Minimum wage by state: 2026 rates, map and 2027 increases
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour in 2026, Washington pays the highest state rate at $17.13, and 30 states plus DC pay more than the federal rate, according to the US Department of Labor and state labor departments (checked October 2026).
DC is $18.40 and Seattle $21.30. Fourteen states have announced 2027 increases, led by Washington at $17.73. Last updated October 18, 2026.
Minimum wage is the lowest hourly rate an employer may legally pay a non-exempt employee; when federal, state and local rates differ, the employer pays the highest one that applies where the work is done.
On this page
- Minimum wage map: every state in 2026
- Minimum wage by state, 2026 table
- Highest minimum wage by state
- Lowest minimum wage by state
- Minimum wage 2027: states with increases announced
- Tipped minimum wage by state
- City and county minimum wages
- Federal minimum wage history since 1938
- What a minimum wage hire costs the employer
- Common minimum wage mistakes
- Use this data
- Change log
Minimum wage map: every state in 2026
- $7.25 (federal floor)
- $7.26 to $9.99
- $10.00 to $12.99
- $13.00 to $14.99
- $15.00 to $16.99
- $17.00 or more
Download state minimum wages (CSV)
- Federal minimum
- $7.25since July 24, 2009
- Highest state rate
- $17.13Washington (DC is $18.40)
- Above federal
- 30 statesplus DC
- 2027 increases
- 14 statesannounced as of Oct 18, 2026
The map shades each state by the rate in effect on October 18, 2026. New York's tile shows its $17.00 downstate rate and Oregon's shows its $15.55 standard rate (Portland metro is $16.80). Select a state for its tipped wage, exemptions and 2027 rate. The CSV holds every state with the official source link and the date we checked it.
Minimum wage by state, 2026 table
All 50 states and DC: the 2026 rate, the tipped cash wage and any 2027 rate already announced. State names link to each state minimum wage page.
| State | 2026 minimum wage | Tipped cash wage | 2027 (if announced) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $7.25 (no state minimum wage law; federal applies) | $2.13 (federal) | none announced |
| Alaska | $14.00 (effective July 1, 2026; $13.00 Jan 1 to June 30, 2026) | $14.00 (no tip credit) | $15.00 effective July 1, 2027 (AS 23.10.065); CPI indexing from Jan 1, 2028 |
| Arizona | $15.15 | $12.15 (max tip credit $3.00) | $15.65 effective Jan 1 2027 (source_type=secondary: FreshPlaza, Sept 17 2026, citing CPI; azica.gov page did not show it) |
| Arkansas | $11.00 (employers with 4 or more employees) | $2.63 | none announced |
| California | $16.90 | $16.90 (no tip credit) | $17.40 effective Jan 1 2027 (DIR release Aug 13 2026; exempt salary floor $72,384) |
| Colorado | $15.16 state; local: Denver $19.29, Edgewater $18.17, City of Boulder $16.82, unincorporated Boulder County $16.82 | $12.14 state; Denver $16.27, Edgewater $13.50, Boulder city and county $13.80 | $15.71 in 2027 (tipped $12.69); Denver $19.84 in 2027 (CDLE release Aug 13 2026; release gives no effective date) |
| Connecticut | $16.94 | $6.38 hotel and restaurant; $8.23 bartenders | $17.48 effective January 1, 2027 (announced August 5, 2026) |
| Delaware | $15.00 | $2.23 | none announced |
| District of Columbia | $18.40 (effective July 1, 2026; $17.95 before) | $10.30 (effective July 1, 2026) | not yet announced (adjusted each July 1 by CPI) |
| Florida | $14.00 through Sept 29 2026; $15.00 from Sept 30 2026 | $10.98 through Sept 29 2026; $11.98 from Sept 30 2026 ($15.00 minus fixed $3.02 tip credit) | $15.00 continues; next inflation adjustment calculated Sept 30 2027 (source_type=secondary on timing: Lowndes law firm article says new rate takes effect Jan 1 2028; confirm against Fla. Const. Art. X s. 24) |
| Georgia | $5.15 state (6+ employees); FLSA-covered employers pay $7.25 | $2.13 (federal; state law does not cover tipped employees) | none announced |
| Hawaii | $16.00 | $14.75 ($1.25 tip credit, only if wages plus tips are at least $7.00 above minimum wage) | none announced |
| Idaho | $7.25 | $3.35 | none announced |
| Illinois | $15.00 (employers with 4+ employees) | $9.00 (tip credit 40%) | none announced |
| Indiana | $7.25 (employers of 2 or more employees) | $2.13 | none announced |
| Iowa | $7.25 | $4.35 | none announced |
| Kansas | $7.25 | $2.13 | none announced |
| Kentucky | $7.25 | $2.13 | none announced |
| Louisiana | $7.25 (no state minimum wage law; federal applies) | $2.13 | none announced |
| Maine | $15.10 | $7.55 (50% of minimum; tipped = more than $191/month in tips) | Not announced |
| Maryland | $15.00 | $3.63 | none announced |
| Massachusetts | $15.00 | $6.75 | none announced |
| Michigan | $13.73 (employers with 2+ employees) | $5.49 (rises yearly until 50% of minimum wage in 2031) | $15.00 effective Jan 1 2027, then annual formula adjustment |
| Minnesota | $11.41 (all employers) | $11.41 (no tip credit) | $11.87 effective Jan 1 2027 |
| Mississippi | $7.25 (no state minimum wage law; federal applies) | $2.13 | none announced |
| Missouri | $15.00 (excludes retail or service businesses under $500,000 gross sales) | $7.50 (50% of minimum) | none listed on state page |
| Montana | $10.85 (businesses over $110,000 gross sales; $4.00 for non-FLSA businesses at or under $110,000) | $10.85 (no tip credit) | $11.20 effective Jan 1 2027 |
| Nebraska | $15.00 (employers of 4+ employees); $13.50 for ages 14 and 15 from Jul 18 2026 | $2.13 | Not announced |
| Nevada | $12.00 | $12.00 (no tip credit) | none announced |
| New Hampshire | $7.25 (federal rate) | $3.27 | none announced |
| New Jersey | $15.92 most employers; $15.23 small (under 6) and seasonal | $6.05 (max tip credit $9.87) | $16.48 most employers; $16.25 small and seasonal; $15.00 agricultural; tipped cash $6.61 (effective Jan 1 2027, release Sept 29 2026) |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | $3.00 | none announced |
| New York | $17.00 NYC, Long Island, Westchester; $16.00 rest of state | Food service: $11.35 NYC, LI, Westchester; $10.70 rest of state (NYS DOL page lists these for 2027 with no increase; treat 2026 as the same, confirm). Other tipped categories differ | No change for Jan 1 2027 ($17.00 / $16.00): inflation off-ramp triggered. Home care aides rise to $20.00 / $19.00. Governor has proposed changing the off-ramp (not law) |
| North Carolina | $7.25 | $2.13 | none announced |
| North Dakota | $7.25 | $4.86 (tip credit 33%, $2.39) | none announced (not indexed) |
| Ohio | $11.00 (employers with gross receipts of $405,000+); $7.25 below that | $5.50 | $11.40; tipped $5.70; small-employer threshold $419,000 (2027 poster rev. 9/30/26; poster does not print the effective date, Ohio adjusts each Jan 1) |
| Oklahoma | $7.25 (employers with 10+ full-time employees at one location or gross sales over $100,000); $2.00 for other employers not covered by FLSA | $2.13 (tip credit $5.12) | none announced |
| Oregon | $15.55 standard; $16.80 Portland metro; $14.55 nonurban counties (July 1 2026 to June 30 2027) | Same as minimum wage (no tip credit) | none yet (next change July 1 2027, set by CPI formula) |
| Pennsylvania | $7.25 | $2.83 (tipped threshold $135 per month) | none announced |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | $3.89 (max tip credit $12.11) | $17.00 effective Jan 1 2027 |
| South Carolina | $7.25 (no state minimum wage law; federal applies) | $2.13 (federal) | none (no state law) |
| South Dakota | $11.85 (effective Jan 1 2026) | $5.925 (state page); DOL table rounds to $5.93 | $12.30 effective Jan 1 2027 (tipped $6.15) |
| Tennessee | $7.25 (no state minimum wage law; federal applies) | $2.13 (federal) | none (no state law) |
| Texas | $7.25 (state law adopts federal rate) | $2.13 | none announced |
| Utah | $7.25 | $2.13 (tip credit $5.12) | none announced |
| Vermont | $14.42 (employers of 2+ employees) | $7.21 (50% of minimum; tipped employee means more than $120 a month in tips) | Not announced |
| Virginia | $12.77 | $2.13 | $13.75 effective Jan 1 2027; $15.00 Jan 1 2028; CPI indexing from 2029 (Va. Code 40.1-28.10) |
| Washington | $17.13 | $17.13 (no tip credit) | $17.73 effective Jan 1 2027 ($15.07 for ages 14-15) |
| West Virginia | $8.75 (employers with 6+ employees at one location) | $2.62 (tip credit 70%, $6.13) | none announced |
| Wisconsin | $7.25 | $2.33 (tip credit $4.92); $2.13 for tipped opportunity employees under 20 in first 90 days | none announced |
| Wyoming | $5.15 state; $7.25 federal applies to FLSA-covered employers | $2.13 (tip credit $5.12) | none announced |
Source: each state labor department, linked on the state page. Checked October 2026. Some cities and counties set higher rates.
Many rates come with conditions. Ohio's $11.00 applies to employers with gross receipts of $405,000 or more. Illinois, Arkansas and Nebraska rates apply at 4 or more employees. Missouri's $15.00 excludes retail and service businesses under $500,000 in gross sales. Montana's $10.85 applies to businesses over $110,000 in gross sales. West Virginia's $8.75 applies to employers with 6 or more employees at one location.
Highest minimum wage by state
Washington has the highest state minimum wage in 2026 at $17.13 an hour. The District of Columbia is higher at $18.40 from July 1, 2026, but it is not a state. Ranked by the highest rate each state sets in state law (city ordinances such as Denver's are not counted):
| State | Highest 2026 rate | Where it applies | 2027 rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Washington | $17.13 | Statewide | $17.73 |
| 2. New York | $17.00 | NYC, Long Island, Westchester; $16.00 rest of state | No change |
| 3. Connecticut | $16.94 | Statewide | $17.48 |
| 4. California | $16.90 | Statewide | $17.40 |
| 5. Oregon | $16.80 | Portland metro; $15.55 standard, $14.55 nonurban | Set by CPI on July 1, 2027 |
| 6. Rhode Island | $16.00 | Statewide | $17.00 |
| 7. Hawaii | $16.00 | Statewide | None announced |
| 8. New Jersey | $15.92 | Most employers; $15.23 small and seasonal | $16.48 |
| 9. Colorado | $15.16 | Statewide; Denver $19.29 | $15.71 |
| 10. Arizona | $15.15 | Statewide | $15.65 (secondary source) |
Source: state labor departments and the DOL Wage and Hour Division state table (updated July 1, 2026). Checked October 16, 2026.
Maine ($15.10) is 11th. Seven more states pay $15.00: Delaware, Florida (from September 30, 2026), Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri and Nebraska.
Lowest minimum wage by state
Twenty states pay the federal $7.25 in 2026: Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- No state minimum wage law: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee. Federal law applies.
- State rate below federal: Georgia and Wyoming set $5.15, but any employer covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act pays $7.25. Oklahoma sets $2.00 for small employers the FLSA does not cover.
- State law matches $7.25: the other 13.
The lowest rates above the federal floor:
| State | 2026 rate | Who it covers |
|---|---|---|
| West Virginia | $8.75 | 6 or more employees at one location |
| Montana | $10.85 | Businesses over $110,000 in gross sales |
| Arkansas | $11.00 | 4 or more employees |
| Ohio | $11.00 | Gross receipts of $405,000 or more |
| Minnesota | $11.41 | All employers |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | Statewide |
| Nevada | $12.00 | Statewide |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | Statewide |
| Virginia | $12.77 | Statewide |
| Michigan | $13.73 | 2 or more employees |
Source: state labor departments and the DOL Wage and Hour Division state table (updated July 1, 2026). Checked October 16, 2026.
For the federal rules behind the $7.25, including the youth wage and who is covered, see our federal minimum wage guide.
Minimum wage 2027: states with increases announced
Fourteen states have announced a 2027 minimum wage as of October 18, 2026. Washington will be highest at $17.73. Most changes take effect January 1, 2027, so the new rate applies to hours worked from that date.
| State | 2026 rate | 2027 rate | Effective |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington | $17.13 | $17.73 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Connecticut | $16.94 | $17.48 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| California | $16.90 | $17.40 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | $17.00 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| New Jersey | $15.92 | $16.48 ($16.25 small and seasonal) | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Colorado | $15.16 | $15.71 | Not stated in the CDLE release |
| Arizona | $15.15 | $15.65 (secondary source) | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Michigan | $13.73 | $15.00 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Alaska | $14.00 | $15.00 | July 1, 2027 |
| Virginia | $12.77 | $13.75 ($15.00 on Jan 1, 2028) | Jan 1, 2027 |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | $12.30 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Minnesota | $11.41 | $11.87 | Jan 1, 2027 |
| Ohio | $11.00 | $11.40 | Not printed on the 2027 poster (Ohio adjusts each Jan 1) |
| Montana | $10.85 | $11.20 | Jan 1, 2027 |
Sources: Washington L&I; Connecticut governor release (Aug 5, 2026); California DIR release (Aug 13, 2026); Rhode Island DLT; New Jersey release (Sept 29, 2026); Colorado CDLE release (Aug 13, 2026); Michigan per the DOL state table; Alaska AS 23.10.065; Virginia Code 40.1-28.10; South Dakota DLR; Minnesota DLI; Ohio 2027 poster (rev. 9/30/26); Montana ERD. Arizona figure from FreshPlaza (Sept 17, 2026), a secondary source; the Arizona Industrial Commission page did not show it. Checked October 16 to 18, 2026.
- No increase: New York stays at $17.00 and $16.00 on January 1, 2027 because its inflation off-ramp was triggered (home care aides rise to $20.00 and $19.00). Florida stays at $15.00 after its September 30, 2026 step.
- Not yet set: Oregon and DC adjust by CPI on July 1, 2027.
- Not confirmed: we could not find 2027 figures on official pages for Maine, Nebraska or Vermont.
- Tipped and local 2027 rates announced: New Jersey tipped cash wage $6.61, Ohio $5.70, South Dakota $6.15, Colorado $12.69; Denver $19.84.
California's exempt salary floor rises to $72,384 in 2027 because it is tied to the state minimum wage. An exempt employee paid less must get a raise or be reclassified. Federal law sets a lower floor of $684 a week ($35,568 a year), restored by DOL on May 15, 2026 (29 CFR 541.600). Our exempt vs non-exempt guide covers the duties tests.
Tipped minimum wage by state
The federal tipped minimum wage is $2.13 an hour. Employers may count up to $5.12 of tips toward the $7.25 minimum if the employee regularly gets more than $30 a month in tips and wages plus tips reach $7.25 (DOL tipped table, July 1, 2026). States can require more.
- No tip credit (7 states): Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon and Washington. Tipped workers get the full state minimum before tips.
- Federal $2.13 (16 states): Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wyoming.
- Everyone else: a cash wage between those, shown below.
| State | 2026 minimum wage | Tipped cash wage | Tip credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington | $17.13 | $17.13 | None |
| California | $16.90 | $16.90 | None |
| Oregon | $15.55 standard | Same as minimum ($16.80 Portland metro) | None |
| Hawaii | $16.00 | $14.75 | $1.25, only if wages plus tips are $7.00 above minimum |
| Alaska | $14.00 | $14.00 | None |
| Arizona | $15.15 | $12.15 | $3.00 max |
| Colorado | $15.16 | $12.14 (Denver $16.27) | $3.02 |
| Nevada | $12.00 | $12.00 | None |
| Florida | $15.00 | $11.98 from Sept 30, 2026 | $3.02 |
| Minnesota | $11.41 | $11.41 | None |
| New York | $17.00 / $16.00 | $11.35 food service downstate; $10.70 rest of state | Hospitality only |
| Montana | $10.85 | $10.85 | None |
| District of Columbia | $18.40 | $10.30 | Not stated |
| Illinois | $15.00 | $9.00 | 40% |
| Maine | $15.10 | $7.55 | 50% |
| Missouri | $15.00 | $7.50 | 50% |
| Vermont | $14.42 | $7.21 | 50% |
| Massachusetts | $15.00 | $6.75 | Not stated |
| Connecticut | $16.94 | $6.38 hotel and restaurant; $8.23 bartenders | Not stated |
| New Jersey | $15.92 | $6.05 | $9.87 max |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | $5.925 (DOL rounds to $5.93) | Not stated |
| Ohio | $11.00 | $5.50 | Not stated |
| Michigan | $13.73 | $5.49 | Shrinks yearly to 2031 |
| North Dakota | $7.25 | $4.86 | 33% |
| Iowa | $7.25 | $4.35 | Not stated |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | $3.89 | $12.11 max |
| Maryland | $15.00 | $3.63 | Not stated |
| Idaho | $7.25 | $3.35 | Not stated |
| New Hampshire | $7.25 | $3.27 | Not stated |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | $3.00 | Not stated |
| Pennsylvania | $7.25 | $2.83 | Not stated |
| Arkansas | $11.00 | $2.63 | Not stated |
| West Virginia | $8.75 | $2.62 | 70% |
| Wisconsin | $7.25 | $2.33 | $4.92 |
| Delaware | $15.00 | $2.23 | Not stated |
| 16 states at the federal $2.13 | $7.25 to $15.00 | $2.13 | $5.12 federal max |
Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division tipped employee table (dated July 1, 2026) and state labor departments. "Not stated" means our state source gives the cash wage only. Checked October 16, 2026.
States also define who counts as tipped: Pennsylvania uses more than $135 a month in tips, Maine more than $191 and Vermont more than $120. Restaurant owners can see how payroll tools handle tip credits and tip pooling in our restaurant payroll software comparison.
City and county minimum wages
Many cities and counties set rates above their state. You pay the highest rate that applies where the work is done. These are the local rates we confirmed on official city, county or state pages, highest first. The top verified local rate is Burien, Washington at $21.78 for large employers; Seattle is $21.30 for all employers.
Download city and county minimum wages (CSV)
| Location | 2026 rate | 2027 rate | Who it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burien, WA | $21.78 | $22.49 | 501+ employees; $20.78 for 16 to 500, $19.28 for 15 or fewer |
| Tukwila, WA | $21.65 | Not checked | 15+ employees worldwide or over $2 million gross revenue in Tukwila |
| Renton, WA | $21.57 | $22.28 | 15+ employees or over $2 million revenue in Renton |
| Seattle, WA | $21.30 | $22.14 | All employer sizes |
| King County (unincorporated), WA | $20.82 | $21.57 | 500+ employees; $19.82 and $18.32 for smaller tiers |
| Everett, WA | $20.77 | $21.52 | 500+ employees; $19.77 for mid-size from July 1, 2026 |
| SeaTac, WA | $20.17 | Not listed | Hospitality and transportation employers only; effective date not stated |
| Denver, CO | $19.29 | $19.84 | All employers; tipped $16.27 |
| Bellingham, WA | $19.13 | Not listed | Effective date not stated by the state page |
| Los Angeles County (unincorporated), CA | $18.47 | Set July 1, 2027 | From July 1, 2026 |
| Santa Monica, CA | $18.47 | Set July 1, 2027 | From July 1, 2026; hotel workers $25.00 |
| Los Angeles (city), CA | $18.42 | Set July 1, 2027 | From July 1, 2026 |
| Edgewater, CO | $18.17 | Not published | Tipped $13.50 |
| Montgomery County, MD | $18.00 | Set July 1, 2027 | 51+ employees from July 1, 2026; $16.50 for 11 to 50, $15.95 for 10 or fewer |
| New York City, Long Island, Westchester | $17.00 | $17.00 | Food service cash wage $11.35 |
| Boulder (city) and unincorporated Boulder County, CO | $16.82 | Not published | Tipped $13.80 |
| Portland metro, OR | $16.80 | Set July 1, 2027 | Inside the Metro urban growth boundary; no tip credit |
| Minneapolis, MN | $16.37 | $17.02 | All employer sizes |
| Saint Paul, MN | $16.37 | Not confirmed | 101+ employees; $14.25 for 5 or fewer from July 1, 2026 |
| Howard County, MD | $16.00 | Set July 1, 2027 | All employers from July 1, 2026 |
| Las Cruces, NM | $13.01 | $13.47 | Tipped $5.20 ($5.39 in 2027) |
Sources: city and county labor standards offices (Seattle, Burien, Renton, Everett, Tukwila, King County, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County, Santa Monica, Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Las Cruces), Washington Business Licensing Service (SeaTac, Bellingham), Colorado CDLE INFO #19 (Dec 18, 2025) and Aug 13, 2026 release, Maryland Department of Labor, New York State DOL and Oregon BOLI. Checked October 18, 2026.
Not yet confirmed on an official page: Chicago, Cook County, San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland, Berkeley and most other Bay Area cities, Santa Fe (city and county), Flagstaff, Tucson and Portland, Maine. We list only rates we read on the government page and will add these when we do. Local payroll taxes are a separate issue, covered on pages such as Denver payroll taxes and San Francisco payroll taxes.
Federal minimum wage history since 1938
The federal minimum wage started at $0.25 an hour on October 24, 1938 and has changed 22 times since. The last increase, to $7.25, took effect July 24, 2009. More than 17 years without a raise is the longest stretch in the law's history; the previous longest ran from September 1, 1997 to July 24, 2007.
| Year | Effective date | Federal minimum wage |
|---|---|---|
| 1938 | Oct 24, 1938 | $0.25 |
| 1939 | Oct 24, 1939 | $0.30 |
| 1945 | Oct 24, 1945 | $0.40 |
| 1950 | Jan 25, 1950 | $0.75 |
| 1956 | Mar 1, 1956 | $1.00 |
| 1961 | Sep 3, 1961 | $1.15 |
| 1963 | Sep 3, 1963 | $1.25 |
| 1967 | Feb 1, 1967 | $1.40 |
| 1968 | Feb 1, 1968 | $1.60 |
| 1974 | May 1, 1974 | $2.00 |
| 1975 | Jan 1, 1975 | $2.10 |
| 1976 | Jan 1, 1976 | $2.30 |
| 1978 | Jan 1, 1978 | $2.65 |
| 1979 | Jan 1, 1979 | $2.90 |
| 1980 | Jan 1, 1980 | $3.10 |
| 1981 | Jan 1, 1981 | $3.35 |
| 1990 | Apr 1, 1990 | $3.80 |
| 1991 | Apr 1, 1991 | $4.25 |
| 1996 | Oct 1, 1996 | $4.75 |
| 1997 | Sep 1, 1997 | $5.15 |
| 2007 | Jul 24, 2007 | $5.85 |
| 2008 | Jul 24, 2008 | $6.55 |
| 2009 | Jul 24, 2009 | $7.25 |
Source: US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, History of Federal Minimum Wage Rates Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 1938 to 2009. Rates shown are for workers covered by the original 1938 Act; from January 1, 1978 one rate applied to all covered, nonexempt workers. Checked October 18, 2026.
From 1961 to 1977, workers brought under the law by the 1961 and 1966 amendments (retail, service, farm and some public employees) had lower rates that caught up in steps; the DOL chart lists those separately. A youth wage of $4.25 an hour applies to employees under 20 in their first 90 consecutive days with an employer. Figures are not adjusted for inflation.
What a minimum wage hire costs the employer
A full-time employee works about 2,080 hours a year. At the federal $7.25 that is $15,080 in wages; at California's $16.90 it is $35,152; at Washington's $17.13 it is $35,630.40. Employer payroll taxes come on top.
| Texas ($7.25) | California ($16.90) | Washington ($17.13) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wages (2,080 hours) | $15,080.00 | $35,152.00 | $35,630.40 |
| Social Security 6.2% | $934.96 | $2,179.42 | $2,209.08 |
| Medicare 1.45% | $218.66 | $509.70 | $516.64 |
| FUTA | $42.00 (0.6%) | $147.00 (2.1% if the credit reduction is confirmed) | $42.00 (0.6%) |
| SUTA at the new employer rate | $243.00 ($9,000 x 2.70%) | $238.00 ($7,000 x 3.4%) plus ETT $7.00 | Industry rate on up to $78,200; not included |
| Employer taxes before workers comp and benefits | $1,438.62 | $3,081.12 | $2,767.72 plus SUTA and PFML |
Math uses 2026 IRS rates (Topics 751 and 759), state agency SUTA rates and the 2026 state minimum wages. Washington employers with 50 or more employees also pay 28.57% of the 1.13% Paid Family and Medical Leave premium. Checked October 16, 2026.
Run your own numbers, with benefits and workers comp, in the employee cost calculator. For the federal tax rates themselves, see 2026 payroll tax rates.
Common minimum wage mistakes
- Missing the January 1 change. Fourteen states have 2027 rates announced, and payroll software does not change an employee's hourly rate for you.
- Using the state rate in a city with its own rate. A Denver employee costs at least $19.29 an hour, not Colorado's $15.16. A Seattle employee costs $21.30, not $17.13.
- Taking a tip credit where none is allowed. Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon and Washington require the full minimum before tips.
- Forgetting mid-year changes. Florida moved on September 30, 2026. Oregon, DC, Los Angeles and the Maryland counties move on July 1, and Alaska moves on July 1, 2027.
- Leaving exempt salaries below a new state floor. California's exempt floor follows its minimum wage up each year, to $72,384 in 2027.
A good payroll provider flags rate changes by work location. Our best payroll software ranking and payroll compliance guide cover what to check.
Use this data
The tables, the map and both CSV files on this page are free to use in articles, research and classes, with a link back to this page.
Suggested citation: Source: HRPricing, State minimum wage tracker, updated October 18, 2026, https://hrpricing.com/data/minimum-wage-by-state/
HTML credit line to paste:
Source: <a href="https://hrpricing.com/data/minimum-wage-by-state/">HRPricing state minimum wage tracker</a>, updated October 18, 2026For a single state's figure, the state labor department linked in the CSV is the primary source; we update this page when a state announces a change.
Change log
- October 18, 2026: Rebuilt as a state minimum wage tracker at a new address. Added the state map, CSV downloads for state and local rates, ranked highest and lowest tables, a full tipped wage table, the federal minimum wage history since 1938 (from the DOL chart), 21 verified city and county rates, and Colorado's $15.71 rate for 2027 (now 14 states with 2027 increases).
- October 16, 2026: All state 2026 rates, tipped cash wages and announced 2027 rates checked against state labor departments and the DOL state and tipped tables.
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum wage by state in 2026?
Which states have the highest minimum wage?
How many states pay more than the federal minimum wage?
Which states raise the minimum wage in 2027?
What is the tipped minimum wage by state?
When did the federal minimum wage last go up?
Do I pay the state or city minimum wage?
What is California's minimum wage for 2027?
Sources (40)
- US Department of Labor, WHD: Federal minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Department of Labor, WHD: State minimum wage laws (updated Jul 1, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Department of Labor, WHD: Minimum wages for tipped employees (table dated Jul 1, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- California DIR: News release 2026-66: 2027 minimum wage (Aug 13, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- New York State DOL: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Washington L&I: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Colorado CDLE: Local minimum wages (INFO #19) (Dec 18, 2025; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Minnesota DLI: Minimum wage in Minnesota (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Missouri Department of Labor: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Arizona Industrial Commission: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- eCFR: 29 CFR 541.600, salary level (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Federal Register: 91 FR 27833, restoring the 2019 salary levels (May 15, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Topic 751: Social Security and Medicare withholding rates (updated Sep 24, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Department of Labor, WHD: History of Federal Minimum Wage Rates Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 1938 to 2009 (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Colorado CDLE: Colorado minimum wage will increase to $15.71 in 2027 (Aug 13, 2026; checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Connecticut Governor: Governor Lamont announces minimum wage will increase (Aug 5, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- New Jersey Department of Labor: 2027 minimum wage release (Sept 29, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Ohio Department of Commerce: 2027 minimum wage poster (rev. Sept 30, 2026; checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Virginia Legislative Information System: Va. Code 40.1-28.10 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Alaska Department of Labor: Wage and hour (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rhode Island DLT: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- South Dakota DLR: Minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Montana Department of Labor and Industry: State minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- DC Department of Employment Services: 2026 minimum wage increase notice (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oregon BOLI: Minimum wage schedule (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Seattle Office of Labor Standards: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Burien: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Renton: Labor standards (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Everett: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Tukwila: 2026 notice to employees (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- King County: Unincorporated King County minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Washington Business Licensing Service: Minimum wage, SeaTac (page updated Feb 10, 2026; checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Washington Business Licensing Service: Minimum wage, Bellingham (page updated Feb 10, 2026; checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Los Angeles: Wages LA (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Los Angeles County DCBA: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Santa Monica: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- Maryland Department of Labor: Wage and hour facts (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Minneapolis: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Saint Paul: Minimum wage (checked Oct 18, 2026)
- City of Las Cruces: Minimum wage notice for 2026 (checked Oct 18, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.