Employer of record in Tanzania: 2026 costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Employing someone in Tanzania costs 14.0% on top of gross pay, TZS 14,000,000 a year on a TZS 100,000,000 salary, and 10 points of that is the employer's NSSF pension share, according to Deloitte's Tanzania Highlights 2026. The EOR invoice is separate and starts at $199 per worker per month (Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad)), rising to $699 at Oyster, on October 2026 prices. Two details catch US companies out: the 3.5% Skills Development Levy applies only once the employer has 10 or more staff (Zanzibar charges 4% from 4 staff), and a new private-sector minimum wage order took effect on January 1, 2026.

An employer of record in Tanzania is a Tanzanian company that takes your worker onto its payroll as their legal employer, pays NSSF, the skills levy and the Workers Compensation Fund, and leaves the daily direction of work to you.

Employer cost on a sample salary
14.0% (TZS 14,000,000)on top of gross pay
Currency
TZS
On this page

How Tanzania's employer costs are built

Tanzania has three employer charges and no statutory bonus month. Payroll runs monthly.

  • NSSF: 20% of wages goes to the National Social Security Fund. The employee share is up to 10%, so the employer pays at least 10%. If a worker's share is lower, the employer pays more.
  • Skills Development Levy (SDL): 3.5% of gross cash pay for employers with 10 or more staff on the mainland; Zanzibar charges 4% from 4 staff. Ask your EOR whether its own headcount triggers the levy on your hire; the table assumes it does.
  • Workers Compensation Fund (WCF): 0.5% of the total wage bill, for public and private employers.

The private-sector minimum wage order, Government Notice (GN) No. 605A of 2025, replaced the 2022 order from January 1, 2026 (Clyde & Co, a secondary source). The general rate is TZS 175,000 a month for sectors not otherwise listed. Trade and finance pays TZS 200,500, financial institutions TZS 233,000 to 733,000, and domestic workers TZS 80,000 to 328,000 depending on the employer.

We have not yet confirmed Tanzania's leave, holidays, probation, notice, severance or working hours from an official source, or whether NSSF and SDL have a ceiling. Ask the EOR for the terms it uses and check them with the Ministry responsible for labor.

Employment costs and rules in Tanzania

Employing someone in Tanzania: the rules and costs
ItemTanzania
Employer social contributions14.0% (NSSF 10% + Skills Development Levy 3.5% + Workers Compensation Fund 0.5%)
What the employer paysNSSF pension: 20% of wages in total, employee share up to 10%, so employer at least 10%; Skills Development Levy 3.5% of gross cash pay for employers with 10+ staff (Zanzibar 4% for 4+ staff); Workers Compensation Fund 0.5% of total wage bill (public and private employers)
Employee contributionsUp to 10% (NSSF)
Minimum wageTZS 175,000 per month for sectors and areas not otherwise specified; commercial (trade and finance) TZS 200,500; financial institutions TZS 233,000 to 733,000; domestic workers TZS 80,000 to 328,000 by employer type. Labor Institutions (Minimum Wage for Private Sector) Order, GN No. 605A of 2025, in force Jan 1 2026, replacing the 2022 order (source_type=secondary: Clyde & Co)
Mandatory bonusesNone by statute
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedTZS 100,000,000 per year (TZS 8,333,333/mo), about USD 40,000 at an assumed 2,500 TZS/USD (rate not fetched)
Employer cost on that salary14.0% (TZS 14,000,000)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte Tanzania Highlights 2026, updated Jul 2026); nssf.go.tz not reached (fetch budget). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Tanzania

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

A TZS 100 million salary, worked through

The sample salary is TZS 100,000,000 a year, TZS 8,333,333 a month, which countries.csv puts near USD 40,000 at an assumed 2,500 TZS per USD (the rate was not fetched).

Tanzania: employer cost on TZS 100,000,000 a year
LineRatePer monthPer year
Gross salaryTZS 8,333,333TZS 100,000,000
NSSF pension, employer share10%TZS 833,333TZS 10,000,000
Skills Development Levy (10+ staff)3.5%TZS 291,667TZS 3,500,000
Workers Compensation Fund0.5%TZS 41,667TZS 500,000
Employer cost before the EOR fee14.0%TZS 9,500,000TZS 114,000,000
EOR fee at $599 a month$599$7,188

Source: Deloitte Tanzania Highlights 2026 (updated July 2026); fee row uses the $599 Deel and Remote list price from Oct 16, 2026. Monthly figures rounded to the shilling. The fee stays in USD because no official TZS rate was read.

Line by line: 10% x TZS 100,000,000 = TZS 10,000,000; 3.5% = TZS 3,500,000; 0.5% = TZS 500,000. The three come to TZS 14,000,000, and the year totals TZS 114,000,000 before the provider fee. If the SDL did not apply, the on-cost would drop to 10.5%, or TZS 10,500,000.

The EOR invoice is in dollars: $599 x 12 = $7,188, or $2,388 at $199 (Payoneer WFM), $4,788 at $399 (Pebl, Playroll) and $8,388 at $699 (Oyster). Funding a shilling payroll from dollars also means a conversion, so ask which rate is used. The country cost index compares Tanzania with other markets.

Exit terms to ask about before a Tanzania hire

Because Tanzania's notice and severance rules are not yet confirmed in our data, the provider's own exit terms carry more weight. Multiplier needs 30 days to process a termination (60 days for several at once) and charges a 15% penalty if you raise the termination with the employee directly. Oyster charges no termination fee and asks 30 days' notice. Pebl can tie each worker to a 12-month term. Deel promo contracts can lock you in for two years. Our EOR pricing guide collects deposit and exit fees in one place.

Ranking the EOR options

Scored on published terms, Multiplier (79) and Oyster (64) come out ahead of the rest. No provider publishes a Tanzania price; Multiplier says about 11% of its countries cost more than list. Get the quote in writing, including whether the SDL is passed through.

The EOR comparison table has every provider; the Oyster, Remote and Deel pages go deeper on contracts.

Contractor, EOR or a Tanzanian entity

A contractor in Tanzania carries no NSSF, SDL or WCF, which saves the TZS 14,000,000 on-cost in the table. That only holds while the work is independent; a full-time, single-client role directed by your team carries reclassification risk. Use contractor management software or a contractor of record for project work. If you plan a larger team, a Tanzanian company can replace the EOR fee; our EOR or entity comparison covers the break-even. For East African comparisons, see Kenya and Uganda.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an employer of record cost in Tanzania?
The provider fee runs $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad)) to $699 (Oyster) a month at October 2026 list prices. Separately the employer pays 14.0% of gross pay: NSSF 10%, Skills Development Levy 3.5% and Workers Compensation Fund 0.5%, according to Deloitte. On TZS 100,000,000 that is TZS 14,000,000 a year.
What is the NSSF contribution in Tanzania?
NSSF takes 20% of wages in total. The employee pays up to 10%, so the employer pays at least 10%, according to Deloitte's Tanzania Highlights 2026.
Who pays the Skills Development Levy in Tanzania?
Employers with 10 or more staff pay 3.5% of gross cash pay on the mainland. In Zanzibar the levy is 4% for employers with 4 or more staff, according to Deloitte.
What is the minimum wage in Tanzania in 2026?
GN No. 605A of 2025, in force January 1, 2026, sets TZS 175,000 a month for sectors not otherwise listed, TZS 200,500 for trade and finance and TZS 233,000 to 733,000 for financial institutions, as summarized by Clyde & Co.
Does Tanzania require a 13th month salary?
No statutory bonus month is listed for Tanzania in our data. Any bonus is a matter for the employment contract.
Sources (8)
  1. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. deloitte.com/content/dam/assets-shared/docs/services/tax/2026/dttl-... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site