How much payroll services cost in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Payroll services with published prices cost $17 to $203 a month plus $4 to $22 per person paid, according to the pricing pages of 10 providers we checked on October 16, 2026. For a 10-person team that is $87 a month on Patriot Full Service up to $400 on Gusto Premium, before add-ons.
ADP RUN, Paychex, Rippling, Paycor, Paylocity and Paycom do not publish full prices. Where we show a figure for them below, it is a dated third-party estimate or, for Rippling, the vendor's own partial "starts at" figure.
Payroll service cost is the fee a provider charges to calculate pay, deposit wages and file payroll taxes, usually a monthly base fee plus a fee for each person paid that month.
On this page
- Payroll pricing at a glance
- Published payroll prices, checked October 2026
- What payroll costs for 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 employees
- Quote-only providers: ADP, Paychex, Rippling and HCM suites
- Hidden payroll fees to ask about
- Worked example: 10 employees in two states
- Payroll fees are small next to payroll taxes
- DIY vs payroll software vs an accountant or PEO
- What buyers complain about on price
- How to pay less for payroll
Payroll pricing at a glance
- Cheapest full service
- $37 + $5Patriot Full Service, cheapest from 3 people; Square ($35 + $6) is cheaper for 1
- 10 employees
- $87 to $400full-service published plans, before add-ons
- Typical per-person fee
- $4 to $22per employee per month
- Quote only
- 6 big namesADP RUN, Paychex, Rippling, Paycor, Paylocity, Paycom
Almost every small business payroll service charges the same way: a monthly base fee plus a fee for each person you pay that month. The base fee matters most for tiny teams. The per-person fee matters most once you pass about 10 people. Full-service plans calculate pay, deposit your payroll taxes and file your returns. A few cheap plans only do the math and leave filing to you.
If you want a ranked list rather than a price list, see our best payroll services for small business. If you are trying to spend nothing, read what free payroll software really covers first.
Published payroll prices, checked October 2026
These are the plans that show a dollar price on the provider's own pricing page. We read each page on October 16, 2026.
| Provider | Plan | Base per month | Per person per month | Files your taxes? | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Software | Basic Payroll | $17 | $4 | No, you file and pay | Cheapest published price. Payroll math only. |
| Patriot Software | Full Service Payroll | $37 | $5 | Yes | $12/mo per extra state. 941, 940, W-2 and W-3 filed at no added fee. |
| Square Payroll | Full-service | $35 | $6 | Yes | Mailed paper W-2s and 1099s $3 per form. |
| Roll by ADP | One plan | $39 | $5 | Yes | ADP app for very small teams. RUN is separate and quote only. |
| SurePayroll | Small Business | $39 | $7 | Yes | Same page also shows a $29 base. Year-end forms $50 + $5 per form. Extra state $9.99/mo. |
| Wave Payroll | Payroll (US) | $40 | $6 | Yes | Plus $6 per contractor paid. |
| Gusto | Simple | $49 | $6 | Yes | One state only. |
| OnPay | Payroll Essentials | $49 | $6 | Yes | Multi-state and year-end filings included. |
| Homebase | Payroll | $49 | $6 | Not stated on the pages we checked | Also lists "$29 per month for teams up to 5"; does not say if the per-person fee still applies. |
| Justworks | Payroll | $50 | $8 | Yes | No setup fee. US contractors $8 each. |
| Gusto | Plus | $80 | $12 | Yes | Multi-state, time tracking, next-day pay. |
| QuickBooks Payroll | Payroll + Simple Start | $88 | $6.50 | Yes | Includes QuickBooks Online accounting. $12/mo per extra state. |
| QuickBooks Payroll | Payroll + Essentials | $125 | $6.50 | Yes | Includes a higher accounting tier. |
| Gusto | Premium | $180 | $22 | Yes | Adds HR tools, premium support, Business Compliance. |
| QuickBooks Payroll | Premium + Plus | $203 | $10 | Yes | No penalty protection; that is only on the unpriced Elite plan. |
Sources: each provider's pricing page (linked in Sources below), checked Oct 16, 2026. Promotional prices are left out; they expire. QuickBooks plans bundle accounting software, so they are not payroll-only prices.
Two pages contradict themselves. SurePayroll shows a $29 base in its calculator and "Starting at $39/month" elsewhere on the same page, so we show $39 and note the $29. Homebase lists $49 + $6 per employee and also "$29 per month for teams up to 5" without saying whether the per-person fee still applies. Ask both in writing before you sign.
What payroll costs for 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 employees
The formula is the same for every plan below: base fee + (per-person fee x people paid that month). Contractors usually count as people paid. Wave and Justworks price them separately.
| Plan | Formula | 1 person | 5 people | 10 people | 25 people | 50 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Software Basic Payroll | $17 + $4 x n | $21 | $37 | $57 | $117 | $217 |
| Patriot Software Full Service Payroll | $37 + $5 x n | $42 | $62 | $87 | $162 | $287 |
| Square Payroll Full-service | $35 + $6 x n | $41 | $65 | $95 | $185 | $335 |
| Roll by ADP One plan | $39 + $5 x n | $44 | $64 | $89 | $164 | $289 |
| SurePayroll Small Business | $39 + $7 x n | $46 | $74 | $109 | $214 | $389 |
| Wave Payroll Payroll (US) | $40 + $6 x n | $46 | $70 | $100 | $190 | $340 |
| Gusto Simple | $49 + $6 x n | $55 | $79 | $109 | $199 | $349 |
| OnPay Payroll Essentials | $49 + $6 x n | $55 | $79 | $109 | $199 | $349 |
| Homebase Payroll | $49 + $6 x n | $55 | $79 | $109 | $199 | $349 |
| Justworks Payroll | $50 + $8 x n | $58 | $90 | $130 | $250 | $450 |
| Gusto Plus | $80 + $12 x n | $92 | $140 | $200 | $380 | $680 |
| QuickBooks Payroll Payroll + Simple Start | $88 + $6.50 x n | $94.50 | $120.50 | $153 | $250.50 | $413 |
| QuickBooks Payroll Payroll + Essentials | $125 + $6.50 x n | $131.50 | $157.50 | $190 | $287.50 | $450 |
| Gusto Premium | $180 + $22 x n | $202 | $290 | $400 | $730 | $1,280 |
| QuickBooks Payroll Premium + Plus | $203 + $10 x n | $213 | $253 | $303 | $453 | $703 |
| ADP RUN Essential (estimate) | $79 + $4 x n | $83 | $99 | $119 | $179 | $279 |
Math: base fee + (per-person fee x people paid that month). Published prices from each pricing page, checked Oct 16, 2026. Add-ons, extra states and year-end fees not included. ADP row is a third-party estimate (Tech.co, updated Jan 7, 2026, from user reports), not an ADP price. SurePayroll at its other listed base ($29) is $10 less in every column.
Ten employees, full-service plans, per month
Published prices, checked Oct 16, 2026. Formula: base + per person x 10.
Why the per-employee cost drops as you grow
The base fee is spread over more people as you hire. That is why a plan that looks pricey for 3 people can be fine at 40, and why premium tiers hurt most when you are small.
| Plan | Total at 5 | Per person at 5 | Total at 50 | Per person at 50 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Full Service | $62 | $12.40 | $287 | $5.74 |
| Square Payroll | $65 | $13.00 | $335 | $6.70 |
| Gusto Simple / OnPay | $79 | $15.80 | $349 | $6.98 |
| Justworks Payroll | $90 | $18.00 | $450 | $9.00 |
| Gusto Plus | $140 | $28.00 | $680 | $13.60 |
| Gusto Premium | $290 | $58.00 | $1,280 | $25.60 |
Per person = monthly total / people paid. Totals from the headcount table above (published prices, checked Oct 16, 2026).
Want the full cost of an employee, not just the payroll fee? Use the employee cost calculator, which adds FICA, FUTA and your state's unemployment tax.
Quote-only providers: ADP, Paychex, Rippling and HCM suites
The biggest names do not publish prices. Here is what is known, labeled by source and date.
- ADP RUN: ADP does not publish prices for any RUN package; each shows "Get pricing". Tech.co (updated January 7, 2026, from user reports) puts Essential at about $79 a month plus $4 per employee. Fit Small Business (May 22, 2025, more than a year old) reported $49 base plus $2.50 per employee per weekly pay run from a quote. The two disagree; ADP has confirmed neither. See ADP pricing in detail.
- Roll by ADP: the exception. ADP publishes $39 a month plus $5 per employee for this app.
- Paychex: no prices for Basic, Foundations, Advanced or Complete. The $39 plus $5 figure still on review sites belongs to the retired Flex Essentials plan, which Gusto's competitor guide (August 2, 2026) calls historical pricing. Costbench (June 2026) shows a median of about $10,800 a year from only 4 buyer reports. See Paychex pricing and fees.
- Rippling: its FAQ says plans "start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee"; the base fee is not stated.
- Paycor: quote only. Fit Small Business (May 2026) says it formerly listed $99 plus $5 per employee.
- Paylocity: quote only. OutSail (July 2026, from its advisory data) estimates $18 to $22 per employee per month for core payroll and HR.
- Paycom: quote only. Fit Small Business (July 2026, from a quote) reports $4 to $6 per employee per pay run.
Per-run pricing changes the math. At $4 to $6 per employee per pay run, a weekly payroll has 52 runs a year and a biweekly payroll has 26, so the same team costs about twice as much on a weekly schedule. Ask any quote-only provider whether the fee is per month or per run.
Live promotions (dated): ADP offers three free months to new RUN clients with 1 to 49 employees who sign and start payroll by October 22, 2026, applied as credits on months 4 to 6. Paychex waives payroll fees through April 2027 (up to six months) for new clients who sign a one-year agreement between October 12 and October 31, 2026; setup and other fees still apply, and Paychex can recover the free months if you leave early.
Worked example: 10 employees in two states
A second state is where cheap plans stop being cheap. Here is the same 10-person team with one remote employee in another state, using only published prices.
| Plan | Monthly math | Monthly total | Year-end forms | Year total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patriot Full Service | $37 + $5 x 10 + $12 extra state | $99 | Included (W-2) | $1,188 |
| OnPay | $49 + $6 x 10 (multi-state included) | $109 | Included | $1,308 |
| SurePayroll ($39 base) | $39 + $7 x 10 + $9.99 extra state | $118.99 | $50 + $5 x 10 = $100 | $1,527.88 |
| QuickBooks Payroll + Simple Start | $88 + $6.50 x 10 + $12 extra state | $165 | Not listed | $1,980 |
| Gusto Plus (Simple is one state) | $80 + $12 x 10 | $200 | Not listed | $2,400 |
Year total = monthly total x 12 + year-end form fees. Published prices, checked Oct 16, 2026. State registration fees, local taxes and add-ons not included. QuickBooks includes accounting software.
Square and Wave are left out because neither page states how a second state is billed. Square says federal and state filings come "at no additional charge" and Wave says its tax service covers all 50 states at the same price; confirm multi-state coverage with them before you count on it. Gusto is the only one that will open the new state account for you, for a fee that varies by state. The rest expect you to register with the state yourself first. Check the new state's 2026 SUTA wage base and new-employer rate while you are at it.
Payroll fees are small next to payroll taxes
On a $50,000 employee, the employer side of federal payroll tax for 2026 is:
- Social Security: 6.2% x $50,000 = $3,100
- Medicare: 1.45% x $50,000 = $725
- FUTA: 0.6% net rate x the first $7,000 = $42 (6.0% less the 5.4% credit, in states without a credit reduction)
That is $3,867 a year before state unemployment tax. A $5 to $8 per-person payroll fee is $60 to $96 a year. The service fee is the smaller number. A late deposit or a missed state report can cost more than a year of fees, which is why the tax filing guarantee matters as much as the price. We compare those guarantees on the best payroll software page.
DIY vs payroll software vs an accountant or PEO
| Option | What you pay | What you still do |
|---|---|---|
| By hand (spreadsheet) | $0 for software | Everything: withholding math, monthly or semiweekly deposits, Form 941 four times a year, Form 940, W-2 and W-3 by Feb 1, 2027, state withholding and unemployment reports, new hire reports. |
| Software, you file (Patriot Basic) | $17 + $4 per worker per month | Deposits and every federal and state filing. |
| Full-service payroll | $37 + $5 per person and up (published plans) | Enter hours, approve payroll, keep the account funded, answer agency notices. |
| Accountant or bookkeeper | No dated published prices in our research | Depends on the engagement. Ask for the per-run fee, the year-end fee and who answers tax notices. |
| PEO | Industry range 2% to 12% of payroll or about $40 to $160 per employee per month (ADP's own guide, Jul 2026); Justworks PEO publishes $79 or $124 per employee | Less: the PEO co-employs your staff and adds benefits and HR. |
Sources: IRS employment tax due dates and Topic 757; Patriot pricing; ADP PEO cost article (updated Jul 14, 2026); Justworks pricing. Checked Oct 16, 2026.
Doing it yourself saves the fee but puts the deadlines on you. For 2026 wages, Form W-2 is due to employees and the Social Security Administration by February 1, 2027, and e-filing is required once you file 10 or more information returns in total. If you are weighing a PEO instead, start with PEO vs payroll service and PEO companies ranked by score.
What buyers complain about on price
- Price rises after you sign. An ADP reviewer (Trustpilot, October 1, 2026) wrote "I just was increased by more than 10% without any notice" despite a promised freeze. ADP's RUN terms allow base fee increases after the first six months with 30 days' notice.
- Per-employee increases. A QuickBooks Community thread (June 25, 2026) reports a worker charge up "OVER 50% per employee". Another poster says payroll for 15 to 20 employees went from $1,566 in 2022 to $2,210 in 2025. See QuickBooks Payroll pricing.
- Setup and exit fees. ConsumerAffairs reviewers of Paychex report a $2,340 setup fee plus $160 a month (November 2025) and over $1,800 to close an unused retirement plan (September 2025). A Trustpilot reviewer (May 5, 2026) reports a "$1500 cancellation fee AND a $2000 set up fee".
- Add-ons you did not order. A Paychex reviewer (ConsumerAffairs, May 2, 2025) says "Paychex activated the 401(k) plan on their own."
- Modular pricing. Rippling reviewers on Capterra (September 2025 to August 2026) say costs climb with each module and are hard to budget.
Month-to-month plans with self-serve cancellation (Gusto, Patriot, Wave, QuickBooks, SurePayroll) are the easiest to leave if the price moves. ADP and OnPay require 30 days' written notice.
How to pay less for payroll
- Count the states first. If anyone works in a second state, compare plans that include multi-state (OnPay, Gusto Plus) against a cheap plan plus its per-state fee.
- Pay contractors on a contractor plan. Square charges $6 per contractor paid with no base fee. QuickBooks Contractor Payments is $25 a month for up to 20 contractors, then $2 each.
- Get per-month, not per-run, pricing if you pay weekly.
- Read promo terms. ADP and Paychex free months come with conditions, and Paychex can recover them if you leave within a year.
- Ask for a price lock in writing, with the length of the lock.
- Price the exit: final filings, year-end forms after you leave, and how long you keep W-2 access.
For teams of one to five, our payroll for very small teams page compares the plans with the lowest base fees. For provider-by-provider detail, see Gusto pricing and online payroll services compared.
Frequently asked questions
How much do payroll services cost per month?
How much does it cost to outsource payroll for a small business?
How much does payroll cost per employee?
Do ADP and Paychex publish their prices?
What hidden fees do payroll companies charge?
Is it cheaper to do payroll yourself?
Is payroll priced per month or per pay run?
Sources (43)
- Patriot Software: Patriot payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Square: Square Payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: Roll by ADP pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- SurePayroll: SurePayroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Wave: Wave Payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: Gusto pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: Let Gusto help you with state tax registration (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: Cancel your company's Gusto account (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- OnPay: OnPay pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- OnPay: OnPay terms of service (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Homebase: Homebase pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Intuit: QuickBooks Payroll (Workforce) pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Intuit: QuickBooks Contractor Payments pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Intuit: Cancel your QuickBooks Payroll subscription (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: RUN Powered by ADP product page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: Three Free Months Offer terms (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: RUN Powered by ADP terms of service (effective Feb 12, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Tech.co: ADP pricing guide (third-party estimate, updated Jan 7, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: RUN by ADP review (third-party quote, updated May 22, 2025) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paychex: Small business payroll page and promotion footnote (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto (a Paychex competitor): Paychex pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Costbench: Paychex Flex buyer-reported cost (data checked Jun 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: Rippling pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paycor: Paycor pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Paycor review (updated May 29, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paylocity: Paylocity pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- OutSail: How much does Paylocity cost in 2026 (Jul 24, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paycom: Paycom pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Paycom review (updated Jul 7, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: PEO: what is the cost of a PEO? (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: ADP reviews (all ADP products) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Paychex reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Paychex reviews, page 8 (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- ConsumerAffairs: Paychex reviews, page 3 (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- QuickBooks Community: Price increase 2025 thread (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- QuickBooks Community: Price increase for Workforce thread (Jun 25, 2026) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: Rippling reviews, page 6 (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Employment tax due dates (last reviewed Apr 21, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Topic 757, Forms 941 and 944 deposit requirements (last reviewed Oct 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: General Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 (2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Publication 15 (2026), Employer's Tax Guide (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Publication 926 (2026), Household Employer's Tax Guide (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.