Employer of record in Paraguay: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Paraguay adds 16.5% to an employee's total salary in the employer's IPS social insurance contribution, and the worker pays another 9%, according to the Ministry of Labor, Employment and Social Security (MTESS); the monthly EOR fee on top runs from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) (list prices, October 2026). The error to avoid is trusting a 0% table: Remote's Paraguay page shows IPS at 0% for both employer and employee and lists notice as one day.

An employer of record in Paraguay is a Paraguayan company that employs your hire, declares their salary to the Instituto de Previsión Social (IPS) each month, pays the employer contribution and runs payroll, while you assign the work.

Minimum annual leave
12 working days (1 to 5…
Currency
PYG
On this page

Paraguay's employment rules in brief

IPS covers health, pensions and work risk in one contribution. The employer declares each worker's monthly salary and pays 16.5% of the total; 9% is deducted from the worker's pay. The MTESS guide's own example uses the 2025 minimum wage of PYG 2,899,048: the employer pays PYG 478,343 and the worker PYG 260,914.

  • Minimum wage: PYG 3,044,000 a month from July 1, 2026, per Remote's country page, 5% above the 2025 figure set by Decreto 4122 of June 27, 2025. At that floor the employer's IPS is PYG 502,260 a month.
  • Vacation (per Remote): 12 working days for 1 to 5 years of service, 18 for 5 to 10 and 30 after 10.
  • Probation (per Remote): 30 days for unskilled and 60 days for skilled workers.
  • Severance: on unjustified dismissal, 15 days' pay per year of service plus pay in lieu of notice if notice was not given, per Remote citing Labor Code art. 91.
  • Payroll runs monthly.

We have not yet confirmed from official text Paraguay's year-end bonus (aguinaldo), the Labor Code notice scale, the work week or the public holiday count. Ask your EOR to put each one in the contract, and check with the MTESS.

Employment costs and rules in Paraguay

Employing someone in Paraguay: the rules and costs
ItemParaguay
Employer social contributions16.5% IPS (confirmed: MTESS social security guide for private-sector employees, Oct 2025 edition)
What the employer paysIPS social insurance (health, pension, work risk) employer 16.5% of total salary (MTESS guide, Oct 2025)
Caps and ceilingsNo ceiling; floor is the minimum wage (unconfirmed today)
Employee contributions9% IPS (MTESS guide, Oct 2025)
Minimum wagePYG 3,044,000 per month from July 1 2026 (secondary: remote.com; mtess.gov.py could not be read)
Mandatory bonusesAguinaldo: 1/12 of total annual pay, paid by Dec 31 (Labor Code art. 243, unconfirmed today)
Annual leave12 working days (1 to 5 years), 18 (5 to 10 years), 30 (over 10 years) (secondary: remote.com)
Probation30 days for unskilled workers, 60 days for skilled workers (secondary: remote.com)
Notice period30 days (up to 1 year), 45 days (1 to 5 years), 60 days (5 to 10 years), 90 days (over 10 years) (Labor Code art. 87, unconfirmed today)
SeveranceUnjustified dismissal: 15 days' pay per year of service (secondary: remote.com, citing Labor Code art. 91), plus pay in lieu of notice if not given
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedPYG 292,000,000 per year (PYG 24,333,333 per month); exchange rate not confirmed today, chosen at roughly 7,300 PYG per USD

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (MTESS guide, Oct 2025) for IPS rates; secondary (remote.com) for minimum wage, leave, probation and severance. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Paraguay

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

One Paraguayan employee, costed

No official guaraní exchange rate was confirmed for this page, so the example runs in dollars. Because IPS is a flat share of total pay with no ceiling we could find, the percentages hold at any salary.

Paraguay: confirmed yearly employer cost on a salary worth USD 40,000
LineShare of salaryPer year (USD equivalent)
Gross salary, paid in guaraníes$40,000.00
IPS employer contribution16.5%$6,600.00
Year-end bonus (aguinaldo)Not yet confirmedNot yet confirmed
Employer cost before the EOR fee (confirmed)$46,600.00
EOR fee at $599 a month$7,188.00
Confirmed all-in cost$53,788.00

Source: MTESS, Guía de Seguridad Social para trabajadores asalariados del sector privado (Oct 2025 edition), read Oct 17, 2026. Fee: $599 a month as listed by Deel and Remote on Oct 16, 2026. Amounts are in USD because we have not confirmed a guaraní exchange rate. Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic: 16.5% x 40,000 = 6,600. Add the fee of $599 x 12 = $7,188 and the confirmed total is $53,788 a year. At $199 a month the fee is $2,388, at $399 $4,788 and at $699 $8,388. The aguinaldo is not in this figure yet; if your EOR includes one, its quote should show it as its own line. Run other numbers in the international cost calculator.

Ending a Paraguayan contract

Severance on an unjustified dismissal is 15 days' pay for each year worked, according to Remote's summary of Labor Code art. 91 (a secondary source). After 4 years that is 60 days' pay, plus pay in lieu of any notice not given. Remote's "one day" notice entry should not be used to plan an exit. Ask the EOR what notice it will give and how its deposit covers severance.

Own entity or EOR in Paraguay

Running a Paraguayan company means IPS registration, monthly salary declarations and local payroll. For a first hire the $7,188 annual EOR fee usually beats that overhead. Use our EOR or entity comparison when headcount grows.

Paying contractors in Paraguay

Contractors skip the 16.5% IPS charge, which makes the model tempting. If the work has fixed hours, one client and your managers in charge, it may be treated as employment and the IPS contributions become due. See contractor management platforms or a contractor of record.

Choosing your Paraguay EOR

Whichever provider you pick, ask to see IPS at 16.5% as a line in the quote. Remote's own country data shows 0%, so check what its calculator produces before signing. On our scores Multiplier is first (79/100) and Oyster second (64/100); here is how we score.

The EOR ranking has the full list. Our Remote, Deel and Oyster reviews cover contracts and deposits, and the cost index compares Paraguay with Uruguay and Argentina.

Frequently asked questions

What does an employer of record in Paraguay cost?
Monthly EOR list prices in October 2026 went from $199 at Payoneer Workforce Management, the former Skuad, up to Oyster's $699. The employer also pays IPS at 16.5% of total salary (MTESS). On a salary worth $40,000 with a $599 fee, the confirmed total is $53,788 a year.
What are the IPS contribution rates in Paraguay?
16.5% of total salary from the employer and 9% from the worker, 25.5% in all, according to the MTESS social security guide for private-sector employees.
What is the minimum wage in Paraguay in 2026?
PYG 3,044,000 a month from July 1, 2026, according to Remote's country page, a secondary source. The 2025 figure was PYG 2,899,048 under Decreto 4122 of June 27, 2025 (MTESS).
What severance applies in Paraguay?
On unjustified dismissal, 15 days' pay per year of service plus pay in lieu of notice if notice was not given, per Remote's summary of Labor Code art. 91. We have not yet confirmed the notice scale from official text.
Why does Remote show 0% IPS for Paraguay?
It appears to be a placeholder. The MTESS guide sets IPS at 16.5% for the employer and 9% for the worker. Remote's page also lists notice as one day.
Sources (9)
  1. MTESS (Ministerio de Trabajo, Empleo y Seguridad Social): Guía de Seguridad Social para trabajadores asalariados del sector privado (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  2. Remote: Paraguay country explorer (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site