Patriot Payroll review: pricing, terms and who it suits

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Patriot Software Payroll costs $17 a month plus $4 per worker paid on Basic Payroll, where you file the taxes yourself, or $37 a month plus $5 per worker on Full Service Payroll, where Patriot files them, according to Patriot's pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). For 10 employees that is $57 or $87 a month; $87 is the lowest published full-service price at that size among the providers we price.

New customers get 30 days free, then 50% off for three months. Each extra state costs $12 a month. Patriot also has the strongest exit terms we found: after you cancel you can still download your W-2s and tax forms. The weak spot is the tax guarantee, which Patriot names but does not publish terms for.

Patriot Software Payroll is low-cost online payroll for US small businesses, sold as Basic Payroll (you deposit and file taxes) or Full Service Payroll (Patriot deposits and files federal and state payroll taxes).

On this page

Patriot Payroll at a glance

Full Service
$37 + $5 per worker paidper month, checked Oct 16, 2026
Basic (you file)
$17 + $4 per worker paidper month
Records after you cancel
Still downloadableW-2s, 941s, 1099s; workers keep lifetime access
Our score
69/100payroll category

Patriot is a budget pick: published prices, no contract and monthly billing in arrears for the days you used. It does less than Gusto or Rippling, and it charges for every state after the first. Our scores follow our published scoring method; we compare published terms, prices and documented complaints rather than testing the software.

Patriot Payroll plans and prices

Patriot payroll plans, monthly prices
PlanBase per monthPer worker paidPromo after 30 free days (3 months)Who files taxes
Basic Payroll$17$4$8.50 + $2 per workerYou
Full Service Payroll$37$5$18.50 + $2.50 per workerPatriot

Source: Patriot Software payroll pricing page, checked Oct 16, 2026.

Patriot add-ons and extra fees
ItemPrice
Each additional state filing$12/mo per state
Time & Attendance$6/mo + $2 per employee
HR software$6/mo + $2 per employee
1099 e-filing"Nominal fees" (amount not stated)
Forms 940, 941, W-2 and W-3 (Full Service)No added fee

Source: Patriot Software payroll pricing page, checked Oct 16, 2026.

What Patriot costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees

Patriot monthly cost by team size, regular price
Plan5 workers10 workers25 workers
Basic Payroll$17 + (5 × $4) = $37$17 + (10 × $4) = $57$17 + (25 × $4) = $117
Full Service Payroll$37 + (5 × $5) = $62$37 + (10 × $5) = $87$37 + (25 × $5) = $162
Full Service + Time & Attendance + HR$62 + 2 × ($6 + $10) = $94$87 + 2 × ($6 + $20) = $139$162 + 2 × ($6 + $50) = $274

Source: Patriot Software payroll pricing page, checked Oct 16, 2026. Our arithmetic. One state; add $12 a month for each extra state. Excludes payroll taxes.

First year, 10 workers on Full Service with the promo: month 1 free, months 2 to 4 at $18.50 + (10 × $2.50) = $43.50, months 5 to 12 at $87. Total: $0 + (3 × $43.50) + (8 × $87) = $130.50 + $696 = $826.50.

Two states, 10 workers, Full Service: $87 + $12 = $99 a month.

Basic or Full Service?

At 10 workers the gap is $87 minus $57 = $30 a month. On Basic you make every federal and state tax deposit and file Forms 941 and 940, W-2s and state returns yourself, and any late-filing penalty is yours. For most owners that $30 moves the deposit and filing work, and the deadlines, to Patriot. If you are weighing doing it all yourself, read what free payroll software really costs first.

Compare these numbers with other published prices on payroll service costs compared, and estimate your employer taxes with the employee cost calculator.

What Patriot leaves out

  • Extra states: $12 a month each. Five states would add 4 × $12 = $48 a month to Full Service.
  • State registration: Patriot does not say it registers state tax accounts. Expect to open withholding and unemployment accounts yourself; see 2026 SUTA rates by state.
  • Time tracking and HR: separate add-ons at $6 a month plus $2 per employee each.
  • 1099 e-filing: "nominal fees," amount not stated.
  • Tax filing on Basic: not included. You file.

Patriot's tax filing guarantee

Patriot's payroll page lists a "Tax filing reliability guarantee" for Full Service, but we found no published terms: it does not say whether Patriot pays penalties, interest or both, or what notice it needs (Patriot). On Basic Payroll you file, so penalties are yours.

Before you sign up for Full Service, ask Patriot for the guarantee terms in writing: what it pays, whether interest is included, any cap and the deadline for sending a notice.

Published guarantees elsewhere: Gusto pays penalties (interest not named) if you send the notice 30 days before the agency deadline; Square pays penalties and fines from its errors; QuickBooks Elite pays penalties and interest up to $25,000 a year (Gusto pricing, Square Payroll pricing, QuickBooks Payroll pricing).

Contract, cancellation and W-2 access after you leave

  • Contract: none stated. Billing is monthly, in arrears, on the 1st, and Patriot offers free setup help.
  • How to cancel: Settings, then Manage Subscription, then Add or Cancel Software. Your ability to run payroll ends the day you submit.
  • Last bill: you pay only for the days you were active.
  • Records: after canceling you can still view and download reports, Forms 941, tax deposits, W-2s and W-3s, and 1099s and 1096s. Workers keep "lifetime access" to pay stubs and W-2s or 1099s.
Record access after you cancel, by provider
ProviderAfter you cancel
PatriotDownload reports, 941s, W-2s and 1099s; workers keep lifetime access
GustoLimited, read-only admin access, no end date stated; $100 federal + $100 per state + $5 per form if Gusto files your finals
QuickBooksPayroll data for one year; W-2s need an active subscription; $150 for year-end forms after canceling
ADP RUNADP "may keep" reports and forms "for a period of time"; I-9 access ends at termination
WaveAccess ends at the end of the month you cancel

Sources: each provider's help center or terms, checked Oct 16, 2026.

This matters most if you leave mid-year: your old provider's records are what your new one needs for year-to-date totals and W-2s. Read more in the Wave Payroll review and Gusto pricing.

Patriot support

Patriot says you can "Call, email, or chat." It does not publish support hours on the pages in our research, and its contact page could not be read when we checked. Ask what hours apply before your first payroll deadline.

What Patriot customers say

Patriot Software has 4.8 out of 5 from 630 reviews on G2 and 4.7 out of 5 from 3,446 reviews on Trustpilot (both seen October 16, 2026). That is the highest Trustpilot score among the payroll providers we price, and the G2 score ties OnPay for the highest; Gusto has 1.9 on Trustpilot and ADP 1.2.

We have not documented recurring Patriot complaints from individual reviews yet; the Trustpilot review text could not be read in this pass. The risks we can see come from the published terms: unpublished guarantee terms, a $12 fee per extra state and no state registration service.

How we score Patriot

Patriot scores 69 out of 100, tied with Gusto (69) for the top payroll score on HRPricing, ahead of OnPay (67) and Wave (64). It earns full marks on price and on exit terms, and loses points on its unpublished guarantee terms, add-on features and unpublished support hours.

How Patriot Software Payroll scores: 69 out of 100 (payroll category)
CriterionPointsWhy
Price transparency and cost for 10 employees25 of 25Publishes Basic at $17 + $4 per worker (you file taxes) and Full Service at $37 + $5 per worker (10 of 10); 10 employees on Full Service cost $37 + 10 x $5 = $87 a month, the lowest full-service figure in this set (15 of 15).
Tax filing coverage and guarantee10 of 20Full Service files in all 50 states, with local filing and state registration not stated (6 of 10); a 'tax filing reliability guarantee' is named but its terms are not published (4 of 10).
Features8 of 20Contractors are paid at the per-worker rate (4), extra states cost $12 a month each (2), time and attendance is a $6 + $2 per employee add-on (2), and benefits access and integrations are not published on the pages we checked (0).
Contract and exit terms15 of 15Self-serve cancellation with billing only for days active (5); after canceling you can still download reports, 941s, W-2s and 1099s, and workers keep lifetime access (5); monthly with free setup help and no contract (5).
Support access5 of 10Call, email and chat support (5); hours not published (0).
Documented complaint patterns6 of 10Trustpilot 4.7 from 3,446 reviews (4 of 4); complaint patterns were not researched this pass, so the default 2 of 6 applies.

Source: HRPricing payroll scores, checked Oct 17, 2026, from published terms, prices and documented complaints. Full method: how we score payroll providers.

Who Patriot fits, and who should pick something else

69/100Best for very small, single-state businesses on a budget

Patriot Software Payroll

Fits a business with a handful of hourly or salaried workers in one state that wants the lowest published price, no contract, and the ability to take its records with it. Basic suits an owner who already files payroll taxes.

How the score adds up

  • Price25/25
  • Tax filing10/20
  • Features8/20
  • Contract and exit15/15
  • Support5/10
  • Complaints record6/10

What works

  • $87 a month for 10 on Full Service
  • No contract; billed only for days used
  • W-2s and tax forms downloadable after canceling
  • High G2 and Trustpilot scores

Watch out for

  • Guarantee terms not published
  • $12 a month per extra state
  • No state registration service
  • Support hours not published

Pick something else if:

More small-team picks are in payroll for small teams and the ranked list in best payroll software for small businesses.

Bottom line: Patriot Full Service costs $87 a month for 10 workers in one state, and you keep your records if you leave. Get the tax guarantee terms in writing, and budget $12 a month for each extra state.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Patriot payroll cost?
Patriot Basic Payroll costs $17 a month plus $4 per worker paid, and Full Service Payroll costs $37 a month plus $5 per worker, according to Patriot's pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). For 10 workers that is $57 or $87 a month. Each extra state is $12 a month.
Does Patriot have a free trial?
Yes. Patriot's pricing page (checked October 16, 2026) offers 30 days free, then 50% off for three months: $8.50 plus $2 per worker on Basic, or $18.50 plus $2.50 per worker on Full Service.
Does Patriot file payroll taxes for me?
Only on Full Service Payroll, which files federal and state payroll taxes in all 50 states and Forms 940, 941, W-2 and W-3 at no added fee. On Basic Payroll ($17 plus $4 per worker) you make the deposits and file the returns yourself (Patriot pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
Can I get my W-2s after I cancel Patriot?
Yes. Patriot's help article says that after canceling you can still view and download reports, Forms 941, tax deposits, W-2s, W-3s, 1099s and 1096s, and workers keep lifetime access to their pay stubs and W-2s or 1099s.
Does Patriot pay payroll tax penalties?
Patriot names a Tax filing reliability guarantee for Full Service but publishes no terms, so it is not clear whether it pays penalties, interest or both. Ask for the terms in writing. On Basic Payroll you file, so penalties are yours.
Does Patriot charge extra for more than one state?
Yes. Patriot charges $12 a month for each additional state filing on Full Service (pricing page, checked October 16, 2026). A 10-worker team in two states pays $87 plus $12, or $99 a month.
Sources (9)
  1. Patriot Software: Patriot payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Patriot Software: Patriot payroll (tax filing reliability guarantee) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Patriot Software: How to cancel and access records after canceling (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. G2: Patriot Payroll reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Trustpilot: Patriot Software reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Gusto: Cancel your company's Gusto account (admins) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Intuit: Cancel your QuickBooks Payroll subscription (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. ADP: RUN Powered by ADP terms of service (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Wave: Cancel Wave Payroll (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Patriot Software pricing on Patriot Software’s site