Employer of record in El Salvador: what a hire costs
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
On a USD 40,000 salary, an employee in El Salvador costs the employer 11.0% more, or $4,400 a year, and most of it is the 8.75% private pension (AFP) contribution, according to Deloitte's El Salvador Highlights 2026; EOR providers charge $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month on top, checked October 2026. The error to avoid is applying the 16.25% headline rate to the whole salary: the 7.5% ISSS social security charge stops at USD 1,000 of monthly pay, so it never costs more than $75 a month per employee.
An employer of record in El Salvador is a Salvadoran company that legally employs your worker, registers them with the ISSS (Instituto Salvadoreno del Seguro Social) and a pension fund manager, and pays the employer contributions, while you set the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 11.0% (USD 4,400 = ISSS 75 x…on top of gross pay
- Currency
- USD
On this page
How El Salvador payroll differs
It runs in US dollars. El Salvador's payroll currency is the USD, so neither you nor your hire carries exchange-rate risk on salary. Ask the EOR whether it still charges a conversion or transfer margin when you fund payroll from a US account.
Two employer charges, one capped. Deloitte lists the employer share as ISSS 7.5% of pay up to USD 1,000 a month (a maximum of $75) and AFP pension 8.75% of monthly pay. The employee pays ISSS 3% up to the same USD 1,000 (a maximum of $30) and pension 7.25%. The pension split reflects the 2022 pension reform. Our research did not confirm a pension ceiling, so budget 8.75% on full pay.
Minimum wages by sector, from June 1, 2025. After a 12% increase: USD 408.80 a month for commerce, services and industry; USD 402.32 for textile maquila; USD 305.23 for sugar cane and coffee processing; USD 272.53 for other farm work. We found no 2026 change. At USD 408.80, both employer charges apply in full (16.25%), adding $66.43 a month.
We have not yet confirmed from an official source El Salvador's labor rules: the aguinaldo (year-end bonus), vacation and its premium, probation, notice, dismissal indemnity, public holidays, pay frequency and working hours. We also have not confirmed whether the 1% INSAFORP training contribution applies. The Ministry of Labor (MTPS) download page lists only 2021 wage tables. Get each item in writing from your EOR.
Employment costs and rules in El Salvador
| Item | El Salvador |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 16.25% (ISSS 7.5% capped at USD 1,000 of pay + pension 8.75%); about 11% at USD 3,333/mo because of the ISSS cap; INSAFORP 1% not confirmed |
| What the employer pays | Social security (ISSS) 7.5% of pay, capped at USD 1,000/mo (max USD 75/mo); Private pension (AFP) 8.75% of monthly pay |
| Caps and ceilings | ISSS cap USD 1,000 of monthly pay (employer max USD 75, employee max USD 30). Pension cap not confirmed |
| Employee contributions | 10.25% (ISSS 3% capped at USD 1,000 + pension 7.25%) |
| Minimum wage | USD 408.80/mo for commerce, services and industry; USD 402.32 textile maquila; USD 305.23 sugar cane and coffee processing; USD 272.53 other farm work, from Jun 1, 2025 (+12%); no 2026 change found |
| Sample salary used | USD 40,000 per year (USD 3,333.33/mo) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 11.0% (USD 4,400 = ISSS 75 x 12 = 900 + pension 8.75% x 40,000 = 3,500) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte El Salvador Highlights 2026, Jan 2026). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in El Salvador
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
USD 40,000 in El Salvador, month and year
Because salary and fee are both in dollars, the full cost needs no conversion. USD 40,000 a year is $3,333.33 a month, well above the ISSS ceiling.
| Line | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,333.33 | $40,000.00 |
| ISSS, 7.5% of the first $1,000 | $75.00 | $900.00 |
| AFP pension, 8.75% | $291.67 | $3,500.00 |
| Employer cost before the EOR fee | $3,700.00 | $44,400.00 |
| EOR fee | $599.00 | $7,188.00 |
| All-in | $4,299.00 | $51,588.00 |
Source: Deloitte El Salvador Highlights 2026 (January 2026, secondary); Deel and Remote $599 list price (pricing pages checked Oct 16, 2026). Checked Oct 2026.
The math: ISSS is $75 x 12 = $900; pension is 8.75% x $40,000 = $3,500; together $4,400, which is 11.0% of salary. Applying 16.25% to the full $40,000 would give $6,500, overstating the cost by $2,100.
The fee is the biggest single add-on here, larger than both contributions combined. At $399 (Pebl, Playroll) the year is $49,188; at $699 (Oyster) it is $52,788; at Payoneer Workforce Management's $199 entry price it is $46,788. Your hire's own deductions come to $3,260 a year ($360 ISSS plus $2,900 pension). Possible year-end and vacation payments are not in the table because we have not confirmed them. Use the international employee cost calculator for other salaries.
Choosing a provider for El Salvador
Our published scores rank Multiplier (79/100) and Oyster (64/100) at the top, followed by Remote (62), Playroll (60), Pebl (57) and Deel (54); the criteria are in our scoring method. Since the fee outweighs statutory cost, a $200 difference in monthly price is $2,400 a year. Ask each provider whether it uses its own Salvadoran entity or a partner, what deposit it holds, and how it pays: Oyster has Trustpilot reviews from April and July 2026 that complain of late or held wages. Read the Oyster review, Remote review and Deel review, or the EOR ranking.
Salvadoran contractors
A contractor costs you neither ISSS nor AFP, a saving of $4,400 a year on this salary plus the EOR fee. If the person works set hours for you alone, the relationship can be reclassified as employment, with back contributions and whatever labor-law payments apply. Compare contractor management tools or a contractor of record.
Setting up in El Salvador yourself
Each EOR hire at $599 costs $7,188 a year in fees. Your own company needs ISSS, pension and tax registrations plus local payroll support. Our EOR or own entity comparison and the EOR pricing breakdown help you weigh it.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an employee cost in El Salvador?
What is the ISSS contribution cap in El Salvador?
What is the minimum wage in El Salvador?
What pension contribution does an employer pay in El Salvador?
Is payroll in El Salvador paid in dollars?
Sources (11)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Oyster reviews (checked Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- deloitte.com/content/dam/assets-shared/docs/services/tax/2026/dttl-... (checked October 16, 2026)
- mtps.gob.sv/descargas (checked October 16, 2026)
- bloomberglinea.com/latinoamerica/el-salvador/salario-minimo-de-el-s... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.