Employer of record pricing: what an EOR really costs in 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Employer of record pricing runs from $199 to $699 per employee per month across the providers that publish a price, according to their pricing pages checked on October 16, 2026. Deel and Remote charge $599, Pebl and Playroll start at $399, and Oyster is the highest flat price at $699. Salary, employer contributions, deposits and currency costs come on top of that fee.

The cheapest list price is not always the cheapest contract. The deposit, the minimum term and the renewal clause can cost more than the gap between two fees.

EOR pricing is the monthly service fee an employer of record charges per employee, on top of the salary, employer contributions and other employment costs it passes through to the client.

On this page

Every published EOR price

Lowest list price
$199Payoneer WFM (Skuad)
Most common
$599Deel, Remote, Atlas, Justworks
Highest flat price
$699Oyster
No price on pricing page
2Rippling and G-P
Every published employer of record price, checked October 16, 2026
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthMonthly or annualCountry pricing
Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad)from $199One price, no split“May vary based on location, role and local requirements”
Rivermate$319 to $639One range, no splitVaries by country, headcount and local vs expat hire
Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)$399No annual price listedCountry pricing by quote
Playrollfrom $399One price, no splitStatutory and country charges billed separately
Multiplier Core$459 annual or $499 monthlyAnnual saves 8%About 11% of countries cost more (not named)
Multiplier Growth$519 annual or $559 monthlyAnnual saves 7%Same as Core
Rippling EORQuote onlyNot publishedNot published. A competitor’s guide cites a $499 starting reference
Deel$599Not split on the pageOne headline price, no country list
Remotefrom $599 (a Remote help article from March 2026 says $699)Not splitNot shown
Justworks EOR add-on$599Monthly only shownNot shown
Atlasfrom $599 plus a country “LES rate” ($399 for eligible nonprofits)Not splitYes, the LES rate by country
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote only on the pricing page; $599 on its LLM info page (Jul 2026)Not published“Consistent rates across 180+ countries”
Papaya Globalfrom $650 (EUR 650 in Europe)Not split“Variations in pricing in some countries”
Oyster$699“Annual discounts available”, no figureFlat
OmnipresentGBP 499 on its EOR pageNot publishedSeparate tier for “premium locations”

Sources: each provider’s pricing page (and the EOR, help or info pages named in the row), checked Oct 16, 2026. Rippling reference from Gusto’s Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026), a competitor source.

Two providers show different prices on their own sites. Remote lists $599 on its pricing page and $699 in a support article from March 2026. G-P says “contact us” on its pricing page and $599 on an information page updated in July 2026. Ask for the price in writing on the order form.

Cheapest EOR pricing, and what the low price leaves out

The yearly fee for one employee at each list price:

Payoneer WFM (Skuad), $199
$2,388
Rivermate low end, $319
$3,828
Pebl or Playroll, $399
$4,788
Multiplier Core annual, $459
$5,508
Multiplier Core monthly, $499
$5,988
Deel, Remote or Atlas, $599
$7,188
Papaya Global, $650
$7,800
Oyster, $699
$8,388

Math: monthly list price x 12. Source: provider pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.

  • Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad), from $199. It publishes no deposit, FX or termination terms, and its FAQ describes “own and partner entities.” One Trustpilot reviewer (Oct 8, 2025) alleged hidden fees and deposits.
  • Rivermate, $319 to $639. The price depends on the country. Rivermate says it owns 38 entities while covering 180+ countries, so most countries run through partners. Its Trustpilot rating was withheld for a guideline breach when we checked.
  • Pebl, $399. Its Employee Term model ties each worker to 12 months before converting to pay-as-you-go.
  • Playroll, from $399. No minimum commitment and no onboarding or offboarding fees, but a deposit of one month’s salary per employee, and statutory and country charges are billed separately.
  • Atlas, $399 for eligible nonprofits. Everyone else pays from $599 plus the country LES rate.

If price is the deciding factor, compare these against the scored list in the best employer of record services, where support, entity ownership and exit terms count too.

Monthly vs annual EOR billing

Multiplier is the only provider that publishes both. Its Core plan is $459 per employee per month billed annually or $499 billed monthly, a saving of $480 per employee per year. Growth is $519 or $559. Oyster says annual discounts exist but gives no figure. Every other provider shows a single price.

An annual plan can lock you in. Remote’s default terms run 12 months whichever way you pay, so the saving matters less than the notice date. Before you take an annual price, check whether you can remove a seat when an employee leaves mid-year. Multiplier’s terms say seat fees are non-refundable and billed in whole months.

EOR deposits

A deposit protects the EOR if you stop paying while it still owes the worker wages, notice and severance. It is refundable, but it ties up cash for every hire.

EOR deposits: what each provider publishes
ProviderDepositRefund timing
PlayrollOne month’s salary per employee, refundableNot stated
OysterOne month of the total cost of services, at minimum; extra deposits for expected transition costs on 5 days’ noticeCredit note about 60 days after the end date, if invoices are settled
MultiplierCalculated per contract from employment costs, fees and notice periodsWithin 60 days of the last working day; may be kept if a claim is threatened
Pebl“Initial Payroll Funding” before each hire, amount not statedAbout 45 days (help center, Jan 30, 2026)
Papaya GlobalRefundable deposit, amount not statedNot stated
RemoteTerms say a reserve or letter of credit “may” be required, no amount; none for startupsNot stated
DeelNot published by DeelNot published
Atlas, G-P, Rippling, Rivermate, SkuadNot publishedNot published

Sources: provider pricing pages, terms and help articles, checked Oct 16, 2026. A secondary source (costbench.com, citing a competitor) says Deel typically asks for one month’s gross salary; Deel does not state this itself.

On a USD 40,000 salary, a one-month salary deposit is about $3,333 per employee. For five hires that is about $16,667 held until each job ends. Some EORs ask for more where severance must be funded in advance: one founder hiring in Mexico through Deel wrote on Hacker News in January 2023 (an older, anecdotal report) that the mandatory severance had to be put up front.

Termination and offboarding costs

Most EORs say they charge no offboarding fee. The real exit costs are in the contract and in local law.

Termination, offboarding and exit costs in EOR contracts
ProviderOffboarding feeContract and exit terms that cost money
RemoteNone listed; severance passed throughTerms run 12 months and auto-renew; order forms raise prices on renewal by at least 8% or US CPI if higher; early exit owes the Minimum Contract Value shortfall (on Price Lock, 50% of the monthly average of estimated annual fees)
DeelNone listedMonth-to-month per the FAQ. A pricing-page promo on PEO order forms needs a 2-year term, with full list price owed for the whole term on early exit; Deel’s EOR terms would not load, so EOR lock-in is unconfirmed
MultiplierNone per the FAQ30-day lead time to process a termination (60 for bulk); you pay termination legal and admin costs; 15% of the final invoice as a penalty if you contact the employee about termination directly
OysterNone (termination processing included)30 days’ notice to end the agreement; fees owed until it ends; transition costs, including severance, billed
PeblNot answered on the pageEmployee Term model: 12 months per worker, then pay-as-you-go with 30 days’ notice
Papaya Global“No additional fees”No minimum term; 60-day opt-out clause
Atlas“Offboarding costs may still apply”Minimum term not stated
Playroll, RivermateNone (“no onboarding or offboarding” fees)Notice terms not published

Sources: Remote terms of service (Aug 3, 2026) and order form terms; Deel and Papaya pricing pages; Multiplier EOR terms (Jun 1, 2026); Oyster customer terms (2025-02-27); Pebl supplemental order terms; Atlas, Playroll and Rivermate pricing pages. Checked Oct 16, 2026.

On top of the contract, you pay what the country requires when a job ends. Three examples from official sources:

  • United Kingdom: statutory redundancy pay after 2 years, capped at GBP 751 a week and 20 years, a maximum of GBP 22,530 (from April 6, 2026). See employing someone in the UK.
  • Brazil: a fine of 40% of all FGTS deposits on dismissal without cause, plus notice pay and the other final pay items. See Brazil employer costs.
  • India: retrenchment pay of 15 days’ average pay per year of service, plus gratuity of 15 days’ wages per year after 5 years (1 year for fixed-term staff). See India employer costs.

FX: the currency cost nobody prices

You are usually invoiced in USD and the worker is paid in local currency. None of the providers we checked publishes an EOR currency markup percentage.

  • Multiplier says it uses the mid-market rate “without adding a markup.” A Trustpilot reviewer (Aug 5, 2026) disputes that.
  • Atlas uses the OANDA spot rate “with a clearly disclosed markup based on currency type,” but the percent is not on its pricing page.
  • Remote invoices at the “Remote FX Rate,” and its terms allow “a transaction fee or margin.”
  • Oyster charges a conversion fee only if you pay in a currency other than the contract currency; the rate is behind its login.
  • Pebl charges contractors 3% to take pay in a different currency; its EOR FX terms were not published.
  • Deel says it offers “competitive exchange rates,” with no figure.

Ask for the rate source and markup in writing. A 1% markup on a USD 40,000 salary is $400 a year, so the FX line can matter as much as a $40 fee difference.

What “from $599” excludes

  • Salary and employer contributions, which run from 3.4% of pay in India to 50.9% in Brazil on a salary of about USD 40,000. See the employer cost index by country.
  • Mandatory bonuses, such as Brazil’s 13th salary and one-third vacation bonus or Mexico’s aguinaldo.
  • Country uplifts. Multiplier prices about 11% of countries higher; Atlas adds an LES rate by country; Rivermate’s fee spans $319 to $639.
  • Setup and add-on fees. Papaya Global names a setup fee per location, a cycle fee per employee, a year-end tax filing fee and a “small fee” for onboarding, all without amounts. Multiplier lists “compliance mandated add-ons” and an “implementation fee as applicable.”
  • Benefits beyond the legal minimum, such as private health insurance.
  • Visa sponsorship. Atlas charges extra per visa; the amount is not published.
  • Deposits, FX and late fees. Remote’s terms charge 0.1% a day on late payments. Oyster’s customer terms, as read by an automated reader, charge 1.5% a day on overdue invoices; we could not confirm that figure by hand.

Total cost of one employee per year at three salary levels

The fee is flat, so it weighs most on lower salaries:

The EOR fee as a share of salary, per year
Annual salary (USD)$399 fee ($4,788 a year)$599 fee ($7,188 a year)$699 fee ($8,388 a year)
$20,00023.9%35.9%41.9%
$40,00012.0%18.0%21.0%
$80,0006.0%9.0%10.5%

Math: monthly fee x 12, divided by salary. Fees from Pebl and Playroll ($399), Deel and Remote ($599) and Oyster ($699) pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.

Now the full employer side for one UK employee, using the 2026 to 2027 rates published by GOV.UK. We show the fee in USD next to the GBP costs rather than converting, because the EOR bills it that way and the exchange rate on your invoice will set the final figure.

One UK employee for a year at three salary levels (employer side)
Gross salaryEmployer NICs (15% above GBP 5,000)Employer pension (3% of GBP 6,240 to 50,270)Employment cost (GBP)EOR fee at $599 (USD, billed separately)
GBP 20,000GBP 2,250.00GBP 412.80GBP 22,662.80 (13.31% on top)$7,188
GBP 30,000GBP 3,750.00GBP 712.80GBP 34,462.80 (14.88% on top)$7,188
GBP 60,000GBP 8,250.00GBP 1,320.90GBP 69,570.90 (15.95% on top)$7,188

Sources: GOV.UK rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 and workplace pension minimums, checked Oct 16, 2026; Deel and Remote pricing pages. Excludes the Employment Allowance (usually not passed on in a per-employee EOR quote) and any EOR deposit.

At GBP 30,000, the employer pays GBP 34,462.80 to the EOR for salary and contributions, plus the $7,188 fee. At Pebl’s or Playroll’s $399, the fee would be $4,788; at Oyster’s $699, $8,388. Try other countries and salaries in the international employee cost calculator.

EOR cost for a team of 5, 10 or 25

EOR fees for a team, per year (fee only)
Fee per employee per month5 employees10 employees25 employees
$399 (Pebl, Playroll)$23,940$47,880$119,700
$459 (Multiplier Core, annual)$27,540$55,080$137,700
$599 (Deel, Remote, Atlas)$35,940$71,880$179,700
$699 (Oyster)$41,940$83,880$209,700

Math: fee x employees x 12. List prices checked Oct 16, 2026; Atlas, G-P and Rivermate say volume pricing is available by quote.

Remote offers startups 15% off EOR and contractor management for 12 months, with no deposit or setup fee. At $599 that is $509.15 a month for the first year. Past roughly 10 people in one country, compare the fee with running your own entity and paying global payroll from $10 to $29 per employee; the break-even is worked through in EOR vs your own entity.

Billing complaints from EOR customers

  • Accruals charged upfront, a currency markup and a full year of health insurance billed after a resignation: a Multiplier client on Trustpilot, Aug 5, 2026. Another said Multiplier refused a refund (Aug 19, 2026).
  • Incorrect invoices and slow deposit returns: a Playroll client on Trustpilot, Apr 27, 2026.
  • Hidden fees and deposits: a Skuad reviewer on Trustpilot, Oct 8, 2025.
  • “The fees are very high”: a Velocity Global (now Pebl) reviewer, Sep 17, 2025.
  • EORs bill “the employee’s fully loaded cost, plus their service fee”: a Hacker News commenter, which is the right way to budget.

Provider-by-provider detail is in our Deel review, Remote review, Oyster review and Multiplier review, and the two biggest names go head to head in Deel vs Remote.

How to get a real EOR quote

  1. Give each provider the country, the gross salary and the start date. A quote without a country is a list price, not a quote.
  2. Ask for the monthly invoice broken into salary, each employer contribution, mandatory bonuses, benefits and the fee.
  3. Ask for the deposit amount, what it is based on and the refund timeline.
  4. Ask for the FX rate source and markup percentage.
  5. Ask whether the entity in that country is owned or a partner’s.
  6. Read the term, auto-renewal, price increase and early exit clauses on the order form.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an employer of record cost?
Published EOR fees checked October 16, 2026 run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management) to $699 (Oyster) per employee per month. Deel charges $599, Remote and Atlas start at $599, Multiplier at $459 billed annually, and Pebl and Playroll at $399. Salary and employer contributions are billed on top.
What is the cheapest EOR?
By list price, Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) at from $199 per employee per month, then Rivermate from $319 and Pebl and Playroll at $399 (checked October 16, 2026). The low-priced providers publish fewer deposit, FX and exit terms, so compare the contract, not just the fee.
What is Deel’s EOR pricing?
Deel lists its employer of record at $599 per employee per month on its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). It does not publish a deposit or FX markup. A promotion on the same page requires a two-year minimum term on PEO order forms signed July 15 to December 31, 2026, with full list price owed on early exit; Deel’s EOR terms would not load, so we could not confirm whether EOR contracts carry the same term.
What is Rippling’s EOR pricing?
Rippling publishes no EOR price; its pages ask you to request a quote (checked October 16, 2026). Gusto, a Rippling competitor, cites a Rippling starting reference of $499 per employee per month in a guide dated August 2, 2026. EOR is sold on top of the Rippling platform.
Do EORs charge a deposit?
Often. Playroll asks for one month’s salary per employee and Oyster at least one month of the total cost of services. Multiplier calculates it from costs, fees and notice periods, and Papaya Global charges one without stating an amount. Refunds take about 45 days at Pebl, about 60 days at Oyster and up to 60 days at Multiplier.
How much does it cost to hire in Germany through an employer of record?
On a EUR 35,000 salary, German employer contributions are 21.30%, or EUR 7,455.00, before the U1 and U2 levies and accident insurance (Deutsche Rentenversicherung 2026 figures). Add an EOR fee such as $599 a month ($7,188 a year) at Deel or Remote.
What does an employer of record cost in Canada?
On a CAD 56,643 salary, federal employer CPP and EI come to CAD 4,454.60, or 7.86% (CRA 2026 rates). Provinces add employer health tax and workers compensation. The EOR fee is extra, for example $599 a month at Deel or Remote, per their pricing pages checked October 16, 2026.
Is annual EOR billing cheaper?
Only Multiplier publishes both prices: $459 per employee per month on annual billing against $499 monthly for its Core plan, a saving of $480 a year per employee (checked October 16, 2026). Oyster says annual discounts are available without a figure. Others show one price.
Sources (35)
  1. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Remote: Remote terms of service (last updated Aug 3, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Remote: Remote order form terms and conditions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster customer terms (version 2025-02-27) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Multiplier: Multiplier EOR terms (effective Jun 1, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Multiplier: Multiplier FAQ (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. Globalization Partners: G-P pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. Globalization Partners: G-P LLM info page (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  13. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  14. Pebl: Pebl EOR supplemental order terms (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  15. Atlas: Atlas pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  16. Payoneer Workforce Management: Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad) pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  17. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  18. Rivermate: Rivermate pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  19. Rippling: Rippling employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  20. Gusto (a Rippling competitor): Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026; prices as of June 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  21. Omnipresent: Omnipresent employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  22. Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  23. Trustpilot: Multiplier reviews (4.8 from 2,871 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  24. Trustpilot: Playroll reviews (3.1 from 14 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  25. Trustpilot: Skuad reviews (4.0 from 15 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  26. Hacker News: Comment on severance escrow in Mexico (Jan 2023) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  27. Hacker News: Comment: EORs bill the fully loaded cost plus a fee (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  28. GOV.UK: Rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  29. GOV.UK: Workplace pensions: what you, your employer and the government pay (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  30. GOV.UK: Redundancy pay (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  31. Planalto (Government of Brazil): Lei 8.036 (FGTS) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  32. Press Information Bureau, Government of India: Labor codes in force from Nov 21, 2025 (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  33. Deutsche Rentenversicherung: Social insurance figures 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  34. Canada Revenue Agency: CPP contribution rates, maximums and exemptions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  35. Canada Revenue Agency: EI premium rates and maximums (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Deel pricing on Deel’s site