PEO companies in California: costs, scores and the rules that matter
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
California does not license PEOs, so there is no state list to check; IRS certification and the contract are the only formal tests you get. On price, Justworks, the top-scored PEO in our ranking, charges $79 to $124 per employee per month (checked October 16, 2026), and California adds 3.4% unemployment insurance plus 0.1% Employment Training Tax on the first $7,000 per employee.
For a 10-person California team that is $12,350 to $17,750 a year in PEO fees and state and federal unemployment taxes, before employer FICA, health premiums and workers' comp.
A PEO in California is a co-employer that runs payroll, tax filing, benefits and HR for client companies; California has no PEO license, so oversight comes from IRS certification and general employer law.
On this page
No state license: what to check instead
Some states make PEOs register and publish the list. California does not. That shifts the due diligence to you:
- IRS CPEO status. For wages a certified PEO pays, the CPEO is treated as the employer for federal employment taxes. With a non-certified PEO, the client generally stays liable. Match the exact entity name on our IRS certified PEO list.
- The service agreement. Who is the employer for California wage and hour claims, and who pays if a filing is wrong?
- EDD accounts. Ask whether your unemployment and SDI reporting runs under the PEO's Employment Development Department account or yours.
Of the top 5 PEOs we score, all have an entity on the IRS active list dated August 7, 2026. BBSI, Rippling PEO and Vensure were not found under those names; they may certify under another entity.
California PEO rankings
The order follows our published scores. Justworks is the only PEO here with a list price. TriNet (50) has the best-documented support hours of the group: 24/7 chat and phone from 6 a.m. to midnight Eastern on weekdays, which covers the full California business day.
| PEO | Score | Published price | On IRS CPEO list (Aug 7, 2026) | California coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Justworks | 67 | $79 to $124 per employee per month | Yes (Justworks Employment Group LLC and 3 related) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 2. TriNet | 50 | Quote only | Yes (TriNet HR III-B, Inc.) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 3. ADP TotalSource | 44 | Quote only | Yes (ADP TotalSource, Inc. and related) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 4. Paychex PEO | 34 | Quote only | Yes (Paychex PEO VI LLC, VII, Oasis HR Solutions III) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 5. Insperity | 33 | Quote only | Yes (Insperity PEO HR, Inc.; Insperity PEO Services, L.P.) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 6. BBSI | 26 | Quote only | Not found | Not confirmed: Multi-state support, no state list |
| 7. Amplify HR Management | 23 | Quote only | Yes (Amplify HR Management, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 8. ExtensisHR | 22 | Quote only | Yes (Extensis Inc. and 5 related) | Not confirmed: "Across the country", no state list |
| 9. Engage PEO | 21 | Quote only | Yes (Engage PEO, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 10. PrestigePEO | 20 | Quote only | Yes (3 Prestige entities) | Not confirmed: "National", no state list |
| 11. Questco | 20 | Quote only | Yes (QUESTCO HR LLC) | Not confirmed: "From Arizona to Nebraska and beyond" |
| 12. Sequoia One | 17 | Quote only | Yes (Sequoia One PEO, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 13. Rippling PEO | 11 | Quote only | Not found under the Rippling name | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 14. G&A Partners | 8 | Not verified | Likely match, unconfirmed | Not confirmed: Not verified (site blocked) |
| 15. Vensure | 8 | Quote only | Not found under the Vensure name | Not confirmed: Not stated |
IRS active CPEO list (August 7, 2026) for the certification column. Vendor sites, checked October 16, 2026, for price and California coverage. Scores dated October 17, 2026; see how we score.
See the TriNet PEO review and Insperity review for evidence. Insperity charges a fixed per-employee HR fee that it says does not rise when you raise pay, which matters with California wage floors climbing.
Cost for 10 California employees
California is a high-tax state for employees, but the employer's state payroll taxes are modest: UI and ETT on the first $7,000. SDI is 1.3% of all wages with no cap since January 1, 2024, and it is withheld from employees, not paid by you. The table assumes $50,000 salaries.
| Cost line | How it is figured | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Justworks PEO Basic fee | $79 x 10 employees x 12 months | $9,480 |
| Justworks PEO Plus fee | $124 x 10 employees x 12 months | $14,880 |
| Industry admin fee range (estimate) | $40 to $160 x 10 x 12 (ADP guide, July 14, 2026) | $4,800 to $19,200 |
| FUTA | 0.6% net x first $7,000 x 10 | $420 |
| California UI | 3.4% new employer rate x first $7,000 x 10 | $2,380 |
| Employment Training Tax (ETT) | 0.1% x first $7,000 x 10 | $70 |
| State Disability Insurance (SDI) | 1.3% of wages, withheld from employees; no employer share | $0 employer |
| Justworks fee plus unemployment and state program taxes | Basic or Plus fee + FUTA, UI and ETT ($2,870 together) | $12,350 to $17,750 |
| Employer FICA (owed with or without a PEO) | 7.65% x $50,000 x 10 | $38,250 |
| All-in with Justworks, before health premiums and workers' comp | Line above + employer FICA | $50,600 to $56,000 |
| All-in at the industry fee range | $40 or $160 fee + all taxes above | $45,920 to $60,320 |
California lines from EDD 2026 rates. PEO fees: Justworks site (checked 10/16/2026) and ADP's industry estimate (7/14/2026). A possible 2026 FUTA credit reduction for California is not included: 1.5% on the first $7,000 ($1,050 for 10), or 5.3% ($3,710 for 10) if the benefit cost rate add-on applies, per DOL's potential list. The final list comes after November 10, 2026.
Watch the FUTA line. California is on DOL's potential 2026 credit reduction list: 1.5% on the first $7,000 would add $105 per employee, and 5.3% would add $371 if the benefit cost rate add-on applies. Our PEO cost guide explains how health premiums and workers' comp sit on top of these numbers.
California rules a PEO has to get right
California payroll mistakes are expensive, and these are the rules most often involved:
- Final pay: immediately when you fire someone; within 72 hours if they quit without notice; on the last day if they gave 72 hours' notice. Accrued vacation is included.
- Paydays: at least twice each calendar month on set days (Labor Code 204); exempt staff may be paid monthly.
- Minimum wage: $16.90 in 2026, rising to $17.40 on January 1, 2027, with an exempt salary floor of $72,384. No tip credit.
- Workers' comp: required with 1 or more employees, from private carriers, State Compensation Insurance Fund or self-insurance.
- Supplemental withholding: 6.6%, or 10.23% for bonuses and stock options.
San Francisco levies business taxes measured partly by payroll; there is no local wage tax. See the California payroll tax guide for EDD links.
Benefits complaints to read before you sign
Health plans are a main reason California firms join a PEO, and also a main source of complaints. TriNet's most common recent theme on Trustpilot is rejected FSA claims from worksite employees (July and August 2026). An ADP TotalSource reviewer wrote that plans were "limited to just Aetna health plans that increase every year" (Capterra, March 31, 2025, more than a year old). Ask which carriers and networks cover your ZIP codes before comparing fees.
Questions for a California PEO
- Which of your entities is on the IRS CPEO list, and is it the one on our contract?
- Will our UI, ETT and SDI run under your EDD account or ours?
- Who pays waiting-time penalties if a final paycheck is late?
- Is your fee per employee or a percent of payroll?
- Which medical carriers are available in our counties, and what was last year's renewal increase?
- What are the notice period and exit fees?
If you mostly need payroll and a benefits broker, compare the PEO and payroll service models first.
Frequently asked questions
Does California require PEOs to be licensed?
How much does a PEO cost in California?
Does the employer pay California SDI under a PEO?
What is the California minimum wage for 2027?
Which PEO ranks first for California businesses?
Sources (13)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing (PEO Basic and PEO Plus) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: TriNet PEO pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: What is the cost of a PEO (updated July 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Active certified PEO list (report date Aug 7, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- California EDD: Rates and withholding (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- California DIR: Minimum wage increase for 2027 (release 2026-66) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- California DIR: Paydays, pay periods and final wages (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- California DIR: Workers' compensation: employer information (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: Contact TriNet (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Insperity: Insperity pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Certified professional employer organization (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: TriNet reviews (3.9 from 230 reviews) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: ADP TotalSource reviews, page 4 (checked Oct 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.