health insurance salary capped at 20x the base salary (luong co so): VND 2,340,000 to June 30 2026, VND 2,530,000 from July 1 2026 (Decree 161/2026), so cap VND 50,600,000 per month from July 1 2026 (was 46,800,000). Unemployment insurance capped at 20x the regional minimum wage (VND 106,200,000 in Region I, unconfirmed today). Floor: regional minimum wage
Employee contributions10.5% (social insurance 8%, health 1.5%, unemployment 1%) (unconfirmed today)
Minimum wageRegional minimum wages from Jan 1 2026 (Decree 293/2025/ND-CP): Region I VND 5,310,000 per month (25,500 per hour); Region II 4,730,000 (22,700); Region III 4,140,000 (20,000); Region IV 3,700,000 (17,800)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory; Tet (13th month) bonus is customary, at employer discretion
Annual leave12 working days, plus 1 day per 5 years of service (Labor Code 2019 art. 113, unconfirmed today)
Public holidays11 (Labor Code 2019 art. 112, unconfirmed today)
Probation180 days for enterprise managers; 60 days for college-level roles; 30 days for intermediate-level roles; 6 working days for other jobs (Labor Code art. 25, unconfirmed today)
Notice periodEmployer termination on permitted grounds: 45 days (indefinite), 30 days (12 to 36 month contracts), 3 working days (under 12 months) (Labor Code art. 36, unconfirmed today)
SeveranceSeverance allowance half a month's salary per year of service not covered by unemployment insurance (art. 46); job-loss allowance for restructuring one month per year, minimum two months (art. 47) (unconfirmed today)
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Standard work week48 maximum (Labor Code art. 105, unconfirmed today)
Sample salary usedVND 1,050,000,000 per year (VND 87,500,000 per month); exchange rate not confirmed today, chosen at roughly 26,250 VND per USD
Employer cost on that salary14.0%

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (finhay.com.vn for Decree 293/2025 minimum wages and Decree 161/2026 base salary); rates and Labor Code items unconfirmed today. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Vietnam

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The monthly bill for a VND 87.5 million salary

This is the cost of one employee at the sample salary in our data, roughly USD 40,000 a year at an assumed 26,250 VND per USD (a rate we have not confirmed).

One employee in Vietnam on VND 87,500,000 a month, after July 1, 2026
LineRate and basePer month (VND)Per year (VND)
Gross salary87,500,0001,050,000,000
Social insurance17.5% x 50,600,000 cap8,855,000106,260,000
Health insurance3% x 50,600,000 cap1,518,00018,216,000
Unemployment insurance1% x 87,500,000 (its separate cap is not confirmed)875,00010,500,000
Trade union fee2% x 50,600,000 cap1,012,00012,144,000
Employer contributions14.0% of gross12,260,000147,120,000
Salary plus contributions99,760,0001,197,120,000
EOR fee at $599kept in USD (no confirmed VND rate)$599$7,188

Math: 8,855,000 + 1,518,000 + 875,000 + 1,012,000 = 12,260,000 a month; x 12 = 147,120,000. Sources: our countries data (Decree 161/2026 base salary and Decree 293/2025 minimum wages via finhay.com.vn, secondary; component rates not yet checked on a Vietnamese government page), EOR fee from Deel and Remote pricing pages, checked Oct 2026.

Because the salary sits above the cap, the effective rate is 14.0%, not 23.5%. Before July 1, 2026 the lower VND 46.8 million cap made the same bill VND 11,405,000 a month. A hire earning under VND 50.6 million pays the full 23.5%. Unemployment insurance has its own, higher cap tied to the regional minimum wage, which we have not confirmed.

Add the EOR fee and any Tet bonus you promise. Run other salaries in the international employee cost calculator, or compare Vietnam with the other countries in the EOR cost index.

Contractors in Vietnam: when the label stops working

Paying a Vietnamese developer as a contractor skips the 14.0% to 23.5% insurance bill, which is why so many US companies start that way. The risk grows when the person works only for you, on your schedule, with your tools: that looks like employment, and the unpaid insurance and severance become the cost of fixing it. If you keep contractors, pay them through a contractor management platform with written scopes, or use a contractor of record that takes on the classification risk for a fee.

Using an EOR versus opening a Vietnamese company

At $599 a month, the EOR fee is $7,188 a year per person, so ten staff cost $71,880 a year in fees alone. A local entity removes that fee but adds registration, local accounting and a payroll you run yourself under the cap rules above. The EOR or own entity comparison walks through the break-even.

Choosing an EOR for Vietnam

Our scores, built from published terms with our scoring method, put Multiplier first (79) and Oyster second (64). Multiplier lists $459 a month on annual billing or $499 monthly and says it owns its entities; Oyster charges $699 and asks for a deposit of at least one month of service cost. Remote (62) and Deel (54) list $599. Read the Oyster review, the Remote review and the Deel review, or see the full ranking of the best employer of record services.

For Vietnam, ask each provider two things in writing: which cap it used in the quote (it changed on July 1, 2026), and whether its Vietnamese entity is owned or a partner.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an employer of record cost in Vietnam?
EOR fees run from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 2026. On top of salary, the employer pays 23.5% of insurable salary (social insurance 17.5%, health 3%, unemployment 1%, union fee 2%), capped at VND 50.6 million a month for most lines (component rates from secondary sources, not yet checked on a Vietnamese government page). On a VND 87.5 million salary that is VND 12,260,000 a month, or 14.0%.
What is the social insurance cap in Vietnam in 2026?
Social and health insurance are charged on salary up to 20 times the base salary. The base salary rose to VND 2,530,000 on July 1, 2026 under Decree 161/2026, so the cap is VND 50,600,000 a month (it was VND 46,800,000 before that date).
What is the minimum wage in Vietnam in 2026?
Decree 293/2025/ND-CP set regional minimum wages from January 1, 2026: VND 5,310,000 a month in Region I, 4,730,000 in Region II, 4,140,000 in Region III and 3,700,000 in Region IV.
Is a 13th month salary mandatory in Vietnam?
No. The Tet bonus is customary and paid at the employer's discretion; no statute requires it. Many candidates expect it, so agree the amount in the offer.
What severance does an employer pay in Vietnam?
Under the Labor Code as summarized by ILO EPLex (2026 profile), severance is half a month's salary per year of service not covered by unemployment insurance (art. 46), and a restructuring job-loss allowance is one month per year, minimum two months (art. 47). Notice is 45 days on an indefinite contract.
Sources (8)
  1. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. eplex.ilo.org/en/country-detail?code=VNM&yr=2026 (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site