Employer of record in Switzerland: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

The Swiss employer contribution we have verified is 5.3% of pay for AHV/IV/EO (old-age, disability and income compensation insurance), with no wage cap, CHF 1,746.77 on a CHF 32,958 salary (USD 40,000), while published EOR list prices run from $199 (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, as listed in October 2026. The rule that trips up US employers is notice timing: after probation, notice periods under the Code of Obligations run to the end of a month by default, so a resignation or dismissal on the 3rd can keep someone on payroll for close to two months.

Treat 5.3% as a floor. Unemployment insurance (ALV), the BVG occupational pension, UVG accident insurance and the family allowance fund all come on top, and their rates are still open in our data because the official pages would not load.

An employer of record in Switzerland is a Swiss company that employs your hire on a Swiss contract, runs payroll and pays the social insurance contributions, while your team manages the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
Partial: 5.3% AHV only (2025)on top of gross pay
Currency
CHF
On this page

Swiss rules we confirmed, and the gaps

Confirmed

  • AHV/IV/EO: 10.6% in total (old-age 8.7%, disability 1.4%, income compensation 0.5%), split 5.3% for the employer and 5.3% for the employee, on all pay with no cap, as of January 1, 2025. The 2026 edition of the AHV/IV leaflet would not load for us, so check whether the rate has moved.
  • Probation (CO art. 335b): the first month of an open-ended contract is probation by default. A written agreement, collective agreement (GAV) or standard contract (NAV) can waive it or extend it to 3 months at most, and time lost to illness or accident extends it.
  • Notice (CO art. 335c): 7 calendar days during probation. After that, 1 month in the first year of service, 2 months in years 2 to 9 and 3 months from year 10, each to the end of a month. Written agreement, NAV or GAV can change these; going below 1 month needs a GAV and is allowed only in the first year.

Not yet confirmed

Minimum wage rules, any 13th salary practice, annual leave, public holidays, severance, pay frequency, the standard work week, and the rates for ALV, BVG, UVG and family allowances. The federal law database (fedlex), ch.ch and arbeit.swiss could not be read on October 16, 2026. Check them with the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the cantonal AHV compensation office and the canton where your hire will work.

Employment costs and rules in Switzerland

Employing someone in Switzerland: the rules and costs
ItemSwitzerland
Employer social contributions5.3% AHV/IV/EO (2025 official figure) plus ALV, BVG pension, UVG accident and family allowance fund, not confirmed today
What the employer paysAHV/IV/EO (OASI 8.7% + DI 1.4% + IC 0.5% = 10.6% total), employer 5.3% and employee 5.3%, uncapped (as of Jan 1 2025)
Caps and ceilingsAHV/IV/EO has no wage cap
ProbationFirst month of an open-ended contract is probation by default; can be waived or extended by written agreement, collective (GAV) or standard (NAV) contract to a maximum of 3 months; extended for time lost to illness or accident (CO art. 335b)
Notice periodDuring probation: 7 calendar days. After probation: 1 month in the 1st year of service, 2 months in the 2nd to 9th year, 3 months from the 10th year, each to the end of a month (CO art. 335c). Can be changed by written agreement, NAV or GAV; below 1 month only by GAV and only in the 1st year
Sample salary usedCHF 32,958
Employer cost on that salaryPartial: 5.3% AHV only (2025)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (2025 edition). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Switzerland

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Pricing a Swiss hire with the data we have

The table shows only what we could verify. Every blank row is a real cost you will pay; ask the EOR for its rate on each before you compare quotes.

Switzerland: employer cost on CHF 32,958 a year, confirmed items only
LineRate or statusCHF per year
SalaryUSD 40,000 at ECB cross rates, Oct 16, 202632,958.00
AHV/IV/EO, employer share5.3% x 32,958, no cap1,746.77
ALV unemployment insurancerate not yet confirmednot priced
BVG occupational pensionrate not yet confirmednot priced
UVG accident insurancerate not yet confirmednot priced
Family allowance fundrate not yet confirmednot priced
Confirmed employer cost5.3%1,746.77
Salary plus confirmed cost32,958 + 1,746.7734,704.77
EOR fee$599 x 12USD 7,188

Source: AHV/IV information center, contributions leaflet 2.01 (ahv-iv.ch), 2025 edition, read Oct 16, 2026; fee priced at the $599 Deel and Remote list rate, read Oct 16, 2026. At the ECB cross rate used for the salary (CHF 0.82395 per USD), USD 7,188 is CHF 5,922.55.

A USD 40,000 salary is far below typical Swiss professional pay, so treat it as a comparison point, not a budget. Because AHV/IV/EO has no cap, the 5.3% scales with pay: on CHF 100,000 the employer share is CHF 5,300. The fixed EOR fee does the opposite, falling as a share of pay as salaries rise: USD 7,188 is 17.97% of a USD 40,000 salary.

Model other salaries in the international employee cost calculator or compare markets in the EOR country cost index.

EOR or a Swiss company

A Swiss entity of your own removes the USD 7,188 a year fee per person but means registering with the cantonal AHV office, arranging BVG pension and UVG accident cover, and tracking cantonal rules yourself. We have not priced Swiss company setup. Our EOR versus entity guide shows how to find the break-even.

Using Swiss contractors

Paying a Swiss freelancer skips the employer AHV share and the insurances listed above. The catch is status: someone who works only for you, on hours you set, can be reclassified as your employee, and the unpaid social insurance then becomes your bill. Independent specialists can be paid through a contractor payment platform. Remote ($325 a month) and Multiplier ($400 on annual billing) both sell a contractor of record service that carries the classification check, prices as of October 2026.

Choosing an EOR for Switzerland

Two providers lead our EOR scorecard: Multiplier (79/100) and Oyster (64/100). Multiplier lists Core at $459 per person per month when paid yearly ($499 when paid monthly), but it adjusts prices in roughly one country in nine without publishing which, so ask for a written Swiss figure. Oyster lists a flat $699, charges no termination fee, and holds a deposit worth at least one month of its total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount).

Ask each provider which BVG pension plan and UVG insurer it uses and what they cost, since those are the open lines in our table. For each provider's contract terms, read our Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews or the ranked EOR list. Also hiring nearby? See Germany and Austria.

Frequently asked questions

What does an employer pay in Switzerland on top of salary?
The confirmed part is 5.3% of pay for AHV/IV/EO, with no cap (AHV/IV information center, 2025 rate), CHF 1,746.77 on a CHF 32,958 salary. Unemployment insurance (ALV), BVG pension, UVG accident insurance and family allowances come on top; we have not confirmed their rates.
How long is probation in Switzerland?
One month by default on an open-ended contract. A written agreement, collective agreement or standard contract can waive it or extend it to a maximum of 3 months, and absence for illness or accident extends it (Code of Obligations art. 335b).
What notice period applies in Switzerland?
Seven calendar days during probation. After it, 1 month in the first year of service, 2 months in years 2 to 9 and 3 months from year 10, each ending at the end of a month (Code of Obligations art. 335c).
Is there a cap on Swiss AHV contributions?
No. AHV/IV/EO is charged on all pay with no wage cap: 10.6% in total, 5.3% from the employer and 5.3% from the employee, as of January 1, 2025 (ahv-iv.ch).
How much does an EOR cost in Switzerland?
Published EOR list prices run from $199 a month (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 16, 2026. Multiplier charges $459 a month billed annually or $499 monthly and says about 11% of countries have adjusted pricing, so ask for a Swiss quote.
Sources (8)
  1. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. ahv-iv.ch/p/2.01.e (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site