Employer of record in Spain: costs and rules for 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Spanish social security costs the employer 32.15% on top of salary for an office worker on an open-ended contract, EUR 11,252.50 on a EUR 35,000 salary: 30.65% in Seguridad Social 2026 general rates plus a 1.50% office work-accident premium, with the 23.60% common contingencies charge the largest line. Published employer of record list prices add $199 (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (prices checked October 2026). The rule US companies trip over is probation: without a collective agreement rule, 6 months is allowed only for qualified technicians, and everyone else gets 2 months (3 in firms under 25 staff).
An employer of record in Spain is a Spanish company that hires your worker on a Spanish contract, registers them with the Seguridad Social, runs payroll in 12 or 14 payments and pays the employer contributions, while you set the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 32.15% (EUR 11,252.50)on top of gross pay
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
Spanish rules to plan around before you hire
Spain sets most of its employer costs by percentage of a monthly contribution base, and the base, the contract type and the payment schedule all change what you pay.
Fourteen payments, one base
Pay can run in 12 or 14 payments a year. The 2026 minimum wage itself is written as 14 x EUR 1,221 = EUR 17,094 (Real Decreto 126/2026). Because the contribution base includes prorated extra payments, the cost is the same either way: our EUR 35,000 example is 14 payments of EUR 2,500 and a monthly base of EUR 2,916.67.
Contract type
Unemployment is 5.50% on an open-ended contract and 6.70% on a fixed-term one, so a temporary contract costs 1.20 points more for the employer.
Probation limits (ET art. 14.1)
Unless a collective agreement says otherwise: 6 months for qualified technicians, 2 months for other staff (3 months in companies under 25 staff), and 1 month on temporary contracts of 6 months or less. Ask the EOR how many staff its Spanish entity has before you agree to a 3-month trial.
Caps on the base
The 2026 maximum base is EUR 5,101.20 a month, and the minimum runs from EUR 1,989.30 (group 1) to EUR 1,424.40 (groups 4 to 7). Pay above the maximum now attracts a solidarity contribution: 0.96%, 1.04% or 1.22% for the employer, depending on how far above the cap it is.
We have not yet confirmed Spain's dismissal severance, notice periods, annual leave, public holiday count or standard work week from the BOE consolidated text, which cut off after article 17 when we read it on October 16, 2026. Check those with Spain's labor ministry before you budget an exit.
Employment costs and rules in Spain
| Item | Spain |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 32.15% for an office employee on an open-ended contract (common contingencies 23.60 + unemployment 5.50 + FOGASA 0.20 + training 0.60 + MEI 0.75 + AT/EP office rate 1.50) |
| What the employer pays | Common contingencies 23.60% (employee 4.70%); Unemployment 5.50% open-ended contract (employee 1.55%), 6.70% fixed-term (employee 1.60%); FOGASA 0.20%; Vocational training 0.60% (employee 0.10%); MEI intergenerational equity 0.75% (employee 0.15%); AT/EP work accident premium per the tariff in DA 61 TRLGSS (RDL 3/2026), employer only, rate by activity (office rate not shown on the page); Overtime: 23.60% (12.00% force majeure); Solidarity contribution on pay above the max base: employer 0.96% / 1.04% / 1.22% by band |
| Caps and ceilings | 2026 max contribution base EUR 5,101.20/mo (EUR 170.04/day); min base EUR 1,989.30/mo for group 1 down to EUR 1,424.40 for groups 4 to 7. Base includes prorated extra payments. Solidarity contribution 2026 on monthly pay above the max base: 5,101.21 to 5,611.32 total 1.15% (0.96 employer); 5,611.33 to 7,651.80 total 1.25% (1.04); above 7,651.80 total 1.46% (1.22) |
| Employee contributions | 6.50% open-ended (4.70 + 1.55 + 0.10 + 0.15); 6.55% fixed-term |
| Minimum wage | EUR 1,221 per month in 14 payments (EUR 40.70/day; annual floor EUR 17,094), effects Jan 1 to Dec 31, 2026 (Real Decreto 126/2026, BOE Feb 19, 2026) |
| Mandatory bonuses | The minimum wage is set in 14 payments (RD 126/2026: 14 x EUR 1,221 = EUR 17,094 a year), reflecting the two extra payments of ET art. 31; the article text itself was not read today |
| Probation | Without a collective agreement rule: 6 months for qualified technicians, 2 months for others (3 months in firms under 25 staff), 1 month on temporary contracts of 6 months or less (ET art. 14.1) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly (12 or 14 payments) |
| Sample salary used | EUR 35,000 per year in 14 payments of EUR 2,500 (monthly base with prorated extras EUR 2,916.67) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 32.15% (EUR 11,252.50) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (Seguridad Social, BOE); solidarity bands and MEI split from Asepeyo, a Social Security collaborating mutual (secondary). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Spain
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Spain cost example: EUR 35,000 in 14 payments
The monthly base of EUR 2,916.67 is well under the EUR 5,101.20 cap, so every rate applies to the full salary.
| Contribution | Rate x EUR 35,000 | EUR per year |
|---|---|---|
| Common contingencies | 23.60% | 8,260.00 |
| Unemployment (open-ended contract) | 5.50% | 1,925.00 |
| FOGASA wage guarantee fund | 0.20% | 70.00 |
| Vocational training | 0.60% | 210.00 |
| MEI intergenerational equity | 0.75% | 262.50 |
| AT/EP work accident premium, office rate | 1.50% | 525.00 |
| Employer contributions | 32.15% | 11,252.50 |
| Salary plus contributions | 35,000 + 11,252.50 | 46,252.50 |
| EOR fee | $599 x 12 | USD 7,188 |
Source: Seguridad Social 2026 contribution rates and bases (seg-social.es), MEI split from the Asepeyo 2026 table, read Oct 16, 2026; the fee line uses the $599 Deel and Remote list price as of Oct 16, 2026. At the ECB reference rate for October 16, 2026 (USD 1.1253 per EUR), USD 7,188 is EUR 6,387.63.
The confirmed Seguridad Social rates add up to 30.65% (EUR 10,727.50). The AT/EP work accident premium is set by activity in the tariff of DA 61 TRLGSS; 1.50% is the rate we use for office work, but the Seguridad Social page we read did not show the office rate, so treat that line as an estimate; other activities pay more or less. A fixed-term contract adds 1.20% x 35,000 = EUR 420, for EUR 11,672.50 or 33.35%.
The employee pays 6.50% on an open-ended contract (6.55% fixed-term), withheld from the EUR 35,000. To test other salaries, use the international hiring cost calculator.
Hiring in Spain with an EOR or your own company
The $599 fee is USD 7,188 a year per person, a fixed charge on top of the EUR 46,252.50 employment cost. Opening a Spanish company removes it but puts Seguridad Social registration, monthly contributions and collective agreement checks on you. We have not priced Spanish company setup, so weigh EOR against an entity on your own headcount plan.
Self-employed contractors in Spain
Paying a Spanish freelancer avoids the 32.15%, but a contractor who works only for you, on your schedule, can be treated as an employee, and the contributions for the whole period become the exposure. Contractor management software suits real freelancers. A contractor of record takes on the classification work for $325 a month at Remote or $400 at Multiplier on annual billing (checked October 2026).
Choosing a Spain EOR
Multiplier tops our EOR scores at 79/100, with Core at $459 a month billed annually or $499 monthly; it says about 11% of countries carry adjusted pricing but does not name them, so ask for a Spain quote in writing. Oyster scores 64/100 at a flat $699, with no setup or termination fees and a deposit of at least one month of total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount).
Because Spain's caps and solidarity bands changed for 2026, check that any provider quote uses the EUR 5,101.20 maximum base and the EUR 1,221 minimum wage; pages written before 2026 still show EUR 1,184. Contract terms and complaints for each provider are in the Deel review, Remote review and Oyster review, and all scores are on the best EOR services page. Nearby options: EOR in Portugal and France.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an employee cost in Spain in 2026?
Does Spain require 14 salary payments?
What is the maximum contribution base in Spain for 2026?
How long can a probation period be in Spain?
What is Spain's minimum wage in 2026?
Does a fixed-term contract cost more in Spain?
Sources (13)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- seg-social.es/wps/portal/wss/internet/Trabajadores/CotizacionRecaud... (checked October 16, 2026)
- boe.es/diario_boe/txt.php?id=BOE-A-2026-3815 (checked October 16, 2026)
- boe.es/buscar/act.php?id=BOE-A-2015-11430 (checked October 16, 2026)
- asepeyo.es/wp-content/uploads/Bases-tipos-cotizacion-2026-ES.pdf (checked October 16, 2026)
- boe.es/buscar/act.php?id=BOE-A-2026-2548 (checked October 16, 2026)
- ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchan... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.