Maternity and parental leave in Japan 2026: 14 weeks

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Japanese employee health insurance pays a childbirth allowance (shussan teate kin) of two thirds of the employee's average standard monthly remuneration over the past 12 months, for 42 days before and 56 days after the birth, according to the Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo, checked October 18, 2026), and there is no statutory employer pay for that period. On a JPY 500,000 monthly salary, two thirds is about JPY 333,333 a month, roughly $2,109 at the ECB rate of October 16, 2026.

Childcare leave that follows is paid by employment insurance, not by you, so the employer's budget is the absence, social insurance and the EOR fee.

Shussan teate kin is Japan's childbirth allowance, paid by employee health insurance to replace part of a mother's pay around the birth.

Maternity leave
14 weeksChildbirth allowance (shussan teate kin) from...
Paternity leave
Postnatal paternity leave...Childcare leave benefit from employment insurance...
Annual leave
10 daysWorking days, granted after 6 months of...
Public holidays
16a year
On this page

How long maternity leave lasts in Japan

The allowance period is 42 days before the birth and 56 days after, 98 days or 14 weeks in total. The leave rules themselves are in article 65 of the Labor Standards Act, which we did not reread this month; the health insurance period above is the part we confirmed.

Because the allowance is two thirds of the standard monthly remuneration, a well-paid employee feels the gap. Any top-up is your choice, since the statute does not require one.

Leave rules in Japan at a glance

LeaveRule and payWho paysSource
Maternity14 weeks. Childbirth allowance (shussan teate kin) from employee health insurance of two thirds of the average reported standard monthly remuneration of the past 12 months, for 42 days before and 56 days after birth; no statutory employer paysocial securitysource
PaternityPostnatal paternity leave (sango papa ikukyu), on top of ordinary childcare leave; length not stated on the MHLW leaflet read. Childcare leave benefit from employment insurance of 67% of pay for the first 180 days (50% after), plus a 13% postnatal leave support benefit for up to 28 days when both parents each take 14+ days (from April 2025)source
Parental (shared)Childcare leave (ikuji kyugyo) for either parent after maternity leave (length and extension rules not stated on the MHLW leaflet read). Employment insurance benefit 67% for the first 180 days, then 50%; plus the 13% postnatal support benefit for up to 28 days when both parents take 14+ days (from April 2025).
Sick leaveNo statutory paid sick leave from the employer. Employee health insurance pays an injury and sickness allowance (shobyo teate kin) of two thirds of the standard daily amount from day 4 after 3 consecutive waiting days, for up to 1 year 6 months in total from the start of paymentsource

Childcare leave benefit: 67%, then 50%

After maternity leave, either parent can take childcare leave (ikuji kyugyo). Employment insurance pays:

  • 67% of pay for the first 180 days.
  • 50% after that.
  • An extra 13% postnatal leave support benefit for up to 28 days when both parents each take 14 days or more (from April 2025).

On JPY 500,000 a month, 67% is JPY 335,000 and 50% is JPY 250,000; with the 13% supplement the first 28 days reach 80%, JPY 400,000, before any cap the program applies. The MHLW leaflet we read covers the benefit, not the length of leave or its extension rules, so we do not restate those here.

Paternity leave in Japan

Fathers have postnatal paternity leave (sango papa ikukyu) on top of ordinary childcare leave, paid from employment insurance at 67% of pay, with the 13% support benefit when both parents take 14 days or more. We did not confirm how many weeks it lasts on the leaflet we read this month.

Sick leave: no statutory employer sick pay

Japan does not require employers to pay sick leave. Health insurance pays an injury and sickness allowance (shobyo teate kin) of two thirds of the standard daily amount from the 4th day, after 3 consecutive waiting days, for up to 1 year and 6 months in total from the start of payment.

Japanese maternity and childcare leave through an EOR

The EOR, as the Japanese employer, files the childbirth allowance with the health insurer and the childcare leave benefit with employment insurance, and stops or reduces salary for the leave. Ask how it treats bonuses during leave, since summer and winter bonuses are customary in Japan even though no law requires them.

EOR list prices start at $99 per employee per month (Native Teams, whose help center says EUR 99) and run to $699 (Oyster); Deel lists $599, all checked October 16 and 18, 2026 (country cost index). See ranked EOR providers and compare China's 98-day maternity rule.

Frequently asked questions

How long is maternity leave in Japan?
The childbirth allowance covers 42 days before and 56 days after the birth, 98 days in total, according to the Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo, checked October 18, 2026).
How much is maternity pay in Japan?
Two thirds of the employee's average standard monthly remuneration over the past 12 months, paid by employee health insurance as shussan teate kin. The employer has no statutory duty to pay salary (Kyokai Kenpo).
What is Japan's parental leave benefit?
Employment insurance pays 67% of pay for the first 180 days of childcare leave and 50% after, plus a 13% support benefit for up to 28 days when both parents take 14 days or more (MHLW, from April 2025).
Does a Japanese employer pay during maternity leave?
No statutory employer pay applies. Health insurance pays the childbirth allowance and employment insurance pays the childcare leave benefit, per Kyokai Kenpo and MHLW (checked October 18, 2026).
Is there paid sick leave in Japan?
There is no statutory paid sick leave from the employer. Health insurance pays two thirds of the standard daily amount from day 4, after 3 waiting days, for up to 1 year and 6 months (Kyokai Kenpo).
Sources (15)
  1. Deel: Deel pricing page (EOR $599 per employee per month) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates, October 16, 2026 (checked Oct 18, 2026)
  3. Native Teams: Pricing (checked Oct 18, 2026)
  4. Native Teams: Pricing plans, features, benefits and how they work (help center) (checked Oct 18, 2026)
  5. MHLW, Reiwa 8 regional minimum wage list (PDF): MHLW, Reiwa 8 regional minimum wage list (PDF) (checked October 18, 2026)
  6. MHLW, regional minimum wage list page: MHLW, regional minimum wage list page (checked October 18, 2026)
  7. MHLW press release, FY2026 regional minimum wage revisions (Sep 3, 2026): MHLW press release, FY2026 regional minimum wage revisions (Sep 3, 2026) (checked October 18, 2026)
  8. MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, press release: MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, press release (checked October 18, 2026)
  9. MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, by prefecture: MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, by prefecture (checked October 18, 2026)
  10. MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, by industry: MHLW, Basic Survey on Wage Structure 2025, by industry (checked October 18, 2026)
  11. Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo), childbirth allowance leaflet: Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo), childbirth allowance leaflet (checked October 18, 2026)
  12. Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo), sickness allowance notice: Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo), sickness allowance notice (checked October 18, 2026)
  13. MHLW, leaflet for employees taking childcare leave: MHLW, leaflet for employees taking childcare leave (checked October 18, 2026)
  14. Cabinet Office, National Holidays Act overview: Cabinet Office, National Holidays Act overview (checked October 18, 2026)
  15. Tokyo Labour Bureau (MHLW), working conditions for foreign job seekers: Tokyo Labour Bureau (MHLW), working conditions for foreign job seekers (checked October 18, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.