China EOR: what an employer of record costs in China

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

For a Shanghai hire paid CNY 267,449 a year, the USD 40,000 equivalent, employer social insurance and housing fund add 32.7% to salary at Shanghai's 2026 rates (medical and work injury from official notices, pension and unemployment from secondary summaries), and pension at 16% is the heaviest single line. Employer of record providers charge from $199 monthly (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) up to $699 (Oyster) on top, per pricing pages checked October 16, 2026. Chinese law gives you no at-will exit: economic compensation is one month's wages for every full year worked (Labor Contract Law art. 47), and a no-fault dismissal also needs 30 days' written notice or an extra month's pay (art. 40).

An employer of record in China is a Chinese company that signs the labor contract with your hire, enrolls them in the city's social insurance and housing fund, and runs payroll, while your team directs the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
Shanghai 32.7% (CNY 87,456 =…on top of gross pay
Currency
CNY
On this page

China payroll is set city by city

There is no single national rate sheet. Each city sets its own contribution base, and the employer pays into two systems: social insurance (pension, medical with maternity, unemployment, work injury) and the housing provident fund, which the employee matches.

  • Shanghai 2026: pension 16%, medical including maternity 9% (8.5% basic plus 0.5% local supplementary, March 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027), unemployment 0.5%, work injury 0.2% to 1.9% across eight industry classes (notice Hu Ren She Gui [2026] No. 2), housing fund 5%, 6% or 7%.
  • Beijing: about 26.5% social insurance plus a 5% to 12% housing fund. Beijing's 9.8% medical figure is the July 2024 to June 2025 rate and was not reconfirmed for 2026.
  • Ceilings: Beijing's monthly base runs from CNY 7,270 to CNY 36,348 from July 2026 (Beijing Human Resources and Social Security Bureau, August 21, 2026). Shanghai's ceiling is reported at CNY 37,731 from July 1, 2026 (secondary sources). Pay above the ceiling attracts no further contributions.
  • Bonuses: no statutory 13th month, though many contracts include one.

The Shanghai medical and work-injury rates come from official notices. The 16% pension and 0.5% unemployment rates rest on secondary summaries (Eastmoney, Kaizen CPA), so ask your EOR for its own rate sheet.

Employment costs and rules in China

Employing someone in China: the rules and costs
ItemChina
Employer social contributionsShanghai about 25.7% social insurance (lowest work-injury class) + 5% to 7% housing fund = about 30.7% to 32.7%; Beijing about 26.5% + 5% to 12% housing fund = about 31.5% to 38.5%
What the employer paysShanghai: pension 16%; medical incl. maternity 9% (8.5% basic + 0.5% local supplementary, Mar 1, 2026 to Feb 28, 2027); unemployment 0.5%; work injury 0.2% to 1.9% by 8 industry classes (Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2030, with floating adjustments); housing fund 5%, 6% or 7% (employee matches). Beijing: pension 16%; medical incl. maternity 9.8% (Jul 2024 to Jun 2025 figure); unemployment 0.5%; work injury 0.2% to 1.9%; housing fund 5% to 12%
Caps and ceilingsShanghai from Jul 1, 2026: social insurance base ceiling CNY 37,731, floor CNY 7,546/mo; housing fund base ceiling CNY 37,731, floor CNY 2,740. Beijing from Jul 2026: ceiling CNY 36,348, floor CNY 7,270/mo for pension, unemployment, work injury and medical (2025 ceiling CNY 35,811)
Employee contributionsAbout 10.5% (pension 8%, medical 2%, unemployment 0.5%; Beijing medical 2% + CNY 3) plus matching housing fund 5% to 12%
Minimum wageShanghai CNY 2,740/mo and CNY 25/hour from Jul 1, 2025 (Hu Ren She Gui [2025] No. 10; excludes employee social insurance and housing fund), still current per the MOHRSS table reported Oct 12, 2026; Beijing CNY 2,540/mo and CNY 27.7/hour (same report, effective date not shown)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory (13th month common by contract)
Probation1 month (contract 3 months to under 1 year), 2 months (1 to under 3 years), 6 months (3+ years fixed term or open-ended) (Labor Contract Law art. 19)
Notice period30 days' written notice or 1 extra month's wages in lieu for no-fault dismissals (Labor Contract Law art. 40)
Severance1 month's wages per full year of service (Labor Contract Law art. 47); if monthly pay exceeds 3x the local average monthly wage, the base is capped at 3x and service at 12 years
Sample salary usedCNY 267,449 a year (CNY 22,287/mo, under both ceilings) = USD 40,000 at ECB cross rate (CNY 7.5240 per EUR, Oct 16, 2026)
Employer cost on that salaryShanghai 32.7% (CNY 87,456 = 16 + 9 + 0.5 + 0.2 + 7% housing fund); Beijing 31.5% (CNY 84,246) with 5% housing fund or 38.5% (CNY 102,968) with 12%

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (Shanghai medical insurance notice Hu Yi Bao Gui [2026] No. 2; Shanghai work-injury and minimum wage notices; Beijing base notice Aug 21, 2026; Labor Contract Law text on the Jiangsu tax bureau site); secondary (Eastmoney, Kaizen CPA and a government account post on The Paper for Shanghai 2026 bases and pension/unemployment rates; Forvis Mazars for Beijing rates; CNA for current minimum wages). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in China

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

One Shanghai employee, line by line

Shanghai: employer cost on CNY 267,449 a year through an EOR
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salaryCNY 22,287.42CNY 267,449.00
Pension, 16%CNY 3,565.99CNY 42,791.84
Medical incl. maternity, 9%CNY 2,005.87CNY 24,070.41
Unemployment, 0.5%CNY 111.44CNY 1,337.25
Work injury, 0.2% (class 1)CNY 44.57CNY 534.90
Housing fund, 7%CNY 1,560.12CNY 18,721.43
Employer contributions (32.7%)CNY 7,287.99CNY 87,455.83
EOR fee at $599CNY 4,005.04CNY 48,060.53
All-in costCNY 33,580.45CNY 402,965.36

Medical and work-injury lines: Shanghai's 2026 notices. Pension and unemployment: secondary summaries. Fee: $599 (Deel, Remote) at CNY 6.6862 to the dollar, from ECB cross rates of October 16. Checked Oct 2026.

Where the yuan figure comes from: the ECB quoted CNY 7.5240 and USD 1.1253 per euro on October 16, 2026, so a dollar bought CNY 6.6862 and USD 40,000 became CNY 267,449. Adding the rates gives 16 + 9 + 0.5 + 0.2 + 7 = 32.7 points, or CNY 87,455.83 a year. Monthly pay of CNY 22,287 is below both cities' ceilings, so nothing is capped. Move the same person to Beijing and the share is 31.5% (CNY 84,246) at a 5% housing fund, or 38.5% (CNY 102,968) at 12%.

Setting up your own company in China instead

A foreign-owned company in China must open social insurance and housing fund accounts in every city where it employs people, then track each city's rates and bases as they change (Beijing and Shanghai reset theirs in July 2026). That is why the EOR fee buys more here than in a one-rate country. Five Shanghai staff through an EOR at $599 cost $35,940 a year in fees. Our EOR versus entity guide helps you compare that with setting up locally.

Paying a Chinese contractor

Paying a Chinese individual as a service provider avoids the 32.7%, but if authorities or the worker treat the relationship as employment, you face the unpaid social insurance and housing fund along with the Labor Contract Law's notice and severance rules. For freelancers who really are independent, see contractor management software; a contractor of record takes on the classification question for a fee.

Which EOR to use for a China hire

China EOR shortlist by HRPricing score
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthEntity model
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Own legal entities in every country (claim)
Oyster64/100$699Owned entities and partners
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)100% owned entities in 90+ countries (claim)
Deel54/100$599Wholly owned entities in 130+ of 150+ countries (claim)

Score date October 17, 2026. Entity claims are each provider's own wording, read October 16, 2026; none names its Chinese entity on the pricing page.

In China, ask whether the provider employs through its own Chinese company or a local partner, and whether it is registered in your hire's city, since rates follow the city. Partner setups can complicate disputes: in July 2025 (more than a year ago) an Oyster reviewer on Trustpilot described final pay going unpaid while Oyster and its local partner blamed each other. See the full EOR ranking, how the scores are set, and the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews; the EOR cost index places China among other countries.

Frequently asked questions

How much is a China EOR per employee per month?
Published fees ran from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026. Shanghai employer contributions add 32.7% of pay. A CNY 267,449 salary plus a $599 monthly fee comes to CNY 402,965.36 over a year.
What is the housing provident fund in China?
It is a savings fund the employer pays into and the employee matches. In Shanghai the employer rate is 5%, 6% or 7%; in Beijing it runs 5% to 12%. Shanghai's housing fund base floor is reported at CNY 2,740 a month (secondary sources).
How much severance does China require?
Under the Labor Contract Law (art. 47), one month's wages per full year of service. If monthly pay exceeds three times the local average monthly wage, the base is capped at three times that average and service at 12 years.
How long can probation last in China?
Labor Contract Law art. 19 sets it by contract length: 1 month for contracts of 3 months to under 1 year, 2 months for 1 to under 3 years, and 6 months for 3 years or more or open-ended contracts.
What is the minimum wage in Shanghai and Beijing?
Shanghai: CNY 2,740 a month and CNY 25 an hour from July 1, 2025 (Hu Ren She Gui [2025] No. 10), still current per the MOHRSS table reported October 12, 2026. Beijing: CNY 2,540 a month and CNY 27.7 an hour.
Sources (21)
  1. Shanghai Municipal Government: Shanghai medical insurance rate notice (Hu Yi Bao Gui [2026] No. 2) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. State Taxation Administration, Jiangsu: Labor Contract Law text (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Eastmoney: Shanghai 2026 social insurance bases (secondary) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. CNA: Mainland minimum wage table report (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rates for Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  13. Trustpilot: Oyster reviews (review of Jul 28, 2025, checked Oct 16, 2026)
  14. rsj.beijing.gov.cn/xxgk/2024zcwj/202608/t20260821_4831461.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  15. rsj.beijing.gov.cn/xxgk/2024zcjd/202608/t20260821_4831476.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  16. rsj.sh.gov.cn/tshbx_17729/20260121/t0035_1438097.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  17. rsj.sh.gov.cn/cmsres/2c/2c52da60c7ed423c949a1a8524195c92/4221087aea... (checked October 16, 2026)
  18. news.bjd.com.cn/2026/08/21/11925637.shtml (checked October 16, 2026)
  19. m.thepaper.cn/newsDetail_forward_33839702 (checked October 16, 2026)
  20. kaizencpa.com/download/china/2026 (checked October 16, 2026)
  21. forvismazars.com/cn/zh/4/1/6/2024-8-2024 (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site