Employer of record in Indonesia: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

The confirmed portion of an Indonesian employee's on-cost is 4.59% of a IDR 721,239,847 salary in BPJS Ketenagakerjaan contributions, most of it the 3.7% JHT old-age savings charge, according to Deloitte's Indonesia Highlights 2026 (a secondary source); the 4% BPJS Kesehatan health contribution is not in that figure because its salary cap is not confirmed. EOR providers then charge from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, per their October 2026 pricing pages. The cost US employers most often leave out is THR: a religious holiday allowance of one month's wages, owed after 12 months of service and pro rata from one month, paid no later than 7 days before the holiday.

An employer of record in Indonesia is an Indonesian company that employs your hire, registers them with BPJS Ketenagakerjaan and BPJS Kesehatan, pays THR and runs payroll, while you set and review the work.

Currency
IDR
On this page

Indonesian rules that change what you pay

Indonesia's social security has five employer lines with different bases. Work accident insurance (JKK) runs from 0.24% to 1.74% depending on job risk; death benefit (JKM) is 0.3%; old-age savings (JHT) 3.7%; pension (JP) 2% on pay up to a cap of IDR 10,547,400 a month, which expatriates do not have to join. Health care through BPJS Kesehatan is 4%, also capped. Employees pay 4% in total.

  • THR is mandatory. One month's wages after 12 months of continuous service, pro rata from one month, under Permenaker 6/2016 and PP 36/2021.
  • Minimum wages are set by province and city. The 2026 provincial minimum (UMP) runs from IDR 2,317,601 a month in Jawa Barat to IDR 5,729,876 in DKI Jakarta, up 6.17%. City and regency rates (UMK) can be higher.
  • Probation only on permanent contracts: up to 3 months, and not allowed in fixed-term (PKWT) contracts (Manpower Act s.60(1) and s.58, as amended by Law 6/2023).
  • Pay at least monthly, with payments no more than one month apart (PP 36/2021).

Employment costs and rules in Indonesia

Employing someone in Indonesia: the rules and costs
ItemIndonesia
Employer social contributionsAbout 10.24% to 11.74% before caps (JKK 0.24% to 1.74% + JKM 0.3% + JHT 3.7% + JP 2% capped + health 4% capped); about 5.4% at the sample salary because of the caps
What the employer paysBPJS Ketenagakerjaan: work accident (JKK) 0.24% to 1.74% by risk; death (JKM) 0.3%; old-age savings (JHT) 3.7%; pension (JP) 2% subject to a salary cap. BPJS Kesehatan health care 4% subject to a salary cap
Caps and ceilingsJP wage cap IDR 10,547,400/mo (per dealls.com, set from Mar 2025; 2026 indexation not confirmed). Health cap not confirmed today (commonly IDR 12M/mo). Expatriates are not required to join JP
Employee contributions4%: JHT 2% + JP 1% (capped) + health 1% (capped); +1% per extra family member
Minimum wageProvincial UMP 2026, effective Jan 1, 2026: DKI Jakarta IDR 5,729,876/mo (highest, +6.17%); lowest Jawa Barat IDR 2,317,601. City and regency UMK rates may be higher
Mandatory bonusesTHR religious holiday allowance: 1 month's wages after 12 months' continuous service, pro rata from 1 month; paid no later than 7 days before the religious holiday (Permenaker 6/2016; PP 36/2021); 5% late fine
Probation3 months, indefinite-term contracts only; not allowed in fixed-term (PKWT) contracts (Manpower Act s.60(1) and s.58, as amended by Law 6/2023; GR 35/2021 s.12(1))
Notice periodNo statutory notice period by service. Employer must give written notice of the intended termination and reasons at least 14 working days before it takes effect (GR 35/2021 s.37(2)-(3)); if the worker disputes it, bipartite talks and then an industrial court ruling are required
SeverancePesangon 1 month's wages (under 1 year), rising 1 month per full year of service to 9 months (8+ years) (GR 35/2021 s.40(2)), plus long-service pay and compensation of rights; multipliers vary by ground (GR 35/2021 ss.41-57)
Payroll frequencyWages paid at least monthly (payments no more than one month apart, PP 36/2021)
Sample salary usedIDR 721,239,847
Employer cost on that salary4.59% floor excluding BPJS health; about 5.39% if the commonly cited IDR 12M health cap applies (not confirmed)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte Indonesia Highlights 2026, Apr 2026; Bisnis.com; ADCO Law; dealls.com; Gadjian). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Indonesia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Costing an IDR 60 million a month hire

USD 40,000 at the ECB cross rate is IDR 721,239,847 a year, or IDR 60,103,321 a month, about 10.5 times the Jakarta minimum wage.

Indonesia: confirmed portion of the yearly cost on IDR 721,239,847
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salaryIDR 60,103,321IDR 721,239,847
JKK work accident, 0.24% (lowest risk class)IDR 144,248IDR 1,730,976
JKM death benefit, 0.3%IDR 180,310IDR 2,163,720
JHT old-age savings, 3.7%IDR 2,223,823IDR 26,685,874
JP pension, 2% of the IDR 10,547,400 capIDR 210,948IDR 2,531,376
BPJS Kesehatan health care, 4% up to a capNot yet confirmedNot yet confirmed
THR religious holiday allowance, one monthOnce a yearIDR 60,103,321
EOR fee at $599 a monthIDR 10,800,567IDR 129,606,801
Confirmed portion of the costIDR 944,061,915

Source: Deloitte Indonesia Highlights 2026 and dealls.com (BPJS rates and the JP cap set from March 2025; 2026 indexation not confirmed); Permenaker 6/2016 and PP 36/2021 for THR. Fee: the $599 monthly list price shown by Deel and Remote on Oct 16, 2026, converted at the ECB cross rate of about IDR 18,031 per USD (IDR 20,290.28 and USD 1.1253 per EUR, Oct 16, 2026). Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic per month: 0.24% + 0.3% + 3.7% = 4.24% x 60,103,321 = 2,548,381, plus JP of 2% x 10,547,400 = 210,948, for 2,759,329, or 4.59%. A year of contributions is IDR 33,111,946. Not included yet: BPJS Kesehatan health care at 4% up to a cap we have not confirmed, any higher JKK risk class, a 2026 change to the JP cap. The fee at $199 is IDR 43,058,019 a year, at $399 IDR 86,332,410 and at $699 IDR 151,243,996. Model other salaries with the international cost calculator.

Termination is the big liability

Indonesia has no notice scale by length of service. The employer must give written notice of the termination and its reasons at least 14 working days before it takes effect (GR 35/2021 s.37). Severance (pesangon) starts at 1 month's wages under a year of service and rises 1 month per full year to 9 months after 8 years (GR 35/2021 s.40(2)), with long-service pay and compensation of rights added and multipliers that depend on the ground. After 3 full years, pesangon alone is 4 months: IDR 240,413,282 on this salary. Ask your EOR how it reserves for this.

Your own company or an EOR

Your own Indonesian company has to register with both BPJS agencies and run THR and severance itself. Weigh that against the fee with our EOR versus entity guide.

Indonesian contractors

Contractors avoid BPJS, THR and pesangon, which is exactly what a dispute would put back on the table if the role looks like employment. Keep contractors on defined deliverables, pay them through a contractor management platform, or use a contractor of record.

Which EOR to choose in Indonesia

An Indonesia quote should name the BPJS Kesehatan cap it uses, the JKK risk class for your role and the month THR will be paid. If any of those is missing, the total is not final. Multiplier leads our scores at 79 and Oyster is second at 64 (how we score).

Compare them in the EOR ranking, with background in the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews, and see Indonesia beside Malaysia and Vietnam in the cost index.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Indonesia employer of record cost?
EOR providers charge from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, per their October 2026 pricing pages. The confirmed BPJS Ketenagakerjaan charges are 4.59% on a IDR 60,103,321 monthly salary (Deloitte, 2026), before the 4% BPJS Kesehatan health contribution, whose cap we have not confirmed, and before one month of THR.
What is THR in Indonesia?
THR is a religious holiday allowance of one month's wages for employees with 12 months of continuous service, pro rata from one month of service. It must be paid no later than 7 days before the holiday, with a 5% fine for late payment (Permenaker 6/2016, PP 36/2021).
What are the BPJS employer rates?
BPJS Ketenagakerjaan: JKK 0.24% to 1.74% by risk, JKM 0.3%, JHT 3.7% and JP 2% up to a IDR 10,547,400 monthly cap. BPJS Kesehatan health care: 4% up to a cap we have not confirmed. Employees pay 4% in total (Deloitte Indonesia Highlights 2026, a secondary source; the JP cap is from dealls.com and dates from March 2025).
What is the minimum wage in Jakarta in 2026?
The DKI Jakarta provincial minimum wage (UMP) is IDR 5,729,876 a month from January 1, 2026, up 6.17%, the highest in Indonesia. The lowest provincial rate is IDR 2,317,601 in Jawa Barat (Bisnis.com).
How is severance calculated in Indonesia?
Under GR 35/2021 s.40(2), pesangon is 1 month's wages for under a year of service, rising by 1 month per full year to 9 months after 8 years, plus long-service pay and compensation of rights. The multiplier depends on the reason for termination.
Sources (14)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Deloitte: Indonesia Highlights 2026 (secondary) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. dealls.com: Potongan BPJS Ketenagakerjaan (secondary) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Bisnis.com: Daftar lengkap UMP 2026 di seluruh Indonesia (Jan 1, 2026, checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. ILO EPLex: Indonesia employment protection profile 2026 (secondary) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  12. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rate for Oct 16, 2026)
  13. adcolaw.com/?p=14253 (checked October 16, 2026)
  14. gadjian.com/llm-info/en-indonesia-labour-law-payroll.md (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site