Employer of record in Egypt: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Egypt's employer social insurance rate and insurable wage cap for 2026 could not be read on an official source for this page, so we show no employer cost percentage; what we can price is the EOR service itself, listed from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) on October 16, 2026, on top of salary and contributions. The cost item to budget for is the compulsory annual raise: under the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025, private employers must raise pay each year by at least 3% of the insurable wage, never less than EGP 250 a month.

An employer of record in Egypt is an Egyptian company that hires your worker under its own registration, enrolls them in national social insurance and runs payroll, while you set the work.

Currency
EGP
On this page

What is confirmed about employing in Egypt

The Ministry of Planning, Economic Development and International Cooperation published the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025. It sets two things a budget must include:

  • Minimum wage: EGP 7,000 a month for the private sector from March 1, 2025. We found no 2026 increase on an official site.
  • Periodic annual raise (alawa dawriya): at least 3% of the insurable (subscription) wage, and at least EGP 250 a month. That floor alone adds EGP 3,000 a year (250 x 12) to each salary, every year.

Payroll in Egypt runs monthly. Social insurance falls under Law 148 of 2019, administered by the National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI), and a new Labor Law (Law 14 of 2025) was reported to take effect in September 2025.

Not yet confirmed from an official source: the employer and employee social insurance rates, the 2026 minimum and maximum insurable wage, Universal Health Insurance in the governorates where it has launched, and the Labor Law 14 of 2025 terms on probation, notice, leave, severance and working hours. NOSI's site did not render for our research. Before signing, ask your EOR for a written rate sheet that cites NOSI, and check labor terms with the Ministry of Labor.

Employment costs and rules in Egypt

Employing someone in Egypt: the rules and costs
ItemEgypt
Employer social contributions18.75% of insurable wage (unconfirmed today); about 2.0% of salary at the sample because of the cap
What the employer paysSocial insurance under Law 148 of 2019: employer 18.75% of the insurable wage covering old age, disability and death, work injury, sickness and unemployment (component split not confirmed today); Universal Health Insurance contributions apply in governorates where the new system has launched (not checked today)
Caps and ceilingsInsurable wage rises 15% a year under Law 148: 2026 minimum EGP 2,700 and maximum EGP 16,700 per month (unconfirmed today; nosi.gov.eg pages did not render)
Employee contributions11% of insurable wage (unconfirmed today), plus income tax
Minimum wageEGP 7,000 per month for the private sector from Mar 1 2025 (National Wages Council decision of Feb 9 2025); no 2026 increase confirmed
Mandatory bonusesPeriodic annual raise (alawa dawriya) of at least 3% of the insurable (subscription) wage and not less than EGP 250 per month (National Wages Council decision of Feb 9 2025)
Notice period2 months (under 10 years of service), 3 months (10 years or more) (unconfirmed today)
SeveranceUnjustified dismissal: at least 2 months' wages per year of service (unconfirmed today)
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedEGP 1,920,000 per year (EGP 160,000 per month); exchange rate not confirmed today, chosen at roughly 48 EGP per USD

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (minimum wage and annual raise only). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Egypt

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Budgeting an EGP 160,000 a month hire

The example hire earns EGP 160,000 a month, EGP 1,920,000 a year, a figure picked at around 48 pounds per dollar. No exchange rate was confirmed, so fees appear in USD.

Egypt: what an EOR quote for EGP 160,000 a month should show
LinePer yearStatus
Gross salaryEGP 1,920,000Your offer
Minimum periodic raise for next yearat least EGP 3,000Confirmed (EGP 250 a month floor)
Employer social insuranceAsk for the rate and cap in writingNot confirmed
Universal Health InsuranceDepends on the governorateNot confirmed
EOR fee at $599 a monthUSD 7,188Deel and Remote list price

Raise rule: National Wages Council decision of Feb 9, 2025, via the Ministry of Planning. Fee: Deel and Remote list price. Checked Oct 2026.

The raise is tied to the insurable wage, not to the full salary. Ask the EOR which insurable wage it uses for your hire and how it calculates the raise, and get both in writing.

How to hire in Egypt compliantly

You have three routes. An EOR employs the person for you and takes on NOSI registration and payroll; at $599, three hires cost $21,564 a year in fees. Your own Egyptian company carries those duties itself; weigh the two with our EOR versus entity breakdown. Paying a contractor skips social insurance, but a full-time worker under your direction looks like an employee, and the unpaid contributions become your exposure. For real freelance work, see contractor management tools or a contractor of record.

Choosing an EOR provider for Egypt

Egypt: EOR providers by our score
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthEntity model
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Own legal entities in every country (claim)
Oyster64/100$699Owned entities and partners
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)100% owned entities in 90+ countries (claim)
Playroll60/100from $399No owned-entity claim
Pebl57/100$399About 90% of employees on Pebl entities
Deel54/100$599Wholly owned entities in 130+ of 150+ countries (claim)

HRPricing scores, October 17, 2026. Entity model is each provider's own claim, October 16, 2026; none confirms an Egyptian entity on its pricing page.

With so little official data readable, the best provider for Egypt is the one that writes its NOSI rate, the insurable wage it applies and its raise calculation into the service agreement, and says whether it employs through its own Egyptian company or a partner. Scoring rules are on our method page; terms are compared in the EOR ranking and the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews, and the EOR cost index covers other countries.

Frequently asked questions

What does an Egypt employer of record cost?
The service fee ran from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026, which is $2,388 to $8,388 a year. Salary and the employer's NOSI social insurance come on top; the 2026 social insurance rate is not yet confirmed from an official source.
What is the minimum wage in Egypt?
EGP 7,000 a month for the private sector from March 1, 2025, set by the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025 and published by the Ministry of Planning. No 2026 increase was found on an official site.
Do Egyptian employers have to give a yearly raise?
Yes. Under the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025, private employers pay a periodic annual raise of at least 3% of the insurable wage, and not less than EGP 250 a month.
What is the employer social insurance rate in Egypt?
It is not yet verified against an official source for this page. Social insurance runs under Law 148 of 2019 through the National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI). Ask your EOR for its rate and the 2026 insurable wage cap in writing.
How do I hire in Egypt compliantly without a local company?
Use an employer of record, which registers the worker with NOSI, runs monthly payroll and applies Egypt's EGP 7,000 minimum wage and yearly raise rule. Fees run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (checked October 2026).
Sources (8)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. mped.gov.eg/singlenews?id=6009 (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site