Idaho payroll taxes, calculator and new hire reporting (2026)
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A new Idaho employer pays 1.000% unemployment insurance on the first $58,300 of each employee's wages in 2026, according to the Idaho Department of Labor, and Idaho withholds income tax at a flat 5.3% (checked October 16, 2026). Idaho pairs a low new employer rate with the third-highest wage base in our state data, so the tax reaches nearly every dollar of a typical salary.
- SUTA wage base
- $58,300
- New employer SUTA rate
- 1.000%
- State income tax
- Yes
- Minimum wage
- $7.25
On this page
How Idaho payroll differs
- A rate built from parts. The 1.000% new employer rate is 0.970% unemployment insurance plus 0.030% workforce development. Experience rates run from 0.208% to 5.400% (deficit class 6), and each includes a workforce development piece (0.006% to 0.058%) and an administrative reserve piece, which is 0.000% for 2026. The Governor's office described 2026 rates as another $11 million in tax savings for Idaho businesses.
- One flat withholding rate. The Idaho State Tax Commission uses 5.3% in its computation examples, and supplemental payments such as bonuses are also withheld at 5.3% (page updated July 29, 2026). The Idaho child tax credit allowance is zero.
- Federal minimum wage. Idaho follows $7.25, with a $3.35 tipped cash wage.
- Pay at least monthly. Paydays must be designated in advance (Idaho Code 45-608).
- Final pay within 10 days. Whether the employee quits or is fired, pay by the next regular payday or within 10 days (weekends and holidays excluded), whichever is earlier. If the employee asks in writing, pay within 48 hours (Idaho Code 45-606). Our notes give Idaho Code 45-606 but no saved official page, so read the section before you rely on it.
- No state leave tax or local income tax found. Our research found neither, though that was not confirmed on a state page.
Idaho's $58,300 base sits between Oregon's $56,700 and Washington's $78,200, so all three Northwest states tax most or all of a $50,000 salary for unemployment. Idaho's 1.000% starting rate is well under Oregon's 2.4%; Washington assigns new employers an industry average rate instead of a flat one.
Idaho employer payroll facts at a glance
| Item | Idaho rule or rate | Official source |
|---|---|---|
| SUTA taxable wage base (2026) | $58,300 | source; source; source |
| New employer SUTA rate | 1.000% (0.970% UI + 0.030% workforce development) | source; source; source |
| SUTA rate range | 0.208% to 5.400% (deficit class 6) | |
| Surcharges and admin fees | Rates include workforce development (0.006% to 0.058%) and administrative reserve (0.000% for 2026) components | |
| 2027 rates published? | no | |
| Unemployment agency | Idaho Department of Labor | source |
| State income tax withholding | Yes. Flat 5.3% in computation examples; supplemental payments withheld at 5.3% (page updated July 29, 2026). Idaho child tax credit allowance is zero | source |
| Paid leave or disability programs | none (no state program found) | |
| Minimum wage 2026 | $7.25 | source; source |
| Tipped cash wage 2026 | $3.35 | |
| Minimum wage 2027 | none announced | |
| New hire reporting | Within 20 days of hire; for a new hire without an SSN the 20 days start when the SSN is received. Idaho does not currently penalize late reports | source |
| Pay frequency rule | At least once each calendar month on regular paydays designated in advance (Idaho Code 45-608) | |
| Final paycheck rule | Fired or quit: earlier of the next regular payday or 10 days (weekends and holidays excluded); within 48 hours of a written request (Idaho Code 45-606) | |
| Workers comp required | Most employers must carry coverage; for out-of-state employers with Idaho home-based workers it applies whether the worker is full-time, part-time, seasonal or occasional. Household family members of a sole proprietor are exempt. unconfirmed: exact headcount rule not stated on the page read | source |
| Local income taxes | no (not verified today) |
Checked October 16, 2026 against the official sources linked in each row.
Idaho new hire reporting
Report every new hire to the Idaho Department of Labor within 20 days of the hire date. Two Idaho details:
- If a new hire does not have a Social Security number yet, the 20 days start when you receive the number.
- Idaho does not currently penalize late reports. Report on time anyway, since 20 days is also the federal maximum.
The report needs the employee's name, address and Social Security number, the first day they worked for pay, and your name, address and federal EIN. Multistate employers that report electronically can send all new hires to one state after notifying the US Department of Health and Human Services in writing (federal rules; the ACF page was last reviewed September 8, 2016).
Registering an Idaho employer
- Get a federal EIN from the IRS.
- Register for withholding with the Idaho State Tax Commission.
- Create an account in the Idaho Department of Labor Employer Portal for unemployment insurance. The portal's "Create an account" link is on the department's e-services page; we did not find a separate new employer registration page.
- Set up new hire reporting with the Department of Labor (20 days).
- Get workers comp. The Idaho Industrial Commission says most employers must carry it, and out-of-state employers with Idaho home-based workers need it whether the worker is full-time, part-time, seasonal or occasional. Household family members of a sole proprietor are exempt. The page we read did not state a headcount rule.
What a $50,000 Idaho worker costs
Because the wage base is above the salary, the 1.000% applies to the full $50,000.
| Tax | Computation | Annual employer cost |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security | 6.2% x $50,000 | $3,100 |
| Medicare | 1.45% x $50,000 | $725 |
| FUTA | 0.6% x $7,000 | $42 |
| Idaho UI (incl. workforce development) | 1.000% x $50,000 (under the $58,300 base) | $500 |
| Idaho total | Federal plus Idaho UI | $4,367 |
Source: Idaho Department of Labor 2026 tax rate class array, IRS and SSA 2026 figures, checked Oct 2026. Excludes workers comp premiums.
That is $4,367, 8.73% above pay. Idaho UI is $500 of it. A worker earning $58,300 or more would cost $583 in Idaho UI at the new employer rate. The employee has 5.3% Idaho income tax withheld (after allowances) and no other state deductions. Try your own figures here:
Workers comp is the main cost the calculator leaves out; see how workers comp is priced.
Idaho payroll services and PEOs
Idaho has few state-specific deductions, so the checklist is short: the 5.3% flat withholding and supplemental rate are loaded, the UI wage base is $58,300 (not the $7,000 FUTA base) and new hire reports go out within 20 days. Gusto Simple is $49 a month plus $6 per person, and Wave Payroll is $40 plus $6 per active employee (both checked October 16, 2026). See payroll software ranked for others.
Idaho has no state PEO license, per Harbor Compliance's guide (private, not an Idaho agency). Compare PEOs in our PEO rankings and nearby Utah PEO options.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Idaho SUTA rate for new employers in 2026?
What is the Idaho withholding rate in 2026?
How long do I have to report a new hire in Idaho?
When is a final paycheck due in Idaho?
What is the minimum wage in Idaho?
Sources (12)
- Idaho Department of Labor: 2026 tax rate class array (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Office of the Governor of Idaho: Idaho businesses see another $11 million in tax savings (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Idaho Department of Labor: Employer Portal (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Idaho Department of Labor: Report new hires FAQs (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Idaho State Tax Commission: Computing withholding (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Idaho Industrial Commission: Employer information (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Administration for Children and Families: New hire reporting (employer responsibilities), last reviewed Sep 8, 2016 (older page) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Wave: Wave Payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Department of Labor: Significant Provisions of State UI Laws, July 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Social Security Administration: Contribution and benefit base (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: Gusto pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state (checked October 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.