Employer of record in Jordan: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

An employer of record in Jordan pays 14.25% Social Security Corporation (SSC) contributions on top of a JOD 28,400 salary, JOD 4,047 a year on Deloitte's Jordan Highlights 2026 figures; on top of that, a provider bills its own service charge, listed from $199 per head monthly by Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to $699 by Oyster when we looked in October 2026. Where American employers tend to slip in Jordan is the ceiling: contributions stop at JOD 3,668 of monthly salary, so a senior hire on JOD 5,000 a month costs an effective 10.45% in SSC, not 14.25%.

An employer of record in Jordan is a Jordanian company that takes your hire onto its payroll, registers them with the Social Security Corporation and pays the employer share, while you decide the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
14.25% (JOD 4,047); salary is…on top of gross pay
Currency
JOD
On this page

Jordan's employer rules: what we can confirm

One social security charge. The employer pays 14.25% and the employee 7.5% to the SSC, on pay up to JOD 3,668 a month (Deloitte, January 2026). We have not yet confirmed how the 14.25% splits between old age, work injury, maternity and unemployment.

The cap changes the math for senior pay. Above JOD 3,668 a month nothing more is due. On JOD 5,000 a month, the employer pays 14.25% x 3,668 = JOD 522.69, which is 10.45% of salary.

A 2024 regulation may lower the rate for some workers. Alongside Law No. 1 of 2014, the SSC publishes a 2024 regulation that cuts old-age contributions for certain private-sector workers. We have not read its terms, so a quote that uses a rate below 14.25% should cite it.

The dinar is pegged. At 0.709 JOD per USD, salary and fees in dollars convert at a stable rate, so currency risk is low compared with floating currencies. Payroll runs monthly.

Employment costs and rules in Jordan

Employing someone in Jordan: the rules and costs
ItemJordan
Employer social contributions14.25%
Caps and ceilingsMax monthly salary subject to contributions JOD 3,668 (secondary, Deloitte Jan 2026)
Employee contributions7.5%
Mandatory bonusesNone by statute
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedJOD 28,400 per year (JOD 2,366.67/mo), about USD 40,000 at the 0.709 JOD/USD peg (exactly JOD 28,360)
Employer cost on that salary14.25% (JOD 4,047); salary is under the 3,668/mo cap

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte Jordan Highlights 2026); ssc.gov.jo homepage read but rate pages not reached. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Jordan

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

JOD 28,400 salary: annual cost

Annual employer cost in Jordan on JOD 28,400 (JOD 2,366.67 a month)
LineCalculationJOD per year
Gross salaryabout USD 40,000 at the 0.709 JOD per USD peg (exactly JOD 28,360, rounded)28,400.00
Social Security Corporation, employer14.25% x 28,4004,047.00
Salary plus employer cost32,447.00
EOR fee$7,188 x 0.7095,096.29
Total for one year37,543.29

Working: 28,400 x 14.25% = 4,047. Fee: $599 x 12 = $7,188, times 0.709 = 5,096.29. At JOD 2,366.67 a month this hire sits below the JOD 3,668 ceiling. Rate from Deloitte Jordan Highlights 2026 (secondary); the $599 list price is Deel's and Remote's, as published Oct 2026.

Model other salaries with the international employee cost calculator, and compare Jordan with Saudi Arabia and Egypt in the EOR cost index.

Labor terms to get in writing

The Jordanian cost figures rest on Deloitte's 2026 summary, a secondary source; the labor law side is still open. Items still open in our research:

  • the national minimum wage for 2026
  • annual leave and public holidays
  • probation length and notice periods
  • end-of-service pay, and who it applies to when the worker is covered by SSC
  • the standard work week

Until a government source settles them, treat any provider's figures as its own claims: have them written into the Jordanian contract, then compare against what the Ministry of Labor publishes. End-of-service pay matters most, since it sets the price of letting someone go.

Choosing a Jordan EOR

Two providers lead our scored comparison: Multiplier on 79 points and Oyster on 64, with Remote at 62 and Deel at 54 behind them. In dollars, a Jordanian hire through Multiplier is $5,508 a year on its annual plan ($459 x 12), through Oyster $8,388 ($699 x 12, plus a deposit Oyster sizes at no less than one month of its total charges), and through Remote or Deel $7,188. Before signing, find out two things: does the provider run its own Jordanian company or rent a local partner's, and has its quote applied the SSC's 2024 old-age regulation? Full scores sit in the EOR provider ranking; contracts and exit terms are in our write-ups of Oyster, Remote and Deel.

Contractor, EOR or a Jordanian entity

Engaging a Jordanian freelancer means no SSC filings, but a contract that is full time and exclusive in practice invites reclassification, with the unpaid 14.25% coming back to you. Shifting that exposure is what a contractor of record is for; plain contractor payment software leaves it with you. For a growing Amman team, JOD 5,096.29 per head per year in provider fees is the benchmark a local company has to undercut; our entity versus EOR breakdown runs that comparison.

Frequently asked questions

What is the employer cost of a Jordanian hire?
SSC contributions of 14.25%, charged on salary up to JOD 3,668 monthly, per Deloitte Jordan Highlights 2026, so JOD 4,047 on a JOD 28,400 salary. Provider fees are separate: listed fees run from $199 to $699 per employee monthly (October 2026); Pebl and Playroll list $399.
What is the SSC contribution rate in Jordan?
14.25% for the employer and 7.5% for the employee, on monthly salary up to JOD 3,668, according to Deloitte's Jordan Highlights 2026. The SSC also publishes a 2024 regulation that reduces old-age contributions for some private-sector workers; we have not read its terms.
Do Jordanian social security contributions stop at a ceiling?
Yes, at JOD 3,668 of monthly salary. On a JOD 5,000 monthly salary the employer pays JOD 522.69 (14.25% of 3,668), an effective 10.45%.
What is a $599 EOR fee worth in Jordanian dinars?
JOD 5,096.29 a year: $599 x 12 = $7,188, converted at the 0.709 JOD per USD peg. The lowest listed fee, from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad), would be JOD 1,693.09 a year, Pebl's $399 would be JOD 3,394.69, and Oyster's $699 would be JOD 5,947.09.
Sources (9)
  1. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. deloitte.com/content/dam/assets-shared/docs/services/tax/2026/dttl-... (checked October 16, 2026)
  9. ssc.gov.jo (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site