Employer of record in Japan: social insurance, costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

In Tokyo, an employee on JPY 500,000 a month costs the employer 15.70% on top of pay in social insurance (16.51% if aged 40 to 64), with the 9.15% employees' pension share the largest piece, based on Japan Pension Service and Kyokai Kenpo rate tables (checked October 16, 2026); the EOR's own charge runs from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 16, 2026. Bonuses are levied too: the summer and winter bonuses that Japanese offers usually include are customary rather than required, but once paid they attract social insurance.

An employer of record in Japan is a Japanese company that employs your hire, enrolls them in employees' pension, health and employment insurance, and runs the monthly payroll, while you manage their work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
15.70% (16.51% if aged 40 to…on top of gross pay
Currency
JPY
On this page

How Japanese social insurance is charged

Premiums are not charged on the exact salary. Pay is slotted into standard monthly remuneration grades, and each premium is a percentage of the grade. The employer pays:

  • Employees' pension: 9.15% (18.3% split equally), on grades from JPY 88,000 to JPY 650,000 a month.
  • Health insurance: 4.925% in Tokyo under Kyokai Kenpo (9.85% total from March 2026 pay, down from 9.91%), up to grade 50 at JPY 1,390,000. Rates differ by prefecture.
  • Long-term care: 0.81% for employees aged 40 to 64.
  • Child-rearing support levy: new from April 2026 pay, 0.23% in total. Our figures assume an equal split, which the pages we read did not state.
  • Child-rearing contribution: 0.36%, employer only.
  • Employment insurance: 0.85% for general business in FY2026 (0.95% agriculture, 1.05% construction), uncapped. Source: a summary linking the MHLW leaflet.
  • Workers' compensation: employer only, 0.25% to 8.8% by industry; 0.3% for other businesses.

Other rules: pay at least once a month on a fixed date; a 40-hour week (44 in certain small industries); and at least 30 days' notice of dismissal, or pay in lieu. Japan has no statutory severance, though company retirement allowances can be contractual. Tokyo's minimum wage rose to JPY 1,280 an hour on October 1, 2026, from JPY 1,226. Paid leave starts after 6 months of continuous service with 80% attendance; we have not confirmed the day count or a probation limit from an official source.

Employment costs and rules in Japan

Employing someone in Japan: the rules and costs
ItemJapan
Employer social contributionsAbout 15.7% (16.5% for employees aged 40 to 64) at JPY 500,000 a month in Tokyo
What the employer paysEmployees' pension 9.15% (18.3% total, split equally); health insurance Tokyo kyokai kenpo 4.925% (9.85% total, from March 2026 pay); long-term care 0.81% for ages 40 to 64 (1.62% total); child-rearing support levy 0.23% total from April 2026 pay (split assumed equal); child-rearing contribution 0.36% employer only; employment insurance 0.85% general business (1.35% total), 0.95% agriculture etc., 1.05% construction (FY2026); workers' compensation employer only 0.25% to 8.8% by industry (0.3% other businesses, 0.25% finance/insurance/real estate)
Caps and ceilingsPension standard monthly remuneration grades JPY 88,000 to 650,000; health insurance max grade 50 at JPY 1,390,000 a month. Bonuses are also levied (bonus caps not checked). Employment insurance and workers' comp have no cap
Employee contributionsAbout 14.69% (pension 9.15, health 4.925, support levy 0.115, employment insurance 0.5) plus 0.81% care at 40 to 64
Minimum wagePrefectural. Tokyo JPY 1,280 an hour from 1 Oct 2026 (was JPY 1,226)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory (summer and winter bonuses are customary, not required)
Annual leaveGranted after 6 months of continuous service with 80%+ attendance (day count unconfirmed today; commonly 10 days, rising with service)
Notice periodAt least 30 days' advance notice of dismissal, in principle (or pay in lieu)
SeveranceNo statutory severance; company retirement allowances are contractual
Payroll frequencyAt least once a month on a fixed date
Standard work week40 (8 a day); 44 in certain small industries
Sample salary usedJPY 6,000,000 a year (JPY 500,000 a month, no bonus)
Employer cost on that salary15.70% (16.51% if aged 40 to 64)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Japan

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Tokyo example: JPY 6,000,000 a year

Japan (Tokyo): employer cost on JPY 500,000 a month, no bonus
LinePer monthPer year
SalaryJPY 500,000JPY 6,000,000
Employees' pension, 9.15%JPY 45,750JPY 549,000
Health insurance, 4.925%JPY 24,625JPY 295,500
Support levy, 0.115%JPY 575JPY 6,900
Child-rearing contribution, 0.36%JPY 1,800JPY 21,600
Employment insurance, 0.85%JPY 4,250JPY 51,000
Workers' compensation, 0.3%JPY 1,500JPY 18,000
Employer cost (15.70%)JPY 78,500JPY 942,000
Salary plus employer costJPY 578,500JPY 6,942,000
EOR fee at $599USD 599USD 7,188

Premiums: Japan Pension Service, Kyokai Kenpo Tokyo (r08), MHLW. Fee kept in dollars ($599 at Deel and Remote) because no yen rate was confirmed. Checked Oct 2026.

The line items add up: 45,750 + 24,625 + 575 + 1,800 + 4,250 + 1,500 = JPY 78,500, or 15.70% of JPY 500,000. For an employee aged 40 to 64, long-term care adds JPY 4,050 a month, taking the total to JPY 82,550 (16.51%). A bonus would add premiums on top; we did not check the bonus caps.

Which provider to use in Japan

Japan EOR providers compared
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthEntity model
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Own legal entities in every country (claim)
Oyster64/100$699Owned entities and partners
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)100% owned entities in 90+ countries (claim)
Deel54/100$599Wholly owned entities in 130+ of 150+ countries (claim)

Scores published by HRPricing on October 17, 2026; prices and entity claims from provider sites, October 16, 2026.

Japanese payroll has many moving parts, and mistakes surface in reviews: on September 26, 2026 a Deel user wrote on Trustpilot that a Japan resident tax deduction had been missed. Before signing, ask for a sample payslip showing every premium line. How we rank: scoring explained. Wider comparison: the EOR rankings and the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews.

Your own kabushiki kaisha or an EOR

A Japanese subsidiary must enroll staff in shakai hoken and labor insurance itself and keep prefecture-specific health rates current. Three EOR hires at $599 cost $21,564 a year in fees. Our EOR versus own entity guide covers the point at which a subsidiary pays off. For more countries, see the EOR cost index.

Gyomu itaku: contractors in Japan

A contractor agreement skips the 15.70% employer premiums. If the person keeps set hours under your direction, the unpaid shakai hoken becomes the exposure. Compare contractor management platforms or a contractor of record for freelance work.

Frequently asked questions

What does an employer of record in Japan cost?
Service fees ran from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) on October 2026 pricing pages. Tokyo employer social insurance adds 15.70% of pay (16.51% for ages 40 to 64), or JPY 78,500 a month at JPY 500,000.
What are the 2026 employer social insurance rates in Tokyo?
Employees' pension 9.15%, Kyokai Kenpo health insurance 4.925% (9.85% total from March 2026), long-term care 0.81% at ages 40 to 64, the child-rearing support levy (0.23% total from April 2026), a 0.36% employer-only child-rearing contribution, employment insurance 0.85% and workers' compensation 0.3% for other businesses.
Are bonuses mandatory in Japan?
No. Summer and winter bonuses are customary, not required by law. When they are paid, social insurance premiums are levied on them as well.
How much notice is required to dismiss an employee in Japan?
At least 30 days' advance notice, in principle, or pay in lieu, according to the MHLW Tokyo Labor Bureau's guidance. Japan has no statutory severance; retirement allowances are contractual.
What is the minimum wage in Tokyo?
JPY 1,280 an hour from October 1, 2026, up JPY 54 from JPY 1,226. Japan sets minimum wages by prefecture.
Sources (16)
  1. Trustpilot: Deel reviews (review of Sep 26, 2026, checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. kyoukaikenpo.or.jp/about/business/insurance_rate/rate_prefectures/r08 (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. kyoukaikenpo.or.jp/~/media/Files/shared/hokenryouritu/r8/ippan/13to... (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. nenkin.go.jp/service/kounen/hokenryo/ryogaku/ryogakuhyo/index.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  12. nenkin.go.jp/service/kounen/hokenryo/hoshu/20150515-01.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  13. mhlw.go.jp/content/001672589.pdf (checked October 16, 2026)
  14. jsite.mhlw.go.jp/kanagawa-roudoukyoku/hourei_seido_tetsuzuki/roudou... (checked October 16, 2026)
  15. jsite.mhlw.go.jp/tokyo-hellowork/list/kiba/minimum-wage-information... (checked October 16, 2026)
  16. jsite.mhlw.go.jp/tokyo-foreigner/english/seekers_1/spec/spec_1c.html (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site