Employer of record in Lithuania: what a hire costs in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Hire in Lithuania on a permanent contract and your statutory add-on is just 1.77% of gross salary in 2026, led by Sodra's 1.31% unemployment insurance line; the EOR fee on top runs from $199 monthly at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to $699 at Oyster (checked October 2026). The thing US companies misjudge is the gross salary itself: the worker pays 19.5% social insurance out of gross pay before income tax, so an offer copied from a country where the employer carries those costs leaves your hire with far less take-home pay than expected.
An employer of record in Lithuania is a company registered in Lithuania that hires your worker on a Lithuanian employment contract, withholds and pays Sodra contributions and income tax, and pays the small employer share, while you set the tasks.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 1.77%on top of gross pay
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
Why Lithuania's payroll looks upside down
Nearly all social insurance sits on the worker's side, so the employer columns of Sodra's rate table for hired staff are short:
- Unemployment insurance: 1.31% for an open-ended contract, 2.03% for a fixed-term one.
- Work accidents and occupational diseases: 0.14% in risk group I, 0.49% in group II (up from 0.43%), 0.7% in group III and 1.4% in group IV.
- Guarantee fund: 0.16%.
- Long-term employment benefits fund: 0.16%, calculated on at least the minimum wage.
The employee pays 19.5%: 8.72% pension, 1.99% sickness, 1.81% maternity and 6.98% health, plus 3% if they opt into pension accumulation.
The fixed-term point matters for project hires. A 12-month fixed contract costs 2.49% instead of 1.77%. On EUR 35,700 that is EUR 888.93 a year instead of EUR 631.89.
Eurostat records a EUR 115 rise in the monthly minimum wage for 2026, to EUR 1,153. Our data also lists a 40-hour full-time week and no statutory 13th salary, neither yet matched to the Labor Code.
Still open on our side: the 2026 Sodra ceiling and the Labor Code's terms for probation, notice, severance, pay dates and vacation, none of which we have matched to an official text yet. Have the EOR state its figures in the contract.
Employment costs and rules in Lithuania
| Item | Lithuania |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 1.77% (indefinite contract, accident group I); 2.49% for fixed-term contracts |
| What the employer pays | Unemployment insurance 1.31% (indefinite) or 2.03% (fixed-term); work accidents and occupational diseases 0.14% (group I), 0.49% (group II, up from 0.43%), 0.7% (group III), 1.4% (group IV); guarantee fund 0.16%; long-term employment benefits fund 0.16% (on at least the minimum wage) |
| Caps and ceilings | Annual contribution ceiling not shown on the Sodra rate page; 2026 ceiling unconfirmed today |
| Employee contributions | 19.5% (pension 8.72%, sickness 1.99%, maternity 1.81%, health 6.98%), plus 3% optional pension accumulation, plus income tax |
| Minimum wage | EUR 1,153 per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 1,038) (Eurostat earn_mw_cur) |
| Annual leave | 20 working days on a 5-day week (unconfirmed today) |
| Notice period | 1 month (2 weeks if employed under 1 year), longer for protected groups (unconfirmed today) |
| Severance | 2 months' average pay if employed over 1 year, half a month if under 1 year, plus long-term employment fund benefits paid by Sodra (unconfirmed today) |
| Payroll frequency | At least twice a month unless the employee asks for monthly pay (unconfirmed today) |
| Sample salary used | EUR 35,700 per year (USD 40,000 at 1.1208 USD per EUR, ECB Oct 15 2026) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 1.77% |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Lithuania
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
EUR 35,700 in Lithuania: the employer's yearly bill
Our benchmark is USD 40,000 turned into euros at 1.1208 (ECB, October 15, 2026): EUR 35,700, or EUR 2,975 per payslip. The table assumes a permanent contract in accident group I.
| Item | Rate | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | EUR 35,700.00 | |
| Unemployment insurance | 1.31% | EUR 467.67 |
| Accident insurance, group I | 0.14% | EUR 49.98 |
| Guarantee fund | 0.16% | EUR 57.12 |
| Long-term employment benefits fund | 0.16% | EUR 57.12 |
| Employer cost before EOR fee | 1.77% | EUR 36,331.89 |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | EUR 6,413.28 | |
| All-in | EUR 42,745.17 |
Rates from Sodra. Fee: $599 list price at Deel and Remote (Oct 16, 2026) at 1.1208 USD per EUR. Checked Oct 2026.
Sodra's share: 1.77% of 35,700, EUR 631.89. Twelve fees of $599 make $7,188, worth EUR 6,413.28 at 1.1208. Monthly, you pay EUR 3,562.10 in all, EUR 534.44 of it to the provider.
Look at the proportions: here the provider's fee is about ten times the employer contributions. Moving from $599 to Pebl's or Playroll's $399 saves $2,400 a year (EUR 2,141.33 at 1.1208), more than three times the EUR 631.89 Sodra bill. Out of the employee's EUR 35,700, Sodra withholds EUR 6,961.50 (19.5%) before income tax.
Fees decide the EOR choice in Lithuania
With fees doing the damage, rank providers on price and terms. Our table has Multiplier on 79 and Oyster on 64 out of 100, Remote 62, Playroll 60, Pebl 57, Deel 54 (our scoring method). Multiplier's $499 monthly list drops to $459 if you pay a year ahead. Oyster costs $699, but its terms set the deposit (one month of total service cost as a floor) and bills nothing for setup or exit.
Read the term too. A Remote contract on default terms lasts 12 months and renews automatically unless you give notice; Pebl's employee term model ties each worker to 12 months. More in the EOR ranking, the Remote review, the Deel review, the Oyster review and the fee comparison.
Lithuanian freelancers versus employees
With 1.77% at stake on the employer side, a contractor setup mostly saves the provider fee, not tax. What is exposed is the 19.5% Sodra share and income tax that should have been withheld if a full-time, supervised role turns out to be employment. For a real independent contractor, look at contractor management platforms or a contractor of record.
A Lithuanian UAB or an EOR
Because the provider fee is nearly all of your overhead, the entity question is simple arithmetic: when do $7,188-a-year fees outgrow a local company plus a payroll bureau? Five hires at $599 already run $35,940 a year. Our EOR versus entity guide walks through the comparison.
Frequently asked questions
What does a Lithuanian employer pay Sodra in 2026?
What does the employee pay to Sodra?
What is Lithuania's minimum wage in 2026?
Is an EOR worth it for one hire in Lithuania?
Do fixed-term contracts cost more in Lithuania?
Sources (11)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rate for Oct 15, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster terms of service (EOR deposit) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- sodra.lt/imoku-tarifai/imoku-tarifai-taikomi-uz-samdomus-darbuotojus (checked October 16, 2026)
- ec.europa.eu/eurostat/api/dissemination/statistics/1.0/data/earn_mw... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.