Rippling PEO review: is Rippling a PEO, and what does it cost?
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Rippling PEO is quote only: its PEO page shows no price, minimum or setup fee, and Fit Small Business (updated October 15, 2026) also lists it as "Call for a quote" (checked October 16, 2026). The PEO runs on Rippling's platform, whose pricing FAQ says plans "start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee". We could not confirm Rippling PEO on the IRS certified PEO list.
Rippling PEO is the professional employer organization option on Rippling's HR, payroll and IT platform: Rippling co-employs your staff and gives them access to group benefits, priced by quote on top of platform fees.
On this page
- Rippling PEO at a glance
- Rippling PEO pricing
- Budgeting Rippling PEO for 5, 10 and 25 employees
- What Rippling PEO includes and leaves out
- CPEO status: not confirmed
- Contract, states and exit terms
- Support
- What Rippling customers complain about
- Our score for Rippling PEO
- Who Rippling PEO fits, and who should look elsewhere
Rippling PEO at a glance
- Published price
- Nonequote only
- Platform pricing
- From $8per employee per month, plus a base fee
- Setup fee and minimum
- Not statedRippling PEO page
- IRS CPEO
- Not confirmedno Rippling entity found on IRS list
Is Rippling a PEO? Yes. Rippling sells a PEO as one option inside its HR, payroll, IT and device platform. You can also buy Rippling payroll and HR software without co-employment. That flexibility is the main reason to look at Rippling PEO, and the modular pricing is the main reason people struggle to budget for it.
Rippling PEO pricing
| Source and date | Figure | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Rippling PEO page, checked Oct 16, 2026 | No price, minimum or setup fee | Rippling PEO |
| Rippling pricing page FAQ, checked Oct 16, 2026 | "Rippling plans start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee" | Rippling platform, not tied to a product; base fee not stated |
| Fit Small Business, updated Oct 15, 2026 | "Call for a quote" | Rippling PEO |
| Forbes Advisor (Jan 2026), cited by Gusto's Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026) | $35 a month plus a per-employee fee, from a quote | Rippling platform. Gusto is a Rippling competitor. |
Third-party figures are estimates, not Rippling prices. Checked Oct 16, 2026.
Rippling's own PEO cost article promoted "3 months PEO free" when our research checked it in October 2026; no terms were shown there. If you are offered free months, ask whether they are clawed back if you leave early. Deel, for comparison, credits three months of PEO fees only on a minimum two-year term and charges the full list price on early termination.
Because Rippling PEO sits on a modular platform, the bill has three layers: the platform base fee, per-employee fees for each module you turn on (payroll, time, devices, apps), and the PEO fee. Capterra reviewers say modular pricing is hard to budget and climbs with modules and headcount (Capterra page 6, eight reviews from Sep 2025 to Aug 2026). Ask for a quote that lists every module and the price at your headcount next year, not just today.
Budgeting Rippling PEO for 5, 10 and 25 employees
We cannot price Rippling PEO for a sample team: Rippling publishes no PEO fee. What you can price now are the lines every PEO passes through at cost. For a team where everyone earns $50,000:
| Team size | Employer FICA (7.65%) | FUTA ($42 each) |
|---|---|---|
| 5 employees | 7.65% x $250,000 = $19,125 | 5 x $42 = $210 |
| 10 employees | 7.65% x $500,000 = $38,250 | 10 x $42 = $420 |
| 25 employees | 7.65% x $1,250,000 = $95,625 | 25 x $42 = $1,050 |
Source: IRS Publication 926 (2026): 6.2% Social Security on wages up to $184,500 plus 1.45% Medicare; FUTA net 0.6% on the first $7,000 per employee. Checked Oct 16, 2026.
Add state unemployment tax (2026 SUTA rates), workers' comp (workers' comp costs), health premiums, the Rippling platform and module fees, and the PEO fee. For a yardstick, Justworks posts its PEO at $79 or $124 per employee per month, and ADP's industry range is $40 to $160. More in PEO cost per employee.
What Rippling PEO includes and leaves out
Rippling says the PEO gives access to benefits "at affordable and predictable rates" through national carriers. The PEO page does not publish a carrier list, setup fee, minimum, contract term, exit terms or tax filing guarantee. Rippling's pricing and terms pages also give no tax penalty guarantee or cancellation terms (the terms URL returned an error when our research checked it).
Questions to put in writing:
- The PEO fee per employee per month, and which platform modules are required to use it.
- Which carriers and plans are available in each of your states.
- Whether you can drop the PEO later and keep Rippling payroll and HR, and what that does to price.
- Who registers state tax accounts. A Capterra reviewer (May 11, 2026) says they had to register with state agencies themselves.
CPEO status: not confirmed
Our research checked the IRS active CPEO list (report date 8/7/2026) and did not find an entity under the Rippling name. The Rippling PEO page does not claim CPEO status. A PEO can certify under a different legal name, so absence from a name search does not prove Rippling is not certified. We could not confirm it either way.
Why it matters: under 26 USC 3511, a CPEO is treated as the employer for federal employment taxes on the wages it pays, and as a successor employer, so Social Security and FUTA wage bases carry over when you join or leave mid-year. Those rules are written for certified PEOs; with a non-certified PEO, the client can remain liable for its employment taxes. Ask Rippling for the exact legal name and EIN of the PEO entity on your contract and check it against the IRS certified PEO list yourself.
Contract, states and exit terms
| Term | What Rippling publishes |
|---|---|
| Contract length | Not published |
| Minimum headcount | Not published |
| Setup or implementation fee | Not published |
| Notice period and exit fee | Not published |
| States | Rippling tracks federal, state and local rules; no PEO state list published |
Source: Rippling PEO and pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.
Leaving Rippling PEO has one advantage over leaving most PEOs: if Rippling lets you keep its software, your payroll history, HR records and devices can stay where they are while co-employment ends. You still need new health plans that start the day the PEO plans end, a new 401(k) plan, and your own state unemployment account. Get that path, and its price, in writing before you sign. The PEO switching checklist covers the timing.
Support
Rippling says "When you need support, Rippling answers in less than 30 seconds." Hours are not published. Capterra reviewers say only administrators can reach live support ("only administratos can contact live support", sic) and that support is slow on complex issues. In a PEO, that matters: your employees will have benefits questions, and they may not be able to call.
What Rippling customers complain about
Rippling's review profiles cover the whole platform, not just the PEO: G2 shows 4.7 out of 5 from 14,535 reviews and Trustpilot 4.5 out of 5 from 2,548 reviews (both seen October 16, 2026). The recurring complaints:
| Complaint | How often | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Modular pricing hard to budget; cost climbs with modules and headcount | Very common | Capterra page 6 (8 reviews, Sep 2025 to Aug 2026); HN comment |
| Only admins reach live support; slow on complex issues | Several | Capterra page 6 |
| State registrations left to the client | Once | Capterra, May 11, 2026 |
| Employer health fund contribution shown twice | Once | Capterra, Dec 29, 2025 |
Source: review pages linked, read Oct 16, 2026.
Our score for Rippling PEO
Rippling PEO
One system for payroll, HR, devices and apps, with the PEO as an option you can add to it. Points off for no published PEO price or terms, CPEO status we could not confirm, admin-only live support and pricing that is hard to forecast.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency0/25
- Benefits4/20
- Contract and exit0/20
- Compliance0/15
- Support1/10
- Complaints record6/10
Rippling PEO ranks 13 of the 15 PEOs we score.
| Criterion | Points |
|---|---|
| Price transparency | 0 of 25 |
| Benefits access | 4 of 20 |
| Contract and exit terms | 0 of 20 |
| Compliance coverage | 0 of 15 |
| Support | 1 of 10 |
| Documented complaint patterns | 6 of 10 |
| Total | 11 of 100 |
Source: HRPricing PEO scores, checked Oct 17, 2026, from terms, prices and complaints documented Oct 16, 2026.
We score from published terms, prices and documented complaints, not testing. See our scoring method and the full list of best PEO companies.
Who Rippling PEO fits, and who should look elsewhere
What works
- You want payroll, HR, IT and device management in one system, with PEO benefits on top.
- You expect to grow out of a PEO and want to keep the same software afterward.
- You already use Rippling and want group benefits for a small team.
Watch out for
- You want a CPEO you can verify on the IRS list today: Justworks, TriNet, Insperity, ADP TotalSource and Paychex PEO are all on it.
- You need a fixed, predictable monthly bill.
- Your employees need to reach support directly.
Compare: Rippling vs Justworks, Rippling payroll pricing, the Justworks review and the TriNet review. Not sure you need co-employment? Read PEO vs payroll service or start at the PEO hub.
More PEO reviews and comparisons
- ADP TotalSource reviewADP's PEO: quote-only pricing, workers' comp in the fee, renewals.
- Engage PEO reviewQuote-only PEO on the IRS CPEO list; most terms not public.
- Insperity reviewHow Insperity's fixed fee works, the $425 promo and what to ask.
- Justworks reviewPosted PEO prices, the 2026 increase, complaints and how to leave.
- Justworks alternativesScored alternatives, payroll-only routes and a step-by-step exit plan.
- Justworks vs TriNetA posted $79 to $124 PEO fee against TriNet's quote, minimum headcount and longer support hours.
- Paychex PEO reviewQuote-only pricing, 2026 estimates, Oasis and the exit fees to ask about.
- Rippling vs JustworksJustworks' posted $79 to $124 PEO fee against Rippling's quote-only PEO and modules.
- TriNet reviewQuote-only pricing, the FSA complaints, minimums and how to leave.
- TriNet alternativesScored alternatives, the ASO option and what changes when you leave.
- TriNet vs InsperityTwo quote-only PEOs: TriNet's per-employee fee against Insperity's fixed HR charge and $425 credit.
Frequently asked questions
Is Rippling a PEO?
How much does Rippling PEO cost?
Is Rippling PEO IRS certified (CPEO)?
What is Rippling PEO 1, Inc.?
Can I leave Rippling PEO and keep Rippling payroll?
Who can contact Rippling support?
Sources (16)
- Rippling: Rippling PEO page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: Rippling pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Best PEO companies (updated Oct 15, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto (a Rippling competitor): Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026; pricing as of June 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Active certified professional employer organizations list (report date 8/7/2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Certified professional employer organization (page last reviewed Jul 15, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Cornell Legal Information Institute (text of 26 USC 3511): 26 U.S. Code 3511: certified professional employer organizations (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: Rippling reviews, page 6 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: Rippling reviews, all products (4.7/5, 14,535 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Rippling reviews, all products (4.5/5, 2,548 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (US PEO) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Publication 926 (2026): 2026 Social Security wage base and FICA rates (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: How much does a PEO cost? (Rippling blog) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Comment on Rippling modular pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: PEO: what is the cost of a PEO? (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.