Employer of record in Romania: costs and rules for 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Romania's employer-side payroll charge is the work insurance contribution (CAM) under art. 220^3 of the Fiscal Code, but we have not yet confirmed its 2026 rate on an official page, so a Romanian hire should be priced from a written EOR quote; provider fees are clearer: list prices run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) per employee per month (October 2026). The rule US employers trip over is the mid-year pay floor: the gross minimum wage stayed at RON 4,050 a month through June 30, 2026 and rose to RON 4,325 on July 1, according to Eurostat.
An employer of record in Romania is a Romanian company that hires your worker on its own payroll, files the monthly ANAF contribution declaration and pays the employer charges, while you manage the day-to-day work.
- Currency
- RON
On this page
How Romania differs from hiring at home
ANAF's 2026 instructions for Form 112, the monthly declaration of payroll contributions, cite three charges on salaries: CAM (Fiscal Code art. 220^3 para. 1), the pension contribution CAS (arts. 138 and 146) and the health contribution CASS (arts. 156 and 168). The instructions do not print the rates, and the Ministry of Finance site blocks automated reading, so we show no percentages yet.
- Two minimum wages in one year: RON 4,050 a month until June 30, 2026, then RON 4,325, a 6.8% rise (Eurostat). Anyone hired at the old floor needed a raise in July.
- No statutory bonus: Romania has no mandatory 13th salary.
- Monthly payroll on a standard 40-hour week.
We have not yet confirmed from an official source the contribution rates, annual leave, probation, notice period or severance rules for Romania. Ask your EOR to put each figure in the quote and contract, and check them with the Labor Inspectorate (Inspecția Muncii) and ANAF.
Employment costs and rules in Romania
| Item | Romania |
|---|---|
| What the employer pays | Work insurance contribution (CAM) 2.25% of gross pay (Fiscal Code, unconfirmed today). Pension (CAS) and health (CASS) are withheld from the employee |
| Caps and ceilings | No cap on employee CAS or CASS for salary income (unconfirmed today) |
| Employee contributions | 35% (CAS pension 25%, CASS health 10%) plus 10% income tax (unconfirmed today) |
| Minimum wage | RON 4,050 per month to June 30 2026; RON 4,325 per month from July 1 2026 (Eurostat earn_mw_cur) |
| Mandatory bonuses | None statutory |
| Probation | 90 calendar days; 120 days for management roles (unconfirmed today) |
| Notice period | At least 20 working days for employer dismissal on non-fault grounds (unconfirmed today) |
| Severance | No statutory severance for individual dismissal; collective agreements may require it (unconfirmed today) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly |
| Standard work week | 40 |
| Sample salary used | RON 189,500 per year (RON 15,792 per month; about USD 40,000: USD 40,000 is RON 189,496 at 4.7374 RON per USD, ECB cross rate Oct 16 2026: RON 5.3310 and USD 1.1253 per EUR) |
Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (Eurostat, ECB, ANAF form) for minimum wage, exchange rate and legal references; contribution rates unconfirmed. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Romania
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Budgeting a RON 189,500 hire
USD 40,000 converts to RON 189,496 at the ECB cross rate of 4.7374; we round it to RON 189,500 a year, which is RON 15,791.67 a month, about 3.7 times the July 2026 minimum wage.
| Line | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | RON 15,791.67 | RON 189,500.00 |
| Employer work insurance contribution (CAM) | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | RON 2,837.70 | RON 34,052.43 |
| Known cost before CAM | RON 18,629.37 | RON 223,552.43 |
Source: salary is USD 40,000 at 4.7374 RON per USD (RON 189,496, rounded), the ECB cross rate for Oct 16, 2026 (RON 5.3310 and USD 1.1253 per EUR). Fee: $599, the Deel and Remote list price read Oct 16, 2026, converted as for salary. CAM legal basis: Fiscal Code art. 220^3, cited in ANAF Form 112 instructions for 2026. Checked Oct 2026.
The fee math: $599 x 12 = $7,188, and $7,188 x 4.7374 = RON 34,052.43. At Payoneer Workforce Management's $199 the fee is RON 11,312.91 a year, at Pebl's or Playroll's $399 RON 22,682.67, at Oyster's $699 it is RON 39,737.31. Add the CAM line from your EOR's quote once you have it, and ask whether the quote passes it through at cost.
Watch how the offer is framed. Romanian salaries are normally quoted gross, and the worker's own contributions come out of that gross. A candidate comparing your offer with a local one will look at net pay. Test other salary levels in the international cost calculator.
Romanian contractors: where the risk sits
Paying a Romanian freelancer by invoice avoids payroll entirely, which is why it is common for software work. The risk comes when the arrangement looks like a job: one client, fixed hours, your tools and managers. If authorities treat it as employment, the unpaid contributions fall due on the full pay. Use a contractor management platform for real project work, or a contractor of record that takes on the classification question.
When your own Romanian company makes sense
At $599 each, five EOR hires cost $35,940 a year in fees. A local company replaces that with registration, an accountant to file Form 112 every month and someone to track rate changes. Our EOR versus own entity guide walks through the break-even.
Picking an EOR for Romania
Multiplier holds the top spot on our scoreboard at 79, and Oyster is runner-up at 64 (method). In Romania the cost difference between them is mostly fee: Multiplier lists $499 a month, or $459 if you pay annually, and says it operates through its own legal entities in every country; Oyster charges a flat $699 and returns its deposit, at least one month of total service cost, about 60 days after the end date. Deel's promotional order forms carry a two-year term, so read them before you accept a discount.
Go further with the ranked EOR list or the individual write-ups on Deel, Remote and Oyster. The country cost index shows where Romania sits.
Frequently asked questions
What will an employer of record in Romania cost each month?
What is Romania's minimum wage in 2026?
Which contributions does a Romanian employer declare?
Does Romania require a 13th month salary?
What notice does an EOR have to give a Romanian employee?
Sources (10)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ANAF: Form 112 instructions (OPANAF 605/2026) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Eurostat: Monthly minimum wages (earn_mw_cur) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
- European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rate for Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.