Employer of record in Denmark: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

The part of a Danish employee's cost we can price is about DKK 14,000 to 17,000 a year in fixed employer contributions, including the employer share of ATP, or 5.4% to 6.6% of a DKK 258,000 salary, according to Deloitte's Denmark Highlights 2026; a required occupational injury policy is extra, and so is the EOR service fee: $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (October 2026). The mistake US companies make is budgeting a payroll tax percentage: Danish charges are mostly flat amounts, and the cost that moves with salary is the labor-market pension that collective agreements and contracts often set at 8% to 12% from the employer.

An employer of record in Denmark is a Danish company that employs your hire, pays the fixed employer contributions, insures them against occupational injury and runs payroll, while you manage the work.

Currency
DKK
On this page

Why Danish payroll does not look like US payroll

There is no percentage-based employer social security tax in Denmark. The employee pays an 8% labor-market contribution (AM-bidrag) plus a fixed DKK 99 a month ATP share. The employer's side is a set of fixed levies, so its percentage falls as pay rises: DKK 14,000 to 17,000 is 5.4% to 6.6% of DKK 258,000 but only 2.7% to 3.3% of DKK 516,000.

  • No statutory minimum wage. Pay floors come from collective agreements.
  • Probation: up to 3 months for salaried employees if agreed. During it the employer gives 14 days' notice and the employee none.
  • Notice for salaried staff (Salaried Employees Act): 1 month in the first 6 months, 3 months up to 3 years, 4 months up to 6 years, 5 months up to 9 years, then 6 months. The employee gives 1 month. Notice must be in writing.
  • Payroll is monthly.

We have not yet confirmed Denmark's holiday allowance, annual leave, public holidays, standard hours or severance rules from an official source. Ask your EOR for the terms it applies and check them with the Danish Working Environment Authority or Business in Denmark.

Employment costs and rules in Denmark

Employing someone in Denmark: the rules and costs
ItemDenmark
Employer social contributionsAbout DKK 14,000 to 17,000 per employee per year in employer social charges (ATP and other fixed levies), about 5% to 7% at the sample salary; no percentage-based employer social security tax
What the employer paysEmployer fixed contributions (ATP employer share, AER, AES occupational injury, maternity fund, and others): about DKK 14,000 to 17,000 per year per full-time employee in total (secondary; item amounts not confirmed); Occupational injury insurance (private policy) required; Labor-market pension (often 8% to 12% employer) is set by collective agreement or contract, not statute
Caps and ceilingsCharges are mostly fixed amounts, not percentages, so there is no salary cap concept
Employee contributions8% labor-market contribution (AM-bidrag, a tax on gross pay) plus fixed ATP of DKK 99/mo (secondary)
Minimum wageNo statutory minimum wage; collective agreements set pay floors
ProbationUp to 3 months if agreed (salaried employees, Salaried Employees Act); employer notice during probation 14 days, no notice required from the employee
Notice periodSalaried employees: employer 1 month (0-6 months of service), 3 months (6 months-3 years), 4 months (3-6 years), 5 months (6-9 years), 6 months (9+ years); employee 1 month. Contract or collective agreement may differ; termination must be in writing
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedDKK 258,000 per year, about USD 40,000 at an assumed 6.45 DKK/USD (rate not fetched); a typical Danish professional salary is much higher
Employer cost on that salary5.4% to 6.6% (DKK 14,000 to 17,000); 6.4% to 7.6% with the 1% holiday supplement (unconfirmed)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte Denmark Highlights 2026, Jan 2026). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Denmark

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

What hiring one person in Denmark costs

DKK 258,000 is about USD 40,000 at an assumed 6.45 kroner per dollar, a rate we did not confirm. That is well under typical Danish professional pay, which is why the fixed charges look large here.

Denmark: yearly employer cost on DKK 258,000 through an EOR
LinePer year
Gross salaryDKK 258,000
Fixed employer contributions (ATP employer share, AER, AES, maternity fund and others)DKK 14,000 to 17,000
Share of salary5.4% to 6.6%
Salary plus fixed contributions (partial: insurance and pension not included)DKK 272,000 to 275,000
Occupational injury insurance (private policy)Insurer-priced
Labor-market pension, if the contract or agreement requires itSet by agreement
EOR fee at $599 a month (USD)$7,188

Source: Deloitte Denmark Highlights 2026 (Jan 2026), a secondary source; item amounts not confirmed on atp.dk or virk.dk. Fee: the $599 Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026, kept in USD because we did not confirm a krone rate. Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic: 258,000 + 14,000 = 272,000 and 258,000 + 17,000 = 275,000. The fee is $599 x 12 = $7,188 ($2,388 at $199, $4,788 at $399, $8,388 at $699). A pension of 8% to 12%, if your offer includes one, adds DKK 20,640 to 30,960 on this salary, more than the statutory charges. Price other pay levels with the international cost calculator.

Working through notice in Denmark

Notice is the Danish exit cost to plan for. Someone hired through an EOR and let go after 4 years is owed 4 months' notice. Multiplier says it sets its deposit from employment costs, fees and notice periods, so long Danish notice can raise the amount you put down. Ask each provider how it calculates the deposit and when it is returned.

A Danish ApS or an EOR

Your own Danish company brings business registration, accounts for the fixed levies, an occupational injury policy and, in many sectors, a collective agreement to follow. For one or two hires the EOR fee is usually the smaller overhead. Our EOR versus own entity guide shows how to compare them.

Freelancers in Denmark

Because Danish employer charges are low, a contractor setup saves less than in most of Europe. The real differences are notice, holiday and pension rights. If a contractor works like an employee, those rights can be claimed back. Pay independent contractors through a contractor management platform, or use a contractor of record.

Choosing an EOR for Denmark

Denmark rewards reading the contract. Remote's standard terms run 12 months and renew automatically, and Deel's promotional order forms need two years. Ask each provider which collective agreement it will follow and whether its pension offer matches what Danish candidates expect. Our published scores rank Multiplier first (79/100) and Oyster second (64/100); see how scores are set.

Use the EOR ranking for the side-by-side, the Remote, Deel and Oyster reviews for contract details, and the cost index for Nordic comparisons.

Frequently asked questions

What does it cost to hire employees in Denmark through an EOR?
EOR service fees run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (October 2026). Fixed employer contributions are about DKK 14,000 to 17,000 a year per full-time employee, according to Deloitte's Denmark Highlights 2026. Occupational injury insurance and any contractual pension come on top.
Does Denmark have employer social security tax?
Not as a percentage of pay. Employers pay fixed contributions such as the employer share of ATP, totaling about DKK 14,000 to 17,000 a year per full-time employee (Deloitte, 2026). Employees pay the 8% labor-market contribution.
What is the minimum wage in Denmark?
Denmark has no statutory minimum wage. Collective agreements set pay floors by sector.
What notice does a Danish employer give a salaried employee?
Under the Salaried Employees Act, as described by Business in Denmark (updated May 19, 2026): 1 month in the first 6 months, 3 months up to 3 years, 4 months up to 6 years, 5 months up to 9 years and 6 months after that. The employee gives 1 month.
How long is probation in Denmark?
Up to 3 months for salaried employees, if agreed. During probation the employer must give 14 days' notice and the employee can leave without notice.
Sources (10)
  1. Business in Denmark (Danish Business Authority): Resignation and termination (checked Oct 16, 2026 (page updated May 19, 2026))
  2. Life in Denmark: Resignation and termination (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Deloitte: Denmark Highlights 2026 (secondary, Jan 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site