Employer of record in Luxembourg: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A Luxembourg employee on EUR 35,546 a year costs the employer 12.57% on top of gross pay, and two thirds of that is the 8.5% employer half of pension insurance, according to the Joint Social Security Center (CCSS); the provider's own fee runs from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month per employee (list prices checked October 2026). The detail US companies miss is that the rate is not fixed: the employers' mutual insurance (Mutualité des employeurs) charges 0.23% to 2.66% depending on the employer's absenteeism class, so the same salary can cost up to 15.00%.

An employer of record in Luxembourg is a Luxembourg company that signs the employment contract with your hire, registers them with the CCSS, runs payroll and pays the employer contributions, while your team sets the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
12.57%on top of gross pay
Public holidays
11 legal public holidays…
Currency
EUR
On this page

Luxembourg payroll rules that surprise US employers

The CCSS lists pension at 17.00%, health benefits in kind at 5.60% and health cash benefits at 0.50%; the employer normally pays half of each. Three lines sit on the employer alone: accident insurance at 0.65% (multiplied by a bonus-malus factor), occupational health at 0.14%, and the Mutualité in four classes of 0.23%, 0.95%, 1.56% and 2.66%.

  • Indexation moves pay floors mid-year. The unskilled social minimum wage went from EUR 2,703.74 a month on January 1, 2026 to EUR 2,771.33 on June 1, 2026. A salary set at the floor in January had to rise in June.
  • A high contribution cap. Contributions stop at EUR 13,856.63 of monthly pay from June 1, 2026, five times the unskilled minimum wage.
  • Dependency insurance is the worker's. The 1.40% dependency contribution is withheld from the employee and has no cap.
  • Holidays: 11 legal public holidays, per the Labor and Mines Inspectorate (ITM).

Leave, probation, notice and severance are missing here on purpose. Guichet.lu and most ITM pages blocked our reader, so none of those rules is confirmed yet. Before you sign, have the EOR quote them and compare its answer with the ITM.

Employment costs and rules in Luxembourg

Employing someone in Luxembourg: the rules and costs
ItemLuxembourg
Employer social contributions12.57% at sample (pension 8.5%, health 2.8% + 0.25%, accident 0.65%, health at work 0.14%, mutualite class 1 0.23%); up to 15.00% with mutualite class 4
What the employer pays2026 published totals: pension 17.00%; health benefits in kind 5.60%; health cash benefits 0.50%; dependency 1.40% (employee only); accident 0.65% (employer, times bonus-malus factor); occupational health 0.14% (employer); employers' mutual (mutualite) by absenteeism class: 0.23%, 0.95%, 1.56%, 2.66% (employer). Employer/employee split not shown on the CCSS page; standard split is half each for pension and health (see notes)
Caps and ceilingsMaximum contribution base EUR 13,856.63 per month from June 1 2026 (5x unskilled minimum wage); dependency insurance has no cap
Employee contributions12.95% (pension 8.5%, health 2.8% + 0.25%, dependency 1.40%); split derived, not printed on the page read
Minimum wageUnskilled social minimum wage EUR 2,771.33 per month from June 1, 2026 (EUR 2,703.74 from Jan 1, 2026); skilled rate is 20% higher (not on the page read)
Public holidays11 legal public holidays (ITM: "Les jours feries legaux s'elevent a 11")
Sample salary usedEUR 35,546 (EUR 2,962 per month)
Employer cost on that salary12.57%

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (split secondary). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Luxembourg

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Pricing a EUR 35,546 Luxembourg salary line by line

USD 40,000 at the ECB rate of 1.1253 gives EUR 35,546 a year, EUR 2,962.17 a month: only 6.9% above the June 2026 unskilled minimum wage, so treat it as an entry-level example.

Luxembourg: yearly employer cost on EUR 35,546 through an EOR
LineRatePer year
Gross salary (EUR 2,962.17 a month)EUR 35,546.00
Pension insurance8.5%EUR 3,021.41
Health insurance, benefits in kind2.8%EUR 995.29
Health insurance, cash benefits0.25%EUR 88.86
Accident insurance (before bonus-malus)0.65%EUR 231.05
Occupational health0.14%EUR 49.76
Mutualité des employeurs, class 10.23%EUR 81.76
Employer contributions12.57%EUR 4,468.13
Employer cost before the EOR feeEUR 40,014.13
EOR fee, $599 x 12 = $7,188EUR 6,387.63
All-in cost for the yearEUR 46,401.76

Source: CCSS social parameters (rates and the EUR 13,856.63 monthly cap from June 1, 2026); employer share uses the standard half split of pension and health. The $599 fee (the Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026) is converted at the ECB reference rate of 1.1253 USD per EUR on Oct 16, 2026. Checked Oct 2026.

The arithmetic: 35,546 x 8.5% = 3,021.41; x 2.8% = 995.29; x 0.25% = 88.86; x 0.65% = 231.05; x 0.14% = 49.76; x 0.23% = 81.76. Those add to EUR 4,468.13, or 12.57%. If the employer sits in Mutualité class 4, the 0.23% becomes 2.66% and the total rises to 15.00%, EUR 5,331.89, which is EUR 863.76 more. The fee: $7,188 / 1.1253 = EUR 6,387.63. At Payoneer Workforce Management's $199 the fee is $2,388 a year (EUR 2,122.10); at Pebl's or Playroll's $399 it is $4,788; at Oyster's $699 it is $8,388.

Run other salaries in the international employee cost calculator.

A Luxembourg company of your own, or an EOR?

Every indexation round changes Luxembourg payroll, and someone has to apply it. With an EOR that is the provider's job, for $7,188 a year per head at $599. With your own société you register with the CCSS as an employer and pay a payroll bureau to do it. Our EOR versus own entity breakdown shows when the second option starts to pay off.

Hiring a Luxembourg freelancer instead

Freelancers registered as self-employed in Luxembourg carry their own CCSS charges, which is the appeal. The catch comes if the arrangement is reclassified: an indefinite role, fixed hours and direction from your managers point to salaried work, and then the six employer lines above are owed. For project work, a contractor management platform handles invoices and payments; a contractor of record goes further and takes on the classification question.

Which EOR fits a Luxembourg hire

Two providers lead our published scores: Multiplier with 79 out of 100 and Oyster with 64. Remote follows at 62, Playroll at 60 and Deel at 54 (how the points are given). In Luxembourg, ask three questions. Which Mutualité class does the provider's local entity carry? How big is the deposit (Oyster asks for at least one month of total service cost, Playroll one month's salary)? And how long is the term (Remote's default runs 12 months and renews itself)?

Our EOR rankings set the providers side by side; the Multiplier review, Oyster review, Remote write-up and Deel write-up go deeper, and the cost index puts Luxembourg next to other countries.

Frequently asked questions

What does an employer of record in Luxembourg cost per year?
Provider list prices run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, as of October 2026. On top of salary the employer pays 12.57% to 15.00% in CCSS contributions. On EUR 35,546 a year with a $599 fee, the total is EUR 46,401.76.
What is the minimum wage in Luxembourg in 2026?
The unskilled social minimum wage is EUR 2,771.33 a month from June 1, 2026, up from EUR 2,703.74 on January 1, 2026, after indexation, according to the CCSS social parameters.
Is there a cap on social contributions in Luxembourg?
Yes. The CCSS sets a maximum base of EUR 13,856.63 a month from June 1, 2026, equal to five times the unskilled social minimum wage. Pay above that line attracts no further contributions, except the employee's 1.40% dependency insurance, which is uncapped.
Why do Luxembourg employer rates differ between companies?
Two lines vary. The Mutualité des employeurs charges 0.23%, 0.95%, 1.56% or 2.66% by the employer's absenteeism class, and accident insurance of 0.65% is multiplied by a bonus-malus factor. That moves the total from 12.57% to 15.00% before bonus-malus.
What notice period applies to an EOR employee in Luxembourg?
This page does not give one yet: the official guichet.lu and ITM pages on notice, probation, leave and severance could not be read for this update. The Labor and Mines Inspectorate (ITM) is the body to confirm with, and your EOR contract should spell the terms out.
Sources (10)
  1. ITM (Inspection du travail et des mines): Congés et jours fériés (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rate for Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. CCSS (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale): Paramètres sociaux (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site