Papaya Global review: pricing, payroll and the fees without a price
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Papaya Global's employer of record (EOR) service costs from $650 per employee per month, or EUR 650 in Europe, according to its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). Papaya payroll for companies with their own entity starts at $12 per employee, and the Payroll Platform License is $3 a month.
Papaya also names a setup fee per location, a cycle fee per employee, a year-end filing fee, an onboarding fee and a refundable deposit, without giving any amount. Its EOR runs on in-country partners, not its own entities.
Papaya Global is a global payroll and payments company that also offers employer of record services through a network of in-country partner firms.
On this page
- Papaya Global at a glance
- Papaya Global pricing
- Fees Papaya names but does not price
- What Papaya costs for a real team
- Contract terms and exit
- Entity model: in-country partners, by choice
- Country coverage
- Support
- Reviews and complaints
- Papaya Global vs Deel, and alternatives
- How Papaya Global scores
- Our verdict
Papaya Global at a glance
- EOR price
- From $650EUR 650 in Europe
- Payroll
- From $12per employee, your own entity
- Entity model
- Partnersin-country partners, by design
- Our score
- 55/100EOR category
Papaya Global
Papaya prices its payroll and payments software low and per license, which suits companies that already own entities abroad. Its EOR costs more than most at $650, runs on in-country partners, and comes with four fees Papaya names but does not price. Its review base is small and has a high one-star share.
How the score adds up
- Price13/25
- Hidden costs11/20
- Entity ownership10/20
- Contract terms9/15
- Support7/10
- Complaints record5/10
Scores follow our scoring method. Papaya's place against the rest is on our EOR rankings.
Papaya Global pricing
| Product | Published price | Unit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Employer of record (EOR) | From $650 (EUR 650 in Europe) | Per employee per month | "There may be variations in pricing in some countries" |
| Full-Service payroll | From $12 | Per employee per month | Payroll on your own entity; may vary by country |
| Payroll Platform License | $3 | Per month (per-employee basis not confirmed in our research) | |
| Payments license | $3 | Per month (per-employee basis not confirmed in our research) | |
| Contractor Management | $2 | Per contractor per month | |
| Data and Insights | $150 | Per location per month | Workforce analytics |
Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.
Papaya is two businesses with two pricing models. Its EOR is a per-employee fee like everyone else's, priced at $650 for "most countries outside of Europe" and EUR 650 in Europe. Its payroll products are cheap per-seat licenses: from $12 for Full-Service payroll, $3 for the platform alone, $3 for payments. If you have your own entities, Papaya payroll is among the lowest published global payroll prices in our research. See global payroll providers and EOR vs global payroll for when each model fits.
Fees Papaya names but does not price
| Fee | What Papaya says | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | "a set-up fee per location" | Not stated |
| Payroll cycle | "a cycle fee per employee" | Not stated |
| Year-end | "a year-end fee for tax filing" | Not stated |
| Onboarding | a "small fee" | Not stated |
| Deposit | "We charge a refundable deposit to ensure that funds are available to pay your employees on time" | Not stated; refund timing not stated |
| Offboarding | "There are no additional fees." | None |
| FX conversion | Not mentioned | Not stated |
Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.
This is the gap that matters for a Papaya EOR quote. A setup fee per location and a cycle fee per employee could change the real monthly cost a lot, and Papaya gives no figure for either. Ask for all four amounts, plus the deposit amount and refund timing, on your quote.
Ask Papaya for a single all-in monthly figure per employee, by country, that includes the cycle fee, plus a separate line for one-time setup per location and the yearly tax filing fee.
What Papaya costs for a real team
| Team size | At $650 a month | Per year | Full-Service payroll at $12, if you have an entity |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 employee | $650 | $7,800 | $12 a month |
| 5 employees | $3,250 | $39,000 | $60 a month |
| 10 employees | $6,500 | $78,000 | $120 a month |
| 25 employees | $16,250 | $195,000 | $300 a month |
Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Yearly figure is monthly x 12. Before the setup, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees, which Papaya does not price.
A 25-person team costs $16,250 a month on EOR, or $300 on Full-Service payroll if you own an entity in that country. That gap is why companies with a stable team in one country often open an entity: see EOR vs your own entity.
For one hire in Germany, priced in euros as Papaya bills in Europe, using the official figures on our Germany employer cost page:
| Cost line | Per year | Math |
|---|---|---|
| Salary | EUR 35,000.00 | EUR 2,916.67 a month |
| Employer social contributions | EUR 7,455.00 | 21.30% x 35,000 |
| Papaya EOR fee | EUR 7,800.00 | EUR 650 x 12 |
| Total | EUR 50,255.00 | 35,000 + 7,455 + 7,800 |
| Not included | Varies | U1 and U2 levies, accident insurance, Papaya setup, cycle and year-end fees, deposit |
Sources: Deutsche Rentenversicherung 2026 social insurance figures and vdek 2026 health insurance changes, checked October 16, 2026; Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.
Other countries' employer costs are in the employer cost by country index.
Contract terms and exit
Papaya says "we do not demand that companies sign up for a minimum length of time", and its basic agreement has a "60 day opt-out clause". Offboarding carries "no additional fees", though severance and notice pay under local law are yours to pay. Sixty days is longer than Oyster's 30-day notice, so a decision to leave can cost up to two months of fees, one more than at Oyster. Put the 60 days in your exit plan.
Entity model: in-country partners, by choice
Papaya does not claim to own its EOR entities. Its EOR page describes a model that "works with a network of ICPs" (in-country partners) and argues that the wholly owned model's reputation for reliability is, for the most part, "a myth". Its country specialists are hired by local accounting firms.
That is a plain statement of a partner model, and it is the opposite of what Remote ("100% owned entities") and Multiplier claim. With a partner, your worker's legal employer is a local firm Papaya contracts with. Ask Papaya to name the partner in your country and explain who is liable for a payroll error. Our guide to employers of record covers both models.
Country coverage
Papaya's pricing page claims 160+ countries and its EOR page "over 160+ jurisdictions". Those figures agree with each other, unlike Deel's or Oyster's. Because coverage runs through partners, ask how long Papaya has worked with the partner in your country.
Support
Papaya says "There is always a person in your time zone... speaking the local language", and that each customer gets a dedicated customer success manager or global payroll specialist. It makes no 24/7 claim. A Trustpilot reviewer on Apr 20, 2026 described an unusable mobile app, "no live customer service" and long email exchanges.
Reviews and complaints
Papaya holds 4.5 out of 5 from 55 reviews on G2 and 4.2 from 58 on Trustpilot (both seen Oct 16, 2026). On Trustpilot, 62% of reviews are five-star and 29% are one-star, the highest one-star share among the EORs we track with more than 50 reviews. We could see only one critical review on the first page (Apr 20, 2026). Trustpilot's AI summary names delayed payments, incorrect payroll calculations, unexpected tax code changes and failed automatic payments; we could not tie those to dated reviews.
With fewer than 60 reviews on each site, the sample is small. Ask Papaya for references in your country.
What works
- Low payroll prices: Full-Service from $12 per employee, $3 Payroll Platform License
- No minimum term, no offboarding fee
- Open about its partner model
- Consistent 160+ country figure
Watch out for
- EOR at $650 is above Deel and Remote at $599
- Setup, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees named but not priced
- Deposit amount and FX terms not published
- 29% one-star share on Trustpilot
Papaya Global vs Deel, and alternatives
For EOR, Papaya costs $51 more per employee per month than Deel ($650 vs $599), and its four unpriced fees could widen that gap. Deel says it owns its entities; Papaya uses partners. For contractors, Papaya lists $2 a month for contractor management against Deel's $49, but check what is included; payouts may need the $3 payments license. See contractor payment platforms.
- G-P: quote only, or $599 on its info page, with uniform country rates.
- Oyster: $699 flat, deposit published.
- Multiplier: $459 billed annually, owned entities claimed.
- Pebl: $399.
All fees and deposits side by side: EOR pricing compared.
How Papaya Global scores
Papaya Global scores 55/100, which places it 6th of the 13 EOR providers we score (tied with Atlas). The top score is Multiplier at 79. Every point below comes from a published fact or documented complaints; the rules are in how we score providers.
| Criterion | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Price per employee | 13 of 25 | Publishes EOR from $650 per employee per month (EUR 650 in Europe), in the $600 to $699 band (13). |
| Hidden costs disclosed | 11 of 20 | Confirms a refundable deposit without an amount (3); FX is not mentioned (0); 'no additional fees' for offboarding (5); setup per location, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees are named without amounts (3). |
| Entity ownership and country coverage | 10 of 20 | Openly uses in-country partners and calls the reliability of the owned-entity model 'a myth' (2); 160+ countries (8). |
| Contract terms | 9 of 15 | No minimum term, with a 60-day opt-out clause (6); that 60-day opt-out is longer than 30 days (3); full terms were not read (0). |
| Support and compliance help | 7 of 10 | Says a person in your time zone speaks the local language, while a reviewer reports no live customer service (2), plus a dedicated customer success manager and country staff hired from local accounting firms (5). |
| Documented complaint patterns | 5 of 10 | Trustpilot 4.2 from 58 reviews with 29% one-star (3 of 4); only one critical review was visible, so patterns are not established (default 2 of 6). |
| Total | 55 of 100 |
Source: HRPricing EOR scores, checked 2026-10-17, from research gathered October 16, 2026.
Our verdict
Bottom line: Papaya Global scores 55/100, level with Atlas and just above Deel. If you own entities and need payroll and payments across many countries, its license pricing is worth a quote. As an EOR, it is a partner model at an above-average $650 with several unpriced fees. Get every fee in writing before you compare it with Deel or Remote.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Papaya Global cost?
What does Papaya payroll cost?
Does Papaya Global charge a deposit?
Does Papaya Global own its EOR entities?
Papaya Global vs Deel: which is cheaper for EOR?
Can I cancel Papaya Global?
Sources (7)
- Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Papaya Global: Papaya Global employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Papaya Global reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: Papaya Global reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deutsche Rentenversicherung: Social insurance figures 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- vdek: Health insurance changes 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.